Thursday 8th October 2009…

is National Poetry Day with the theme Heroes and Heroines.

This is to let you know that, as last year, I shall be doing a celebratory post including linking to friends who join in the fun with a post of their own.

Last year self-penned poems included ones by  Daffy, Glo (Porcelain Rose) and Veg Plotting. However if you’re like me and don’t write poetry then still join in by quoting, or linking  to, an appropriate favourite.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thursday 8th October 2009…

  1. daffy says:

    I must say, if ever National Poetry day was to inspire me, this is the time! With such an inspiring theme as Heros and Heroines I’m sure that if my muse will allow I will take part!
    October 8th is the anniversary of my mums death. Six years! I’m still amazed at that fact!
    Thanks for theNPD reminder Flighty! Plenty of time to enjoy the wonder of poetry and to entwine ones own thoughts, hopes and memories.

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy I’m sure that you’ll be inspired!
      I’ve no doubt that sometimes it seems like yesterday and at others a lifetime ago.
      You’re welcome! Unlike last year I like this theme and have found a couple of suitable aviation poems. One is titled ‘Ode to My Hero’ and the other is about the heroine Amelia Earhart. xx

  2. VP says:

    Thanks for the reminder Flighty!

    I’m not sure if the muse will strike me this year – it’s also my MIL’s birthday. However, a suitable hero or heroine may be found to help with the celebrations 🙂

Leave a Reply

