Plot plants ~ Nasturtiums

Nasturtium (Tropaeolum majus) is a plant that has various gourmet uses as belied by the South American Indian name Indian Cress.DSCN1726The leaves have a tangy cress-like flavour which can be used in salads. The flowers,  which  have a similar taste,  make a good salad garnish or can be pickled.    DSCN1724 DSCN1722 The flower buds  and young seeds are used as caper substitutes. Mature seeds can be roasted and eaten, and make a good pepper alternative.

I’m just happy to grow nasturtiums on the plot for their looks!  The orange and red flowers I find slightly garish but I like the maroon and yellow ones. Even better is the aptly named variety Peach Melba which I find most attractive,DSCN1661and is now the new header picture as well.

I’ve saved seeds from the plants that have grown on the plot which should give me another good display next year.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Plot plants ~ Nasturtiums

  1. nikkipolani says:

    How cheery those colors! I like how easily they grow from seed and even reseed on their own. Sadly, I’m allergic to them, but I’ll gladly enjoy yours!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki, they are indeed! What with the ones that self-seed and others I’m going to sow they’ll be everywhere next year.
      I’m sorry to hear that, so you’re more than welcome to do that! xx

  2. Morning Flighty!

    We seem to share the same taste in Nasturtiums as I prefer the maroon and soft yellow ones too and last year I bought a packet of Peach Melba that have self sown this year in the potager.

    Recently I went to the botanical garden of Utrecht where they had some Nasturtiums flowering in a pinkish red. Very pretty and its flowers were extra large.

    The sun is out and I’m off to work in the garden as I have lots to do today.

    cheerio, xx

    • Flighty says:

      Yolanda hello! We do indeed. The maroon one is the rarity on the plot but I’m hoping for more next year.
      I like the sound of that one and must keep an eye out for it.
      It’s been a lovely day here so I spent a few hours on the plot. Take care! xx

  3. ip says:

    I hope you agree that a seed packet of nasturtiums is probably one of the best investments for the garden from the riot of colour they produce and they keep popping-up every year!

    Must try some of the lighter-coloured ones you mention.

  4. Georgie says:

    Another Nasturtium fan here. I recommend ‘Milk Maid’ for a nice creamy white flower and I see that T&M are selling ‘Strawberries and Cream’ this year which looks like a variation on ‘Peach Melba’. So many plants, so little space!

  5. zacl says:

    These are lovely-looking plants, ideal for the salad, both leaves and flowers. I expect I shall be having another nutty, tangy salad sometime this week, while the nasturtiums are still usable, not too old.

  6. Glo says:

    I bet you can’t say ‘plot plants’ more than a few times before your tongue gets tied in knots! Lovely shades in your header and I can see why you like that combination of colours. Own up…have you had a nibble of one? Good idea to keep the seeds for next year…now you just have to remember where they’re saved 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I’m sure that you’re right so I’m not even going to try! Thanks, I really like it.
      No, I keep forgetting but I will next time I’m plotting.
      Once I’ve sorted them out they’ll go in my seed box, which is quite empty at the moment! xx

  7. VP says:

    Hi Flighty – thanks for the link 🙂 I didn’t know about roasting the seeds though, so will have to give that a try 🙂

    I love the deep, velvety red ones as you already know. I’m not sure if you actually need to save the seeds as they seem perfectly capable of sowing themselves in my experience. I don’t mind though!

    • Flighty says:

      VP you’re welcome! You’ll have to let know what they’re like.
      Me too, I only had one but I’m hoping for more next year. I’m collecting seed because I want to grow elsewhere on the plot, and also to pass on and swop. xx

  8. zacl says:

    Let me know how you get on with the salad when you do try the nasturtiums. 🙂

  9. louise says:

    Great information and lovely photos of nasturtium. I may choose Peach Melba for my garden next year. I like it. x

  10. fraggle says:

    Hiya: quick message from robin can you wear yellow for microcephaly awareness day please x

  11. fraggle says:

    On 30th September. Thanks x

  12. fraggle says:

    Bit of good news! England rugby players Matt Stevens and Lee Meers are backing the Awareness Day, they opened a new coffee shop in bath called Jika Jika and are doing something for it and emailing pics for Robin to scrapbook.
    Robin is going to say thank you in person in December. Manager rang earlier giving go ahead to tell press they’re backing Robin x

Leave a Reply

