Good morning!

This morning I was standing on the path checking the camera before taking a photo of the blackberries when I realised that this young robin was on the other side of the compost binDSCN1486

It then moved over to this side onto my glovesDSCN1488

Then it came closer still to perch on top of the nut feeder.  I really couldn’t believe that it was less than an arm’s length away and held my breath as I very slowly took these photosDSCN1494

DSCN1493

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Good morning!

  1. deyank says:

    Either too young to be scared, or couldn’t fly yet. By the look of his wings they seem a bit short to me.

    Very cool pictures.

    Bill

    • Flighty says:

      Deyank robins are very friendly birds and it could certainly fly! It’s just unusual to see a young one like this, rather than a red-breasted adult.
      Thanks!

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Fantastic shots, Flighty! Maybe it has already been taught how to pose for the camera 😉 Very pretty little chubby fellow. Hope he keeps coming back.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki thanks, it’s certainly not camera shy is it!
      As it grows it’ll acquire a red-breast. If it’s the one I keep seeing lately then I’m sure it will! xx
      PS the gloves in the second photo are the ones you sent me when I first got the plot.

      • nikkipolani says:

        Yes, I thought I recognized those gloves 🙂 As for your blackberries, the plant looks very healthy and I think I see a few berries peeking about.

        • Flighty says:

          Nikki I don’t always wear gloves but when I do it’s generally these.
          You can indeed just see a couple of blackberries in one picture. I’ll mention them again in my next plot post. xx

  3. menhir says:

    Hi,
    What smashing pics. I really like the bird on your glove, something very matey about this shot.

  4. Very nice close ups Flighty. You have knack for taking nice photos of birds. I was surprised to see a hummingbird not 24 inches away scrutinizing me as I prepared to water the pots this morning. He just hung there in mid air. He had a little red patch on his chest. Very swank.

    • Flighty says:

      Beginninghere thanks I am so pleased with these! It really is luck when I do get good photos of birds.
      Lucky you! I expect you or Nikki to take some good photos of them, for which I suspect you’ll need lots of good luck. xx

      PS – I edited your comment, and deleted your other one.

  5. Glo says:

    How exciting! I can just imagine you holding your breath as you took those photos, willing it to stay still. It’s a lovely wee robin and your photos are so clear with that noticeable bright blue sky as a background. Your photo was reminiscent of your Christmas post card with the red robin on the spade handle. A ‘good morning’, indeed! 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Glo yes indeed! Can you imagine how I would have felt had I not got at least one good photo.
      It was a beautiful morning, then it clouded over although it hasn’t rained.
      I would love to photograph it as a red-breasted adult on my fork or spade handle!
      I also lifted over 50 onions for drying and storage making it a productive, as well as a good, morning! xx

  6. lady_drid says:

    Hi Flighty! Nice photos! I love them. hugs.

  7. Oh thank you Flighty, sigh. Must be the heat! I must say that I was SO delighted to see the parcel that arrived. There is already great discussion about the best place to plant the seeds in order to give them every advantage. Thank you again. By the way, I have never seen seeds for a white variety!

    • Flighty says:

      Beginninghere you’re welcome!
      That’s good. Me neither so it’ll be interesting to know how they grow and what they taste like.
      I’m going to grow red, golden and white ones next year! xx

  8. Ian says:

    Hi Flighty,

    I really like your blog and would like to feature it in an article I’m putting together.

    Do you have an email I can contact you on?

    Cheers

    Ian

  9. Chippy says:

    Look after this one on a regular basis and we’ll be seeing photo’s of it on your hand… they are real friendly birds….. good work Mike!

    • Flighty says:

      Chippy it seems to like my plot and the neighbouring one, which belongs to George who said just how really friendly it is.
      If it ever does feed on my hand I’d be over the moon, and as for photographing it doing so…
      Thanks, and cheers!

  10. Ellie says:

    Amazing photos,Mr F. Although robins are pretty bold, I’ve never had one come that close. Perhaps he was defending your blackberries from you, the intruder!

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie many thanks! This one is noticably confident for a younger.
      You could be right but I got to eat a few this morning and they were really delicious! xx

  11. daffy says:

    Well done Mr Bailey! ‘erm I mean Flighty! Love the last one… definitely on the look out for a worm!

  12. Louise says:

    I wish the robins, who reside in my garden, would sit around long enough for me to take a photo. They give me the runaround every time. Your baby is so cute, and such a star for posing. Great photos Flighty! x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise I’m surprised as they’re usually quite accomodating compared to birds such as sparrows.
      I really couldn’t believe how lucky I was with this one. Thanks! xx

  13. Rosebud says:

    Flighty, great photos i just love the Robin, has to be my favourite bird.
    Thanks for sharing your pictures.

Leave a Reply

