God’s Garden

The kiss of the sun for pardon,

The song of the birds for mirth,

One is nearer God’s heart in a garden

Than anywhere else on earth.

Whilst many people, especially poetry loving gardeners, will be familiar with these four lines of verse some will not know that they are the last lines of the poem God’s Garden by Dorothy Frances Gurney.

Happy gardening and have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to God’s Garden

  1. krupatel24 says:

    Gardening is so calming – Hope that its a good weekend so that I can get out there. Learnt a lot about gardening recently because of the work that Send a Cow charity are doing – and thought I would share this with you. The send a cow charity (www.sendacow.org.uk) were silver medalists at the Gardner’s world live 2009. The medal winning garden which showcased agricultural techniques that farmers are using every day in Africa but which UK growers can use just as easily here, including: bag gardens, plant tea, a keyhole garden, a tip tap and a drip irrigation system. For some information visit the send a cow website http://www.sendacow.org.uk.

    I am in the process of placing an irrigation system in my garden and its great to have had the information from send a cow. Donation has been made to your cause. Thank you

  2. nikkipolani says:

    You’re right. I’d heard those four lines before but never heard the first parts. Very evocative images, Flighty.

  3. mrs K says:

    In a garden green and gay,
    All my troubles pass away.
    Sweet contentment, here I find
    Joy of heart and peace of mind.

    Patience Strong.

    My Mother did embroidery and that poem was surrounded by vegetables, fruit and flowers. It hung on my bedroom wall for 40 years till finally it gave up the ghost.

    I still garden.

    Your poem brought back the memory. Thank you.

    • Flighty says:

      Mrs K those words are so true!
      My mother embroidered, and gardened, so I wouldn’t be surprised if she did something similar, not that I remember.
      Good for you! You’re welcome. xx

  4. Thank you for introducing me to the rest of Dorothy Frances Gurney’s poem. I always appreciate people who can put into poetry, and with grace and brevity, the essence of a larger story. And beyond that, gardens have a special attraction for almost everyone.

  5. Louise says:

    Aah, very nice. I only knew the famous last sentences, as I inherited a garden plaque with them on. I like Mrs K’s verse too. I am getting out in the garden today. After last night’s torrential downpours, it has been well watered! Enjoy the weekend on the allotment Flighty. x

  6. Glo says:

    A lovely poem to greet me on my return home! I see all is well on Plot 124 and that a new pink hydrangea has taken up residence. It’s a beauty!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo welcome home, I’m glad that you like it!
      Yes all is well, and I picked my first runner beans today which I shall eat tomorrow.
      The first thing I do now is check the hydrangea! xx

  7. Elizabeth Cavanaugh says:

    I found part of “God’s Garden” after my
    mother died. She written it on a notepad.
    Thus began my search for where it came
    from began. Thank you for the information
    and insight.

  8. Liz says:

    Ah, yes. That verse by Dorothy Frances Gurney is familiar. And, Mrs. K’s contribution by Patience Strong reminded me of the gift subscription to This England magazine that my uncle sent me while he was living. The magazine had a Patience Strong poem in every issue.

Leave a Reply

