It’s a sure sign…

that it’s nearly the end of summer when I start noticing that the mornings are slightly chillier and the evenings just a bit darker as they now are. I don’t mind as I really do prefer autumn with its cooler days and general feeling of mellowness.

I only went to the plot twice during the week, mainly to pick more blackberries, runner beans and sweet peasDSCN1644

Both roses have had a final flourish with the Valentine Heart already losing all its leaves making this solitary bloom look rather forlornDSCN1658In contrast the Pretty Lady was covered in blooms for a couple daysDSCN1657

VP (Veg Plotting) pointed out to me in this comment that there are a couple of watchable programmes on terrestrial TV at present.  I owned up to the fact that I’d forgotten about one of them and missed the other! On BBC2 tomorrow at 7.00pm is the second, of five, programmes A Garden in Snowdonia. The series is all about the story of a year in the life of Bodnant Garden in North Wales.  The other series is  Future of Food in which George Allagiah has been looking at the growing global food crisis that could affect us all in years to come.  The last of the three programmes is  on BBC2 tomorrow evening at 9.00pm.

The art of allotments in the Guardian Gardening Blog during the week made me nod and smile as it describes perfectly the wonderful eccentricities to be seen on allotments.

Happy gardening and watching!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to It’s a sure sign…

  1. crazykites says:

    hey flighty!!!ove your flowers,i may have to steal some inspiration from your photos,ok?

  2. Glo says:

    Oh, lovely sweet peas and roses … just a minute until I take a deep whiff!….ahhhhh! Still smells like summer to me 🙂

    Autumn will come in its own sweet time, and I’m in no rush at all. I notice the same things as you …a gradual change…cooler mornings, darker evenings. The transition between summer and autumn is usually lovely to watch, as the seasons share some time together. As for feeling more mellow ~ hmmmm… how many shades of mellow can you get? LOL

    Glad to see you’ve got the TV programmes up to speed 😉 and I enjoyed reading about the individuality of allotments via the link. Why do people put bottles upside down on the stakes? Is it to discourage birds?

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks! At one time I thought I’d have few sweet peas but they’ve been wonderfully prolific the past couple of weeks.
      I’m in no rush either! It would be nice to have another glorious Indian summer like we did the year before last.
      So am I! Plastic bottles, or metal drink cans, are put on cane tops to stop people poking themselves in the eye, which happens surprising often! Unwanted CDs are hung up, to glint in the wind, in the hope that they’ll discourage birds! xx

  3. Georgie says:

    Great minds, eh Flighty? 😉

    G x

  4. VP says:

    Hi Flighty – I enjoyed that allotments post as well – I was the pioneer bottle on top of cane person up at our site, now everyone’s doing it!

    Thanks for the mention re tonight’s TV – both programmes were very good. I see you’ve also been very good about telling people about my wasp post last week. You’re a gem 😀
    xx

    • Flighty says:

      VP not quite everyone as I don’t! Mind you all my canes are 6 0r 8 feet ones so I don’t have a problem.
      Thanks for reminding me! I’ve been catching up with them over the weekend.
      That’s because there’s been various mentions of wasps lately and your blog is such a good point of reference about the problem.
      Thanks again! xx

  5. menhir1 says:

    Thank you for visiting my blogspot site. I do have one on WordPress which I am trying to come to grips with….so much to learn with each site.

    I was very happy to hear from you.

    I adore these pictures, the sweet peas reminded me of a recent posy I was given, mostly containing sweet peas. The posy sat in a delightfully pretty porcelain vase that has its own little memories for me. The two together, the vase and the flowers, were an absolute fit. Sadly, they don’t last long, but I got about 10 days from them, so I was quite pleased with that.

    Your roses are just so perfect.

    I am not sure how to link my blogspot to your site, and I have yet to learn about blogrolls! It all takes time, I shall get there eventually.

    Great to hear from you.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir hello, you appear to be somewhat of a blogoholic, as indeed I am, with blogs everywhere!
      I’ll stop by your blogspot one regularly from now on.
      I’m glad that you like the pictures. You’re lucky that your sweet peas lasted that long as mine tend to only last a few days.
      That’s okay I’ll email you about links and blogrolls. As you say I’m sure that you’ll get there in the end! Take care! xx

  6. cafecortado says:

    I’ve been told that the waiting list for an allotment plot where I live is now several years. I blame you for making it too popular, lol! Keep up the good work though, always a pleasure to read of your exploits on the land.

  7. menhir1 says:

    Hi,

    I am not sure if I am a blogaholic. I am seeking other wider pastures. I shall keep an eye on BCUK because I want to keep in touch with a few people there. I was slow to branch out as the site is very easy to use.

    I did have a blog on blogspot before BCUK which I deserted and have returned to. I had been on a couple of other sites before blogspot, then I finally settled at BCUK. It was too easy, perhaps. You must have seen the changes in communications, as I have. It was time to re-think.

    My sweet peas probably did quite well because I put some feed into the water. I was away for a few days and when I returned, they had well and truly expired. The flowers did form a very pretty posy.

    xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir that’s the only reason that I’m still on BCUK.
      I’ve had blogs all over the place but find that here suits me fine at present.
      I just wish that sweet peas would last longer! xx

  8. nikkipolani says:

    I can’t believe you’re still picking sweetpeas! And I’m sorry to see your roses getting ready for fall. Mine were just enjoying the cooler weeks in early August and are full of buds. I’m trying to pick them before the sun fries them to a crisp.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki nor can I, mind you mine were late to start flowering!
      The roses didn’t like the hot weather here and I was surprised that the second flush was as good as it was. xx

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Hopefully, as your roses mature, they should be better able to handle the heat and bloom a little into fall. I’m thinking of trying to get a second season of sweetpeas by planting them now and letting them grow in fall’s slightly cooler temps. As you know, we don’t really cool down around here until late October. Cool down = 70-ish temps.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I hope so, I’ve seen roses in bloom here at Christmas! The constantly changing weather, rather than clear cut seasons or longer settled periods, is the problem and something we can’t do anything about.
      A second lot of sweet peas sounds like a good idea, I want to grow more over a longer period next year. xx

Leave a Reply

