Harvest time

Last week I lifted over 50 onions for drying and storingDSCN1499They range in size from a golfball to a tennis ball and will keep me going to at least the end of the year.

I dug up the last of the Kestrel potatoes which I’ve been eating all month. They’re nice but some are rather on the small sideDSCN1515 That’s a 5p coin which is 3/4″ or 20mm diameter! Anyway only kidding as most are a regular size with a few big ones like this DSCN1518

The carrots Little Fingers are crunchy and taste good  straight out the groundDSCN1511

On the down side something has devoured my second sowing of lettuce ButtercrunchDSCN1521Thankfully I’m not that fussed as I much prefer the Lollo Rosa which has survived untouched for me to have in my salads.

There’s also been plenty of red beetroot Cylindra, raddishes French Breakfast and spring onions Summer isle. John kindly gave a good sized cucumber,  and I’ve been enjoying the rhubarb that Brian and Joe  both keep telling me to help myself to.

The  blackberries are starting  to ripen and are delicious. If I can stop eating them  as I pick them then I’ll bring some home to have with a scoop or two of vanilla ice cream.

It really has given me a great deal of pleasure to sow, grow, harvest and then eat these various vegetables, and hopefully there’s still plenty more to come!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Harvest time

  1. Georgie says:

    Wow Flighty, what a fantastic crop, you must be delighted. I have had no success with potatoes, onions or carrots in containers but I’ve learnt over the years that, aside from the odd experiment, it’s best to stick with what grows well for you. I’ve just started harvesting Physallis, for instance, and if I say so myself they are delicous. 🙂

    G x

    • Flighty says:

      Georgie thanks! I’m sympathise that you’ve had limited success with yours. I agree with growing what grows well for you, mind you I do like to try something different as well!
      I never tried eating, let alone growing, cape gooseberries! xx

  2. deyank says:

    Nice produce Mike. Every time I try a garden it will either get eaten up by various bugs/animals, or I don’t water it enough and it produces miniature vegetables. I’m betting rabbits got your lettuce based on the way it was shredded. Maybe they like cole slaw better. Any sign on mayonnaise on the ground?

    Bill

    • Flighty says:

      Deyank thanks! At times it seems like a minor miracle that we get anything to grow.
      Thankfully rabbits are one animal we don’t get on the allotments and it’s probably woodpigeons, which have a voracious appetite, and/or slugs that stripped these! As for the coleslaw and mayonnise…

  3. Louise says:

    I’ve just got to find room for vegetables in my garden next year! Your harvest looks great, and that pest thinks so too. I love potatoes in all shapes and forms, small ones with their skins on, and large ones baked. x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise it’s well worth the effort, even with a really small vegetable patch!
      Thanks, and in this case I didn’t mind not getting my share. Me too, and I’ve got lots more to come! xx

  4. nikkipolani says:

    Flighty, this is delightful! I love the huge range in sizes of those potatoes. And look at those onions! I love grilling onions that aren’t too big. They take on a really nice sweetness. You are certainly going to enjoy this bounty. I have friends who grow lettuce only in containers where they can better control for those voracious snails and slugs.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki many thanks! Thankfully most of the potatoes are a regular size. I’ll let you know what the onions taste like once I’ve tried them in various ways.
      ‘Slimies’ as fellow lawn lounger Georgie calls slugs and snails are a real problem for all of us! xx

  5. Georgie says:

    Flighty, Physallis are really easy to grow and taste like a cross between a tomato and a gooseberry. The variety I favour is ‘pineapple’ which, you guessed it, has a hint of pineapple taste to it. Happy to send you some seed to try next year if you’d like to give them a go.

    G x

    • Flighty says:

      Georgie I really like pineapple and tomato but not so keen on gooseberry!
      Anyway many thanks for the offer of some seed which I’ll put on my ‘what to grow next year’ list and contact you in due course. xx

  6. re says:

    I love the tiny new potatoes and blackberries – we had our first blackberry and apple pie last night, something else to blog about!

    • Flighty says:

      Re thankfully there were very few potatoes that size!
      I like crumble rather than pie, and it’s one of my favourite puddings.
      There’s always something to blog about! xx

  7. Pandy says:

    Wow, mini ‘tatoes! So cute! Your ‘harvest’ is impressive, Flighty 🙂 xx

  8. Glo says:

    Sorry for the delay in my reply ~ I can only say that the weather is so warm, that I have taken up a life of lounging (and reading, and reading) that I haven’t been doing much computer wise…enough of me ~

    Now ~ wow! A lovely variety of tasty morsels you have harvested~ Very impressive indeed. It makes meals much more tasty and exciting when you have grown the ingredients yourself. The onions, potatoes, and carrots look very healthy. Nice to see that you did so well with your harvest (and continue to do so) and naturally you’re quite chuffed!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo there’s absolutely no need to be sorry! With weather like that lounging reading definitely takes precedence over most other things!
      It’s all that you say and the supermarket bill has been noticably less as well, which is an added bonus. xx

  9. isadora101 says:

    Wow, I haven’t visited you for a while and i’m impressed with the produce you have grown .. and the sunflowers in a previous post are lovely 🙂

    Lucky you capturing the robin up close when it landed on the feeder,
    birds always fly away for me just as i’m about to snap xx

  10. Flighty, I quite agree that it is a pleasant thing to be able to eat your own crop of vegetables. You have a nice variety too. Had to laugh at your joke about the small potatoes. This puts me in the mood for a baked potato for supper.

    • Flighty says:

      Beginninghere very pleasant indeed, and I’m doing it everyday at the moment! Thanks, I’m growing just about everything I like!
      Ah yes, the mini-meal ones! Like you I really like potatoes. xx

Leave a Reply

