Coast, and other items

It’s good to see  Coast returning with a new eight part series starting next week on BBC2 Tuesday at 8.00pm.  This fourth series sees a voyage of discovery not only around the British Isles but ventures, for the first time,  to the shores of some neighbouring countries as well.

I’ve always enjoyed these programmes, which continue with all the regular presenters including Neil Oliver, Alice Roberts, Nick Crane and Miranda Krestovnikoff.

I read this article which, not surprisingly,  dismayed and saddened me.  Fellow allotmenteers had this to say about it.

For all you chefs who get bored in the kitchen inbetween preparing your culinary delights you could perhaps do this!

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Coast, and other items

  1. Jennyta says:

    Ugh!! Ageism rears its ugly head again!

  2. nikkipolani says:

    The only thing good about these Guardian articles is that it raises awareness on these decisions made by council that seem to be without thought whatever. A handful of commentators offered better solutions seemingly off the tops of their heads! In any case, I’m glad to read that Council backed down and is letting her keep it for now.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it good that the Guardian does such articles. I do wonder why it is that council people are so often intractable and thoughtless. xx

  3. nikkipolani says:

    Hmmm. I don’t mean that awareness is the article’s only good. I meant the only good news in the article….

  4. daffy says:

    They are a fiesty lot those allotmenteers!

    I like Coast. Only watched it couple of times though as I find the host hard to listen to. (That’s probably just me… I once had a history teacher who spoke in mono-tone and I dozed over nearly every lesson!)
    .
    Let her keep her allotment, for goodness sake! The world has gone a little mad with it’s inflexible rules and regs!

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy I think that we need to be at times!
      At least it has various presenters so you’re not stuck with the one you’re not keen on for the whole programme.
      I agree that she should while she’s able and willing. Sadly it seems to get madder by the day! xx

  5. fraggle says:

    Ageism, I hate the way some people treat our elderly,but I won’t get on my soap box.I’m glad the council saw sense and allowed her to keep her plot. Have a good weekend x x

  6. nikkipolani says:

    What are the rules at your allotment, Flighty? Was it created at the time of victory gardens or simply for garden-people to have a space to garden, whatever their bent?

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I’m not sure when my allotment site started but the horticultural society was formed in 1939. I’ll try to find out and let you know.
      As to my allotment garden rules there are 15 general conditions of which just 2 really relate to growing – 1) …keep the allotment in a good state of cultivation, fertility and in good condition and 2) …shall not plant trees with the exception of espaliers, cordons and fans on dwarfing stock.
      There’s no actual mention of what should be grown although it’s generally accepted that it should be mainly vegetables and fruit based on the government’s booklet Allotments: a plot holder’s guide, but rules and regulations do vary widely country wide.
      Although it’s often felt that both the guidelines and rules should perhaps be updated there is the apprehension that doing so would be a nightmare with bureaucracy and health/safety issues overriding commonsense and practical issues.
      Happy gardening! xx

Leave a Reply

