The Rose

The Rose by Dorothy McGregor

Heaven scent rose

A rambling radiance

On rose bush and climber

Exquisite rosePretty Lady roseBlooming in Heaven’s heartland and

Dewed with the summer rains.

Hues of shell,  cerise,  crimson and yellow

And a white rose innocence

Bright as day

Yours is enchantment

Summer rose,  fair rose.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Rose

  1. VP says:

    I don’t usually go for roses, but that one (and the poem) is a beauty. Is it from your plot?

    • Flighty says:

      VP thanks! Yes it’s my rose ‘Pretty Lady’ and I took the photo at the beginning of June. It’s got lots of buds on it again for a forthcoming second flush. xx

  2. Maureen says:

    Beautiful poem and a beautiful rose! I love the name of the rose too. Lovely photo – well done, Flighty.

  3. nikkipolani says:

    Wonderful wonderful shot, Flighty. I can imagine your rose’s perfection – those creamy petals, the soft depth. I hope ‘Pretty Lady’ has some nice fragrance, too.

  4. Glo says:

    Exquisite rose! I could look at the photo all day! Lovely poem that suits it perfectly, and I’m so pleased to know that there are more buds to open.

    I have picked a very small bunch of sweet peas ~ nothing like the abundance you had last year, but the fragrance is so lovely ~ between those and the roses ~ I could happily sit sniffing for hours ~ I also have a couple of sunflowers that have opened, but they are peering into the neighbour’s lovely garden rather than mine!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks, it’s worth going to the plot just to see it’s beautiful blooms!
      I’ve also picked a few sweetpeas but there’s nowhere near as many as last year.
      My sunflower has done the same as it’s facing away from the plot! xx

Leave a Reply

