Just for a change…

I was busy plotting last week I’m glad to say! The weather has been sunny and comfortably warm so I’ve done a lot of much needed, and overdue, weeding.

I’ve also started clearing the areas where I’m going to plant my rhubarb, courtesy of Joe, and next year’s potatoes.

Just about the only flowers still to be seen are a few sunflowers,DSCN1664and this one double zinnia!DSCN1638

I also collected seeds from various flowers including aquilegias (columbines), pot marigolds,DSCN1629love-in a-mist, nasturtiums and sweet peas. More about these another time when I’ve sorted them all out.

At the hut last week I bought 20 mini daffodils, of several varieties,  and 20 white (I think, indeed hope!) crocus white-crocus.thumbnail all of which I’ll be planting in the long planter that, thanks to Fox Digger, has stood empty since the spring.  The larger daffodils that were in it I’m planting out on the plot.

I also bought three hyacinth bulbs for growing indoors, hopefully to flower at Christmas.  They’re the variety City of Harlem which as you see are pale yellow and very fragrant. I’ve been reading up what to do and will let you know how I get on!

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Just for a change…

  1. Louise says:

    Thanks for the lovely bright colours on your blog Flighty. I had high hopes for glorious sunshine today, having been at work yesterday and all last week, and it has turned out grey, miserable and cloudy! A fox has left a trail of devastation in my step-dads garden, turfing out his troughs/pots of bulbs. x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise you’re welcome! Me too, but it’s been so different to yesterday.
      They can be a real pest when they do that, and I don’t know how to stop them! xx

  2. Glory says:

    Last time we were in Lancashire UK we bought 50 of the mini daffs which we smuggled home, shhhhh, and stuck them all in one raised bed, they have since multiplied and make a wonderful show.
    I also love your sunflowers, such a happy flower.
    I didn’t know that the fox was such a naughty to the garden, and I was amazed when I saw on A4A about all the badgers you seem to have also being naughty.
    Never did see a real badger, I think they must be a bit like our skunks, with out the smell. dull and dismal day here today… glory

    • Flighty says:

      Glory hello, and thanks for stopping by to comment!
      Okay I won’t tell anyone! I really like the mini ones, which tend to cope better with rain and wind.
      Me too, I grow lots on the plot
      https://flightplot.wordpress.com/2009/07/23/sunflowers/
      Foxes can be such a nuisance when they dig everywhere. Thankfully we don’t have badgers hereabouts as they can be even worse! I’ve only seen a couple, and both times it was only a quick glimpse in the dark.
      Same here today sadly, and a complete contrast to yesterday. Take care! xx

  3. menhir1 says:

    You’ve been plotting! T’was that all plots were such as thine.

    I looked twice at your hyacinth. As a rule, I view this plant as an outdoor one as the smell is sooo ‘difficult’, I would not even call it aromatic. The flower I looked at was very delicate, and I do wonder if that particular variety would be a delightfully perfumed ballerina to it’s chunky heavy smelling cousin.

    Nasturtiums, those that grow like weeds where you are, are lovely in my salads. I enjoy their slightly nutty and peppery flavour, leaf and flower. The flower makes for a really colourful and interesting presentation.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir I have indeed, but not today! I wish that was true as it’s definitely not looking at its best at present!
      My mother grew hyacinths indoors but wasn’t keen on the fragrance. Once they finished flowering she planted them in the garden. I shall do the same.
      I’m not keen on the orange-red ones but have some yellow ones that I like, and one that’s yellow with red giving a raspberry ripple effect. I don’t think that I’ve ever eaten them in salads but will give it a go next year. xx

  4. menhir1 says:

    PS. no url box for some reason Mr F. Ticked the other one as advised. URL as follows;

    http://myword1.blogspot.com

  5. menhir1 says:

    Am in leave comment box logged in as menhir1. Probably because I have a blog on this site which I don’t do anything much with. Below there is a ‘submit’ button. I am also subscribed to this post.

    I use any kind of nasturtium into my salads. The ones commonly seen, the orange ones, are just fine to eat. You want to select the young leaves and flowers, not tough ready to pop their clogs, varieties.

  6. Lisa says:

    lovely fleurs! I am especially partial to the double zinnia. 🙂

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Mmmm! Sounds like some good thinking and planning happening 🙂 I dropped by the local arboretum and noticed (duh!) that they had a shop selling some pretty interesting plants. Uh oh, is right. I like all the cheerful colours still gracing your plot, Flighty.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I found out yesterday what seed potatoes the horticultural society will be selling in the new year so I’m now deciding which to get.
      So did you actually buy anything?
      Thanks, sadly that’s all there is now. xx

  8. menhir1 says:

    Even though the nasturtiums may be past their best, you could nibble the edge of a leaf, just as a wee try. I am not sure about the nasturtium in your picture, my guess is, that being the same genus, it is likely to have similar characteristics.

    🙂

  9. Glory says:

    I had to search all over to find this site but I don’t have pictures of nasturtiums.
    PS for what it’s worth my gran used to pickle nasturtium seeds,, glory

  10. menhir1 says:

    Pickled nasturtium seeds, the big ones, are great in salads.

  11. Maureen says:

    Wow – it sounds like you’ve been very busy! I thought of you when we had all the good weather recently and figured you would be hard at work on your plot – and I was right. I’m glad you have been so successful with it all. And thanks for sharing the beautiful photos too.

    • Flighty says:

      Maureen I’ve probably done more digging and weeding in the past two weeks than I have in the past two months! Over the next few weeks, weather permitting, I hope to get everything else I want to do done before winter sets in.
      You’re welcome! xx

  12. alison says:

    OoOo… AahHh… lovely lovely! enjoy while they last, the weather is changing again yes?

    • Flighty says:

      Alison I’m glad that you like them! I will, and the weather has been good most of the week. No doubt it will change soon as it’s never settled for more than a few days! xx

Leave a Reply

