Runner beans, sweetcorn & cucumbers

I’m sure that when I looked last Wednesday that there were no runner beans ready for picking however when I had another look yesterday I found that now there were!DSCN1593

I picked a dozen,DSCN1603some of which I had with my dinner today, and they were delicious!

No doubt that by next week I’ll be picking lots and be giving some to Beverley in the hardware store and Cally and Val at the bookshop.

I only sowed the seeds during the first week of June and the allotmenteer’s bible The Vegetable & Herb Expert by Dr. D.G. Hessayon says that the approximate time to picking is 12/14 weeks!

The sweetcorn are now about 6 feet tall and most have male tassels visibleDSCN1589at the top of the main stems.

The female silks, at the top of the cobs,DSCN1590have appeared on some plants but it is early days as I sowed them at the same time as the runner beans and the approximate time to picking these is 14 weeks.

My attempt to grow some cucumbers outside never got started as where I was going to grow them kept being disturbed by Fox Digger! However thanks to the generosity of Joe, who gave me the small one,  and John I’m sure that I’ll be enjoying these DSCN1615with my cheese sandwiches and salads during the next week or two.

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Runner beans, sweetcorn & cucumbers

  1. Glo says:

    Nice to see you are full of beans 😉 I like your corn tassely photos, and your gift of cucumbers is set out in a smile 🙂 ~ nose and mouth, anyway. Sounds like you are enjoying the healthy and delcious harvest.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo if I’m not already I soon will be! Thanks.
      I’m enjoying eating various vegetables that I’ve grown every day and I like to think that I’m also healthier by doing so. xx

  2. nikkipolani says:

    So your plants are spilling the beans early! I can’t believe it grew so fast! Lots more to come, I hope 🙂 Great shots of your productive plot, Flighty.

  3. Georgie says:

    Flighty those beans look delicious. I’m very jealous!

    G x

  4. Louise says:

    I love those little rotund cucumbers! And I could eat a plate full of runner beans too. I did buy some rather impressive corn on the cobs from Lidl yesterday, for 25p each, which I thought was a reasonable price. We love them, with lots of black pepper. x

  5. Ellie says:

    They look delicious. I had my first plateful the other day – and that was after thinking there were none there. But there was a handful lurking in the growth at the bottom. Just like finding treasure! x

  6. Beans? Corn? Nice cucumbers? How yummy. Those cucs look crunchy.

Leave a Reply

