Looking ahead

I’ve not spent anywhere near as much time on the plot as I would have liked over the past few weeks due to various reasons. That’s meant that the flower area in particular has become a jungle of  mostly grasses and weeds. It’s great for the wildlife but not surprisingly my plot neighbours are less happy, although they do appreciate why it’s got overgrown and know that I will sort it out!

Where I’ve harvested my early potatoes I’m going to dig it over and sow some green manures Buckwheat which according to the packet is deep rooting to break up subsoils and makes a lot of growth to increase humus content.

In the area where I pulled up the broad beans I’m now going to sow six quick growing oriental crops – Chinese Broccoli Kailaan,  Chinese Cabbage Green Rocket F1,  Choy Sum Tsai Hsin,  Pak Choi Tatsoi Tah Tsai,  Radish China Rose and Mustard Leaf Osaka Purple.

On Thursday I pulled the first few carrots which were crunchy and rather tasty, and some spring onions!

I was also pleased to see the first sunflowerSunflower 'giant single'

and these two pot marigolds Art Shades(?)DSCN1439

DSCN1471

There were lots of butterflies fluttering around but this Meadow Brown was the only one that settled long enough for me to get a photo ofDSCN1472

Georgie very kindly sent me some seeds recently including what she thought at the time were yellow pansies but which she now says are like this! If so then I’ll be delighted as that is a really lovely looking flower.

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Looking ahead

  1. Louise says:

    I would help on your allotment. I would love one myself to grow anything which turns out to be too giant in my garden, ie cephalaria, hollyhocks, fennel, raspberries etc. I have grown Art Shades over the years, a nice collection. I managed to snap a Comma the other day, but have failed with others! x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise thanks, that’s very kind! That sounds like a good idea to me.
      I like pot marigolds and will grow them again next year.
      It seems that butterflies are rather elusive to take photos of. xx

  2. Daphne says:

    I love sunflowers! I’ve just been away for a week and in that short time our garden has become our jungle – – sighhhhh.

  3. nikkipolani says:

    Wonderful sunflower shot, Flighty. I saw some in my garden center wanderings this weekend. Congrats on getting a photo of that butterfly! It’s been too hot here to do anything besides stand in the shade and water the thirsty plants. I have some that need to be planted, but perhaps will wait until we climb down from the 90s. Enjoy your week!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki thanks, they are such wonderful flowers!
      I either stand and watch butterflies flutter past me or chase all over the plot trying to photograph them.
      That’s way too hot for me! Thanks, you too! xx

  4. Georgie says:

    Thanks for the mention, Flighty.

    Lovely shots as usual, is that a tall variety of Sunflower?

    G x

    • Flighty says:

      Georgie you’re welcome!
      Thanks, yes it’s a giant single but I don’t know the particular variety. It’s about 5/6 feet high and the flower is the size of a dinner plate. xx

  5. That’s quite an oriental theme you’ve going on on your allotment Flighty. Love the sunflower, here there are none flowering, yet.

    Things are growing so fast at the mo we need to garden daily which isn’t always possible.

    cheerio, xx

    • Flighty says:

      Yolanda I think that I’ve been influenced by some of my plot neighbours!
      There should be some more sunflowers soon. I guess that yours will follow shortly.
      It seems that every time I turn round things have grown, and I wish that I could garden daily.
      Take care! xx

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Stumbled across this blog, Flighty, of experimental aircraft. Thought you might enjoy a peek.

    Unfortunately, our weather continues to hover around 90F. My co-worker lives farther inland and tells me it’s been around 106F there. ICK.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki many thanks! It’s amazing and I’ve never come across it before so you can guess what I’ll be doing the next few evenings!
      I sympathise, and hope that you’re managing to keep cool! xx

  7. What a nice sunflower shot. Your veggie selections sound delicious. Do you cook Asian style very often? Have not had success with carrots (never tasted like anything) but am glad to hear yours are coming up tasty.

    • Flighty says:

      Beginninghere thanks! I mostly cook basic, simple English food so I’m going to have to read up on these aren’t I!
      Carrots are problematical for many gardeners so I’m well pleased with my results! xx

  8. iheartfilm says:

    We finally got some sunflowers here. They’re looking quite nice, too. 🙂

  9. lady_drid says:

    I loved your photo of the sunflower. Your entries are always interesting ones. hugs.

  10. Lisa says:

    Beautiful flowers! I love the marigolds the most!

  11. Liz says:

    Gorgeous sunflower.

Leave a Reply

