What a good week…

it’s been thanks to the glorious sunny weather, so I’ve been on the plot most days making the best of it.

There’s been plenty of wildlife to be seen including butterflies such as this Painted Lady on MondayPainted Lady butterfly ~2and a Speckled Wood on ThursdaySpeckled Wood butterfly ~ 2

I saw a fox, presumably Digger, wandering down an adjacent path and yesterday a mob of magpies were being very raucous at times.

I’ve said several times that the flowers are all but finished but there’s still some to be seen including an annual mallow, some pot marigolds and a few sunflowers

DSCN1739 DSCN1751 DSCN1723

Even the rose Valentine Heart is in leaf and bud again!DSCN1748

Happy gardening!

Next Wednesday 30th September is National Microcephaly Day andΒ  Fraggle’s son Robin has asked that we wear something yellow in support of this good cause.Β  I don’t think I’ve got any yellow clothes but as I’m likely to be on the plot I’ll pick and wear one of the yellow flowers, probably a pot marigold.Β  DSCN1627

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in A good cause, Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to What a good week…

  1. Glo says:

    Your lovely assortment of photos are so clear and bright, Flighty ~

    The transition from summer to autumn can be such a beautiful time especially if the skies stay blue ~ hope next week is as good or better than this one was.

    I’ll remember about Sept 30 ~

    I think my frogs are still singing their little tonsils out, even though I’ve posted a new entry. Maybe they’ll be singing until your real birthday. (How do you turn a frog off, anyway, without it croaking!)

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks, you are looking at the best ones.
      I like it at this time of year, especially when it’s been as good as this. Next week looks as though it’s going to be generally cloudy but staying dry.
      Thanks, it’ll be appreciated!
      They are indeed, and make me laugh every time I visit your blog. LOL! xx

  2. Jennyta says:

    Glorious sunny weather??? Lucky you, Flighty! πŸ™‚

  3. Ellie says:

    The weather has been unbelievable – I’m finding it very hard to drag myself indoors. Not too many flowers here either, except the roses have had a second blooming – we need rain, but only at night! x

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie it’s been great hasn’t it, and I know what you mean! It’s the lack of water that has been hard for plants, and causing trees to drop their leaves early.
      We do indeed, fingers crossed! xx

  4. re says:

    Looks like you’ve been enjoying your own little Autumn Watch here. The weather has been glorious hasn’t it? But I must admit to begin to fret for the lack of rain, we only had one light shower during September.

    • Flighty says:

      Re seeing wildlife when I’m plotting is all part of the pleasure I get! It has indeed although it’s been mostly overcast this week, but still dry. As you say we could really do with some rain! xx

  5. Maureen says:

    Lovely photos, Flighty! I think this has been a good year for butterflies.

    • Flighty says:

      Maureen thanks! I think so as well, having seen some almost every time I’ve been on the plot throughout the summer. Mind you it’s mostly been cabbage whites which are definitely not appreciated by allotmenteers! xx

  6. Lovely photos, Flighty. It was very thoughtful of the butterflies to pose for you. How nice to hear you are having sunshine there. Hope it lasts and lasts πŸ™‚

    • Flighty says:

      Beginninghere hello, and thanks! I just wish that they’d do that more often as they rarely settle on the plot and are really difficult to get photos of!
      Sadly there’s not been much sunshine this week, and the weather looks like it’s becoming much more autumnal! x

Leave a Reply

