Feathers and fur

I’ve seen few birds on the plot recently, and until the past week or so the feeders have hardly been touched either. At the hut last Sunday we were chatting about this and it was suggested that the long, cold winter had taken its toll especially among smaller birds such as blue tits, dunnocks and wrens, all of which have been notable by their absence.

On Monday I was digging over part of the vegetable patch when I stopped over a breather.  When I turned to carry on I found myself looking at a young robin Young robinperched on top of the fork handle little more than an arm’s length away.

Later on I stood and watched this woodpigeonDSCN1475on the path by the feeders obviously foraging for seed that I’d scattered.

As I walked towards the gates to come home I’m sure that I heard the familiar raucous sound of two parakeets,  and think I caught a brief glimpse of them flying into the nearby trees.

Looking at,  and hearing,  various birds  is all part of the pleasure of plotting for me and it was a particular delight to see the young robin that close.

The article Cats ‘exploit’ humans by purring caught my eye, as  like many of you I’m also a cat person! Here’s another article about it.

My favourite animal is the snow leopard so how about this wonderful photo, or perhaps like Daffy you prefer this cute baby elephant!

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Feathers and fur

  1. A wildlife warden told me that in July/August the birds are often moulting (there chick rearing duties completed) and that they keep a low profile during this time, not singing or displaying. Maybe this is something to do with the lack of birds.

    • Flighty says:

      Uphilldowndale thanks for mentioning that as I meant to and forgot! I’d rather this scenario than mine, and hopefully I’ll be seeing more birds over the coming weeks. xx

  2. nikkipolani says:

    You’re right about the pleasures of gardening that includes our feathered friends 🙂 I’ve seen an increase of hummingbirds since the addition of a feeder and lots of hummer-friendly plants. I’ve seen several mentions of that cat article and I think roomie and I are proving it with Dolly!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki yes indeed! I must say that I’m just a tiny bit envious that you get hummingbirds!
      Today I watched a couple of sparrows on the feeders, and saw a jay close by as well.
      I’m not surprised about Dolly! xx

  3. Seeing a robin that close is remarkable. Glad your feathered friends are returning. Love all the photos. I am not surprised to find the conclusions reported the cat articles. Cats can be very persuasive 🙂

  4. daffy says:

    That robin is brave for a youngster! My grandad loved the robins on his spade! He used to help them get the chubby worms! I love watching wood pigeons, so ungainly as they waddle about…
    Loved both the photos but the elephant wins by a trunk! xx

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy I would have expected it to be slighty more cautious. This one helped itself to a couple of worms that I’d dug up. Woodpigeons are somewhat comical waddling about.
      Fair enough! xx

  5. Louise says:

    I was only thinking early there have been no birds in the garden today! Usually there are many, including sparrows, dunnocks and blue tits. The food in the feeders and on the birdtable disappears in no time at all. I have a pair of woodpigeons who never fail to make me smile, they are such a comical duo. How lovely for you to see the robin so close, I haven’t ever managed to tame any resident ones in my garden. x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise there’s a few sparrows that I see on the feeders and plot. Thankfully we don’t get many woodpigeons as they can be a real pest.
      I’ve regularly seen robins on the site but this is the first young one! xx

  6. lady_drid says:

    I’m like you, I enjoy looking at the birds that fill my backyard with life. What a joy! hugs, my friend.

  7. Jenny says:

    Also at that time they are sitting on eggs and rearing young. We have the same thing here and I’ve read that the mother birds will by choice, feed their babies insects rather than feeder seeds.

    • Flighty says:

      Jenny they are indeed, but blue tits only have one brood, unlike dunnocks and robins which have two or even three, so I would have expected to see them again by now. Breeding is of course timed to coincide with the availability of insects to feed their young. xx

  8. Ellie says:

    I’ve noticed the same thing. We had a blue tit family nest in the garden last year and we hoped they would return – but I haven’t seen one! I do hope they weren’t killed off in great numbers last winter.

Leave a Reply

