It would be nice…

to say that the broad beans that I ate yesterday were ones that I grew on the plot.  Sadly that’s not so and it looks like I won’t be doing so either as mine are totally infested with blackfly. The first variety I sowed were so bad that I pulled them up during the week and got rid of them. In their place I’ve sowed  more beetroot and lettuce, and a packet of carrot Autumn King.

The other ones aren’t so bad, but that’s not saying much!  The ones I ate were kindly given to me by plot neighbour Joe, being ones he planted last November. Even these weren’t that good as despite having plenty of long pods they contained surprising few fully grown beans.

I had six courgette seeds, two of which I gave to Joe and of the other four just one appeared only for it to be completely nibbled away!  I’ve been given a few more  so I’ll try again.

On a happier note I’ve had potatoes, lettuce leaves, lots of strawberries  and today I ate my first raspberry.

It’s good to see the birds again now they’ve finished nesting, and last week a jay flew across the allotments and there was wren perched on top of a bundle of bamboo canes singing it’s heart out. I keep seeing sparrows on the non-flowering Iceberg rose,  presumably eating the greenflies.Sparrow on rose bush

Apparently Missy Fox had four cubs a few months ago, a bit later than usual probably due to the cold weather, but sadly one of them was found dead  during the week. It looked okay so we guess that it had been poisoned. Last year’s cub Digger is still around and certainly living up to his name!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to It would be nice…

  1. fraggle says:

    I’m on way back from air show.red arrows as spectacular as usual, robin got himself a postcard/photo autographed by the leader of the red arrows then asked him to do another for you! which I’ll pop in the post. X x

    • Flighty says:

      Fraggle it sounds like you had yourselves a good day. Thank Robin for doing that, it’ll have pride of place on the shelf when I get it! xx

  2. Georgie says:

    Hi Flighty

    Sorry to hear about your Broad Beans. I noticed a few black fly on one plant today but nothing much to concern me and also my first pod forming. And that’s on the seeds you sent me. There are no black fly on Crimson Flour’d – you said you’d heard that they were more resistant – but I’ll keep a close eye on both. If it get bad I’ll pinch out the tips and give the plants a blast with the hosepipe.

    G x

    • Flighty says:

      Georgie thanks! I got rid of the rest this morning and I’m now debating if I should sow some more this week. You can tell how bad it was as I pitched the tips out and sprayed them all of which made no difference!
      I’m now keeping a close eye on the runner beans as I like these much more than broad beans! xx

  3. nikkipolani says:

    That’s too bad about your beans, Flighty. But garden casualties will happen. One year, I got an infestation of tomato hornworms that so grossed me out, I just took down the two big plants. Congrats on the first raspberry!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it certainly is! There’s always highs and lows every year, and these are definitely the latter!
      I had a couple more raspberries this morning, and lots more strawberries. It’s clearly going to be a good year for soft fruit, as there lots of berries forming on the blackberries as well. xx

  4. fraggle says:

    We did have a lovely time, they had to close gates as so many people there, the last plane to fly was really loud scared the younger children, I think it was a Vulcan x x

  5. Glo says:

    Good to hear that you had a taste of your first raspberry of the year ~ that would cheer you up after the bean experience! Also fortunate that fellow allotmenteers (is that a word?) share their harvests!

    Interesting about the baby foxes! 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Glo it looks like there’ll be lots of strawberries, raspberries and blackberries which is good!
      It is indeed and fellow allotmenteers are generally very generous.
      I’ll be keeping an eye out for the foxes! xx

  6. mrs K says:

    Plant nasturtiums right beside your runner bean plants. Old fashioned but it does work quite well and stops major infestations.

    Old fashioned Marigolds under roses for greenfly.

    Don’t ask, my Grandfather taught me and I am now 71.

    And spray with soapy water – neither black or greenfly like it.

    • Flighty says:

      Mrs K the allotment site has suffered a major blackfly infestation this year and despite trying all these it really made little difference, especially to the broad beans. I’m told that it’s never been as bad as this so hopefully it is a one-off and that it’ll be better next year. xx

  7. re says:

    Pity the sparrows didn’t eat the blackfly on the broadbeans huh?

  8. Louise says:

    I always sow courgettes/squash in pots before planting out, and make sure they are a good size before doing so. Good luck with your next batch. We have been eating strawberries and raspberries from the patch, and the redcurrants and gooseberries are coming along nicely. What about Digger, rather a pest really! x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise I must start doing that! Thanks.
      It’s a good year for soft fruit by the look of it.
      He is a bit of one but I’m prepared to put up with his antics, at least for the moment! xx

  9. Ellie says:

    How annoying about the broad beans. I’ve had a similarly miserable crop – well, I haven’t had a crop because I pulled up all my stunted plants. I’ve noticed that the autumn sown beans don’t seem to be as badly affected, so I’ll try that this autumn.

    (First raspberry – very impressed!)

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie it certainly is. I’ve got some seeds left over so I’m going to plant them today. It’s late I know but fingers crossed! I think that I’ll do the same.
      Thanks, and a few more since! xx

  10. Liz says:

    Ah, “digger” has appeared, you mentioned him when I told you about my dog that likes to dig. So he’s still around in 2015!

Leave a Reply

