A film, a book and some blogs

I shall be settling down tomorrow evening to watch, and hopefully enjoy, the down-to-earth comedy film Grow Your Own which is on BBC2 at 9.00pm.  This is the Radio Times review about it.

I was pleased to find  a copy of  A Good War by Patrick Bishop at the library last week. This is Bishop’s first novel following his highly acclaimed  Bomber Boys which as you can see I blogged about May last year. It’s over 500 pages so it’ll give me plenty of bedtime reading for the next couple of weeks.

On the subject of books I recently came across Awful Library Books which is great fun to read!

Anyone who has been blogging over the past five years is likely to have come across  BalancingAct and Simplelsie,  both of which are still to be found on 20sixLC has (had) other blogs including the far to intermittent LawnChair which, not surprisingly, I’ve always liked!

Happy weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A film, a book and some blogs

  1. daffy says:

    It’s always nice to find a new reading place….
    This is a busy and informative entry!
    Simplelsie…. she is just lovely!

  2. deyank says:

    How did you ever come across the Library Books blog Mike? It’s a real hoot. I read virtually every post in it. A very funny blog.

    Bill

  3. nikkipolani says:

    A fun site, that Awful Library Books. Reminds me of a class I took in middle school (age 13 or so) called “Charm”. The boys had a different class but I can’t remember the name. There was a book the accompanied the class that talked about various areas of “charm” including keeping nails clean and clothing styles to suit body types, hairstyles to suit face shapes… so modern in some sense and so silly in others. Like hand-washing your pillow case every three days. Wha?

    Anyway, enjoy your upcoming entertainments! I’ve got one audiobook on the iPod, a PD James murdery mystery at my bedside, and a sci-fi type in my library bag. Now all I need is some quiet evenings!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I shall thinking of it when I’m next at the library. I wonder if I’ll find any suitable books!
      Thanks I sure hope to as it’s nice to be reading a good book and have a nice film to look forward to.
      Fingers crossed that you do get some! xx

  4. VP says:

    I’ve been trying to see Grow Your Own for a couple of years now. I even lobbied our local film club to include it in their programme, but got outvoted 😦

    So as you’ve probably guessed, I’m looking forward to it 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

  5. Glo says:

    That movie does sound like a funny one and I’m sure you’ll enjoy it, especially with it taking place on an allotment! Good reading, too ~ so it sounds like you’re all set. The awful library books were a riot and I enjoyed looking and reading through the entries.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo it was a bitter-sweet comedy drama about the allotmenteers rather than an out-and-out funny film. I really enjoyed it, and would agree with a friend who said that it was charming and insightful.
      I’m enjoying the book as well!
      Me too, I found it an absolute hoot! xx

  6. Glo says:

    ‘Charming and insightful’ sound like wonderful descriptors of a film, and I’m pleased you enjoyed it. I must have thought it was one of those English comedies that have me in fits and starts!

Leave a Reply

