Glads, toms and white butterflies

Early last year I was given some gladioli corms which I later planted out in several groups.  They grew and flowered but I decided that they were in the wrong places so last autumn I lifted, dried and stored them. I then completely forgot about them so they never got replanted this year! However I obviously overlooked one group as recently several have reappeared including these two magnificent tall white onesDSCN1563Later on I shall dig these up and store them with the others that I’ve since found.  All I’ll have to do is remember to plant my glads out next spring!

I intended growing tomatoes this year but never got round to sowing the packet of seeds that I had.  I did buy two Gardener’s Delight plants at the hut and eventually planted them out.  They were joined by two bush plants that Joe kindly gave me.  I then did nothing…no watering, feeding, pinching out or weeding!  All very remiss of me I know so imagine my surprise this week when I found that they all have fruit on them. This is one of the Gardener’s Delights DSCN1555and this is one of the bush plantsDSCN1554I’ll let you know if I actually end up with any edible red fruits.

I really like tomatoes so next year I will grow some, probably Red Alert which has been recommended to me as being one of the best outdoor bush varieties to grow with superb tasting small toms.

There were lots of white butterflies flutttering around the allotments last week. The only problem being that few actually landed on the plot and despite several determined attempts this was the only photo I got of oneCabbage white butterfly

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Glads, toms and white butterflies

  1. deyank says:

    I really love Glads. They are such pretty flowers. I bet the tomatoes will taste really good on a salad – or just raw with a touch of salt.

    Bill

  2. isadora101 says:

    Wonderful gladiola, I can’t wait for mine to open up some more xx

  3. nikkipolani says:

    If Samantha were a butterfly, she’d look just like that 😀 How lovely that you are getting some unexpected tomatoes! I am loooong expecting mine which are getting the best of care and they are doing…..NOTHING!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki and if she was she’d be chased by Emma! Fingers crossed that we both end up with a few.
      It sometimes appears that some plants don’t like all the cosseting that we gave them! xx

  4. nikkipolani says:

    You’re probably right, Flighty. Wish I had some corner of the garden that I could throw tomato seeds in and let them go untended. But on a suburban plot, that’s pretty unavailable!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki here tomatoes are really best grown in a greenhouse as outdoor ones often succumb to blight, which occurs when it’s warm and wet as it is now! xx

  5. Tina says:

    Wow, what a white white!
    I find toms do much better if I simply ignore them and leave them to their own devices. I figure Ma Nature knows what she’s doing. lol. Hope they taste wonderful!

  6. What a beautiful Glad! Aren’t you a little bit happy you missed removing it in your replanting scheme so that you have this lovely stalk of blooms? And what about those tomatoes! I think your garden loves you Flighty 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Beginnghere thanks, and yes I’m certainly happy to see them. All the tomatoes need do is turn red and I shall love the garden even more than I do already! xx

Leave a Reply

