S is for…

On Thursday Joe confirmed that some of my sweetcorn Golden Bantam were readyDSCN1673so I took three home and had them for lunch.  I put a large saucepan of water on to boil whilst I  stripped the leaves and silks off them.  In the pan they went for no more than five minutes then out, covered in butter and a shake of black pepper and  eaten with a couple of slices of brown bread.  They were delicious and I look forward to some more later today!

I’m still picking sweet peas and have a vase full here on the table.  I don’t have much of a sense of smell but certainly catch a waft of these!  I’ll be growing plenty again next year including the packet of Bouquet Blend which Nikki kindly sent me earlier in the year.

Yesterday was the Newton Park Horticultural Society’s 70th anniversary show which was held at the nearby Sports and Social Club. In the end I didn’t exhibit anything but helped set up on Friday evening and was there all day yesterday when I was a steward! DSCN1693

It was a long, tiring but thoroughly enjoyable day. I’ll do a post all about it later in the week. I should perhaps also mention that I completely forgot to wear my snazzy waistcoat…duh!

So S has definitely been for smiles!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to S is for…

  1. daffy says:

    I love sweetcorn and love eating it too! It’s one of those foods you can so much fun with …when you are in the comfort of your own home! I wouldn’t think that pretending to be a typewriter for the kids enjoyment would be acceptable outside your own home! haha
    Oooh Look at your lovely Steward rosette! Can’t wait to hear all about it but smiles are good aren’t they!

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy me too! Is that fun as in messy, in which case it’s definitely a food for eating at home.
      I was honoured to be asked to be one by Christine, the show secretary. I’ll do it Tuesday probably, and yes I’m still smiling! xx

  2. menhir1 says:

    Salivating at those sweet corn. They look so full and pregnant with juices. Did you grow them under cover?

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir I sowed the seeds directly in the ground the first week of June. They’re in a block next to a row of runner beans, which acts as a wind break, and get the sun all day. xx

  3. menhir1 says:

    PS. I have placed you on my blog list on blogspot.
    http://myword1.blogspot.com so I can visit your plot with ease. 🙂

  4. deyank says:

    I absolutely LOVE sweet corn. Pretty much every farm here in Ohio grows it. I like to go to one of the local farmer’s markets and grab some ears. During the early fall we eat as much as we can.

    Bill

  5. menhir1 says:

    ‘Lawn lounger’ would that I could. 😉

    You must have had some real warmth over an extended period to get the results you have.

  6. Maureen says:

    Ahh – corn on the cob. I love it too. It’s a very popular crop in Minnesota. In fact, Minnesota ranks 5th in the country for total acres devoted to corn.

    It sounds like you were very busy at the Newton Park Horticultural Society’s 70th anniversary show. I’m impressed that you were a steward. That must be quite an experience.

    • Flighty says:

      Maureen I’m not surprised that you do, especially in view of your upbringing.
      It was a long day which just seemed to fly by! I was pleased to have been asked, happy to have done it and look forward to doing it again. xx

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Glad you had a great time — even for a long and tiring day. Very nice of them to recognize people who are working hard for the event. As for your sweetcorn, is there anything better than fresh corn eaten right away? Delish!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki you can read all about it in my next post! Yes, but some folks worked a whole lot harder than me.
      No I don’t think that there is. Delish indeed! xx

  8. Georgie says:

    That cob looks great Flighty, you must be very pleased. Sadly it’s one of the things that I simply don’t have room to grow in my small garden so I’ve never savoured the delights of a truly fresh cob. I’m jealous!

    G x

    • Flighty says:

      Georgie I reckon that they are as good as any I saw at the show so perhaps next year…They do need a fare bit of space unfortunately. I was surprised at just how different, and good, they tasted. xx

  9. mrs K says:

    I first tasted corn on the cob, just picked in France of all countries . My mouth still waters and I dislike the corn on the cob you buy in the shops.

    But the good news is my neighbours have just managed to get there sticky mits on three allotments. Two have not been in use for 20 years. The third just five years non-use. So high hopes.hard work and high hopes.

    They are nice and young neighbours who knew little or nothing about gardening. But over the past three years – they have learnt and the last two years have grown stuff in buckets, tubs, oil cans and anything else I could think of – and I shared in the rewards.

    Yippee about the new allotments.

    • Flighty says:

      Mrs K I’m not surprised that you dislike shop bought cobs! I think that anyone who’s had fresh ones would agree.
      I presume that the three plots are fairly small, and close to each other, otherwise they really will be busy! It’s always good to hear of such people being so enthusiastic, hard working and willing to learn. I wish them well, and I’m sure that you’ll continue to share even bigger rewards. xx

Leave a Reply

