Plot sunshine

Much as I like softer colours and pastel shades it’s good to have some bright coloured flowers as they really do make such a difference on dull days providing some plot sunshine.

I really like showy pot marigolds (Calendula officinalis) such as this orange oneDSCN1525and will be growing them again next year.

Plot neighbour George, who much prefers growing flowers, gave me someΒ  crocosmia last year. Both clumps have established themselves and the brilliant red flowersDSCN1621really stand out against the sword-like leaves.

I sowed plenty of nasturtiums (Tropaeolum majus) and this yellow oneDSCN1620has been flowering profusely for weeks now.

Overlooking all these are the various wonderful sunflowers that are on the plot.Β  My new header is part of this photoDSCN1624that I took last Wednesday.

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Plot sunshine

  1. daffy says:

    Well that splash of colour certainly woke me from my hazy sleepy state!
    Your marigold looks delightful! Mine are ok but yours seems somewhat more demure where mine are a bright ‘dazzle your eyes’ orange! ;o)
    Lovely! Well one thing is for sure, you are one happy-clever gardener!

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy perhaps I should have started off by saying that shades should be worn when looking at this post!
      I have some really dazzling ones as well as you’ll see when I do a forthcoming ‘Plot plants’ post about them.
      Thanks! I’m certainly happy, lucky as well, and as for being clever…! xx

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Oh! Your bright colored flowers are so lovely. I didn’t know you were growing crocosmias, too πŸ™‚ I’ve been keeping an eye out for other varieties when the ones Wandering Chopsticks’ gave me were blooming so nicely. That marigold is a beauty.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki many thanks! I’d almost forgotten about the crocosmias, which look like the variety ‘Lucifer’.
      As I mentioned to Daffy there’ll be a post about the plot pot marigolds sometime soon. xx

  3. Georgie says:

    Lovely photos Flighty, as ever. If you have any spare seeds of that Calendula I know a good home for them. πŸ˜‰

    G x

  4. Olivia says:

    I think the marigold and your sunflowers should go into a communal allotment calendar!

  5. Glo says:

    Lovely shades of golden yellow ~ both mellow and bright. I used to have a crocosmias, and loved how the leaves moved with the breeze. I wonder where it went? Your header is very timely and gorgeous. How fortunate that many of us are seeing sunflowers cheering up our gardens. Buzzy things really like them, too.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks! You’ll have to find it again as it’s a wonderful plant.
      Cropping photos to try and get a good header is usually more miss than hit so I was well pleased with this one. Us, buzzy things and then birds for the seeds all like them! xx

  6. Georgie says:

    Thanks Flighty. πŸ˜€

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Oh, and what a lovely header those sunflowers make πŸ™‚

  8. Beautiful color. Looks like you are having all sunshine over there πŸ™‚

  9. Blueandtigger says:

    Wow. Your Sunflowers are beautiful. I love the deep orange in the middle.

Leave a Reply

