It makes you think!

There’s nothing on TV next week that’s worth a mention so here are several blog posts of particular note that I’ve read during the week.

If you have, or can make, the time then it’s well reading all the various links and comments on them.

On Monday morning I read What’s wrong with an allotment plot full of flowers on the Guardian Gardening Blog with a sense of disbelief and dismay!  I did this on Allotments 4 All to see what fellow allotmenteers thought about it, then commented, as Sofaflyer, on the Guardian post. As a less-conventional allotmenteer  I really do sympathise with Chris Smallbone, who incidentally has his own excellent website Dig My Plot.

A couple of weeks ago lawn lounger Veg Plotting did this light-hearted guest post How to spot the arrival of summer on the Guardian’s Gardening Blog which sadly attracted some rather negative comments.  She was unable to respond to them as she was on holiday and comments were closed when she got back.  She has however repeated the post on her own blog along with her feelings about those remarks.

Yesterday Uphilldowndale did this thoughtful post Anon which is about something that could affect all bloggers, particularly those who do so anonymously. Likewise Maureen did this post British Court Rules Against Blogger Anonymity on her A View From Britain blog. I agree with what both of them say and fear that a lot of good blogs will not only stop, but probably be deleted as well.  If that happens it will another step in the wrong direction that this country seems so intent on taking. This morning these related articles were in the  GuardianTelegraph and  Times.

Ending on a light-hearted note I came across The Hairy Pot Plants well designed website this week which is well worth taking a peek at!

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to It makes you think!

  1. Maureen says:

    Thanks for the support and the link, Flighty! As you quite rightly say this could mean a lot of good blogs may be deleted and ” If that happens it will another step in the wrong direction that this country seems so intent on taking.”

    And I completely with your sense of disbelief and dismay after reading the Guardian blog about growing flowers on an allotment. I think it’s quite sad when the rules are so strictly enforced about growing flowers instead of vegetables.

    I’m going to read the VegPlotting blog now.

    Thanks again for such an interesting post!

    • Flighty says:

      Maureen you’re welcome! I’ve just edited this to include articles in three papers today.
      Obviously the subject of allotments is of particular interest to me and I’ll be following the story.
      Veg Plotting sadly suffered what many bloggers despair of namely crass, and often offensive, comments which a small number of people seem to delight in making.
      I’m glad you found this post of interest. xx

  2. ip says:

    Why is it that when something as wonderful as blogging comes along, there is always someone out there who wants to spoil it and ultimately destroy it?

  3. VP says:

    Hi Flighty – thanks for the link and Maureen’s already been over to have her say 🙂 I’d also been planning on blogging about the Blogger anonymity ruling, but I see Maureen’s beaten me to it! It’s only fair that I’ll hop on over to her’s now to have a look isn’t it?

    xxx

  4. daffy says:

    mmm I’m afraid I have a blogroll full of my own blogs to get through without adding more! haha. Time flies! Anyway, and I can’t comment on Maureens anymore so I took her off my reader. (sorry Maureen but I like to be able to comment on your posts)
    .
    I read the guest post and the comments regarding VP’s guest blog though…. People certainly have lots to say on the matter!
    .
    Anyway, have a great weekend, I’ll look forward to reading up on your plot updates next week. Here is to some good plotting weather for you!
    xx

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy fair enough, and even I’m struggling a bit to read everything at the moment! I’ll email you about commenting on Maureen’s blog.
      Too much to say in some cases!
      Thanks you too, let’s hope we all have some summer sunshine! xx

  5. nikkipolani says:

    I never really expect controversy over garden topics, but some of VP’s commenters were unnecessarily vitriolic — over a garden article? Please.

    And I agree with your commenters and you, Flighty, that blogging anonymity is a feature we have come to expect – I mean, we all want to share something of our lives or we wouldn’t be blogging. As for the unmasking of NightJack, “in the public interest” seems a bit of a stretch. Smacks of sensationalism.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it’s particularly irksome as VP’s guest blog was very light-hearted and should have been read as such.
      Unfortunately that’s so often typical of the media over here which is prepared to ride roughshod over peoples lives without any concern for the consquences. xx

  6. VP says:

    Hi Flighty – I popped over to Maureen’s as planned, a thoughtful piece on a thorny topic. I think most bloggers are safe from this, but as soon as we become controversial or successful, then well, beware! As you say, the people blogging about the NHS, Care, the services, mental health etc. will probably be deterred fom blogging in the future for fear of being ‘outed’. And the blogosphere will be blander and less rich as a result.

    I wanted to put that on Maureen’s blog, but can’t because Blogger for some reason kicks me out as soon as I hit the comment key. I hope Maureen comes back and reads this, so she realises how much I valued her post. Thanks for yours too and providing the links to both blog and media views in one place.

    PS Don’t you think it’s ironic that the majority of people who made comments on the media posts were also anonymous!
    xx

    • Flighty says:

      VP as you say it’s public service workers who should rightly be most concerned.
      I’ll email you about the problem commenting on Maureen’s blog.
      Re your PS I do indeed but it’s all too typical of such people. xx

  7. VP says:

    PPS Daffy and Nikki – thanks for adding your views on my experiences over here (and over at my blog in the case of Nikki) 🙂

  8. Olivia says:

    Hairy plot pants? Sorry! That’s what my eyes first saw when they read it. xx

    What makes a blogger anonymous? They take a totally new persona? Aren’t we all somewhat anonymous? (Not me so much though…)

  9. midwifemuse says:

    Gosh, it does make you think, I didn’t know that there could be so much controversy surrounding allotments. Mind you, whenever committees are formed anything simple is made as rule bound as possible to justify their existance.

    • Flighty says:

      Midwifemuse we have a self-appointed site rep who everyone ignores as he’s a little man with a big ego! Sadly he’s the one who loses out by being like that. Oh well that’s life…! xx

  10. VP says:

    Flighty – the comment debate continues over at mine. I’ve also linked to your piece here as in reality the debate about blogger anonymity is a much more important one. I feel you’ve already served us well by pointing out 2 thoughtful blogging posts on the matter and 3 media links where there’s lots of analysis and dozens of comments.

    I feel I can’t add any more to the debate by writing my own post on the subject – it’s all been said already.

    My post would have been titled ‘I’m VP and Proud of it’

    • Flighty says:

      VP so I see! Thanks for mentioning, and linking back to, this post.
      Me neither but I will mention any further articles of note about it that I come across.
      That’s a good post title, which perhaps you’ll use another time! xx

  11. Liz says:

    Oh dear, the allotment committees remind me of homeowners associations where you can’t do things like put a shed in your yard or park a truck in your driveway. Far too many rules and regs.

Leave a Reply

