More sofa flying

As it becomes more autumnal there’s no doubt that we’ll all be doing less lawn lounging and more sofa flying, except perhaps Disgruntled!

I tend to read more books over the coming months and I’ve decided to re-read all the D.I. Charlie Priest series of crime novels written by Stuart Pawson.

The first one is The Picasso Scam originally published in 1995 although I recently bought a good second-hand 2004 paperback for the princely sum of £1-29 plus £2-75 p&p!

The most recent book in the series is Grief Encounters which I wrote about in the post The KitKat cop early last year.

I had hoped that the next in the series would be published this year but reading  Stuart Pawson’s – Diary/Blog & News recently I see that although it’s written it presumably won’t be published until next year, and still needs a title!

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to More sofa flying

  1. re says:

    I adore crime novels and will be looking out for this author, thanks for the recommendation.

    • Flighty says:

      Re me too thanks to my mum who had a shelf full of Agatha Christie books! You’re welcome!
      As well as Stuart Pawson I like Stephen Booth and Jim Kelly. None of these are as gritty, if you know what I mean, as some other crime novelists. xx

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Even with the busy-ness of summertime, I find that I read more in the summer. My fall schedules don’t always allow for leisurely reading. Right now, I’m listening to an old Agatha Christie Murder is Easy, in the midst of Diana Gabaldon’s hefty Dragonfly in Amber, and just finished a book my aunt recommended called Secrets. Oh, and am struggling to keep on with a book my young cousin lent me, Then We Came to the End by Joshua Ferris — kind of an odd book about life in an advertising agency told from the first person plural.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I probably do too but it just feels like I read more once the nights start to draw in!
      That’s a varid selection you’re listening to and reading at the moment! xx

  3. menhir1 says:

    Sofa lounging is definitely in competition with couch-surfing.

    I have books to catch up with and one that should have been finished a long time ago. I am being most self-disciplined and not starting another book till I have completed my reading of the one I am currently with.

    Amongst your reading schedules, will you not be hunting out inspiration for the allotment?

    xx

  4. menhir1 says:

    Only seed catalogues! I had you down for a trip or two to your local library horticultural section.

    There have been a number of radio features, probably some TV ones too, on allotment communities. It won’t be long before there’s books out relating to them. I can see it now, ” My life as an allotmenteer”. Or, ” Standing tall with hollyhocks and Capsicums”. More titles crowd in to my mind, but I think you get my drift. 🙂 xx

  5. menhir1 says:

    Allotment life throws up some great media titles. I got a few smiles from the ones you offered me. I particularly liked ‘Two Blokes One Shed…’

    It is sad that libraries have had to thin out their interest sections. I guess they are keeping to what is considered mainstream, whatever that is. The rest to be found elsewhere, like the internet or bookshops. Do you have access through your library, to other area library loans? There used to be a scheme like that, though I cannot remember how it was accessed.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir it certainly does! Well men and their sheds…what can I say!
      Public libraries nowadays seem to spend much of their budget on everything except books! I must say that the internet is great for forums like Allotments 4 All
      http://www.allotments4all.co.uk/smf/index.php
      ,where I’m an active member, which provides help and information on just about everything.
      Yes I believe that non-fiction books can be reserved like that, although I’ve not done so for many years. xx

Leave a Reply

