Positively defrazzled!

Much as I would have liked to have followed Glo’s suggestion that I visit Shoreham-by-Sea to get defrazzled I opted to spend a couple of hours  pleasantly pottering instead.

Thankfully yesterday morning the weather was cooler, and less humid,  so I harvested some potatoes, a couple of red beetroot, lettuce leaves, a bowl full of delicious raspberries and the last of the sweet juicy strawberries. Plot neighbour Lesley kindly gave me a carton of blackcurrants, which I shall eat later on with a couple of scoops of vanilla ice cream.

There’s now lots of poppiesDSCN1453and pot marigolds Sherbert FizzDSCN1457

The bees love the flowering teaselsDSCN1451and how about this jewel of a beetle DSCN1455

Whilst wandering round I also saw two sparrows on the nut feeder, butterflies fluttering overhead and ladybirds loitering.

Thanks to cooler weather, some pleasant pottering and looking at enjoyable posts like Glo’s  Bright and ‘Cherry’ I’m feeling positively defrazzled!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Positively defrazzled!

  1. daffy says:

    Much better now huh!
    Lovely photos Flighty!

  2. crazykites says:

    that’s good news. what’s wrong with your hand? i kno that cold weather can affect joints but never heard of hot weather doing it.

  3. re says:

    The drop in temp is a bit of a relief, I think we were all beginning to get a little cranky. Glad to hear that you are feeling a bit better.

  4. Georgie says:

    Lovely photos, Flighty, and glad you are feeling better. BTW, are you sure those Calendula are ‘Art Shades’? They look like Sherbet Fizz to me. 🙂

    G x

    • Flighty says:

      Georgie thanks! I knew that they were one or the other, didn’t check and guessed wrong. My apologies, I feel rather guilty as the seeds came from you! xx

  5. Ah, glad to see the heat and humidity have let up for you. Funny, but I do not think of it being humid there… Anyway, glad you can be in your garden again. The bee certainly looks happy where he is!

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Absolutely gorgeous, Flighty! Those poppies of yours are doing so well. And that shot of the marigolds has me googling for seeds. Beautiful. I love the texture of the petals that you’ve captured.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki thanks! I was hoping to see more of both this morning but it started raining just as I arrived so turned round and came home. The forecast is looking good so later in the week…! xx

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Oh wait. I said I was going to stop seed shopping, didn’t I?? No! Couldn’t have been ME!

  8. Ellie says:

    Some good pickings for you, Mr. F – well done.

    I love those marigolds – I’ve made a note for next year – I assume they are annuals?

  9. Glo says:

    Happy to hear the weather is more to your liking and that you have been to the plot, although a little coach ride to the seaside could still be on your list of “things to do quite soon so I don’t continue to be pestered”. To heck with the Dr. ~ what does she know! Perhaps she could do with a little airing out herself, and a sea breeze could be prescribed for her as well! Now back to the plot ~ Your close-up photos really show off your flowers and creatures very clearly! I like your jewel-like bug ~ I recently took a photo of an iridescent looking flying thing as well which I’ll try and remember to post sometime. I’m wondering if your sweet peas are growing well like last year. Mine are only up about 12 inches. I have only 2 sunflowers and they are about 3′ high I’d say. It has started to rain which is a blessing for gardens and inhabitants. Sun will be back by Thursday.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo the weather has been much more to my liking since the weekend. I’ll leave a seaside trip on my list, but if I go it won’t be until September when it’s a lot less crowded.
      Thanks, I was really pleased with these photos as they are all too often blurry and unusuable!
      Sadly I’ve done very poorly with sweet peas this year, which was my fault entirely. I’ve some sunflowers just coming into flower.
      There’s been much needed rain here as well! xx

  10. Glo says:

    PS Thanks for linking my blog 🙂 Much appreciated ~

  11. Georgie says:

    LOL no need to feel guilty, Flighty, I get plant names mixed up all the time. I’m still waiting for mine to flower as I lost the first sowings to the slimies. 😦

    G x

    • Flighty says:

      Georgie I was just being lazy by guessing rather than checking, so next time….!
      I’m sorry to hear that and hope this lot do flower! xx

Leave a Reply

