The wild side

I’ve now got lots of different grasses on the plot which look goodDSCN1283

I’m also pleased to see two teasels growing in the wild flower cornerDSCN1297They hold water in the leavesDSCN1295which insects drink from. They’re also a plant to stay well clear of as they are very thorny, on both the stems and the leaf undersidesDSCN1296Later on in the year I may even be lucky enough to see goldfinches extracting seeds from the flower heads.

I’ve given up trying to grow anything  in the pallet patio window box at present because as you can see a fox keeps on digging it up!

Last week I was pleased to see,  for the first time,  a couple of house sparrows foraging on the plot.

Tomorrow sees the start of the RSPB’s  Make Your Nature Count event which I’m sure that anyone who does the Big Garden Birdwatch will enjoy doing just as much.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The wild side

  1. daffy says:

    I must admit your photographs are lovely! I think you have a good eye!
    Allen said he saw a fox the other morning at the bottom of our garden, now I’d like to see that!
    I think Andy and I might have a go at the ‘Make your nature count’ thing… there is plenty to record at the moment!
    Good luck with the goldfinches! ;o)

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy thanks, now what I really need is a good camera to go with my good eye!
      Just bear in mind that it was probably looking for your rabbits so perhaps you’d rather not.
      Good for you, and I’m certain that I’d records lots more than I did for Birdwatch!
      Thanks again, you’ll be the first to know if I’m lucky enough to see any. xx

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Wow, those spikes are something else! They look as prickly as rose thorns. I’m not sure I can tell the size of the plant — do birds drink out of those little water-holding crevices?

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki believe me they are! They’re about four feet tall. I don’t think birds chance trying to drink water from them, especially as there are plenty of other sources available to them. xx

  3. nikkipolani says:

    Yes, I suppose I could see birds getting tangled up in those leaves and spikes. There’s a nearly thornless rose called Reine des Violettes that looks demure enough until you put your fingers around a leaf — the undersides have prickles!

  4. Those grasses are very nice and i like the teasels too especially that they provide watering holes for insects. Very handy!

    cheerio, xx

    • Flighty says:

      Yolanda I love the various grasses for their shape and colour, but they aren’t easy to get good photos of! It’s the first time that I’ve seen teasels close up and find them most impressive! xx

  5. Louise says:

    The grasses in my garden are doing well this year. A great observation of how teasels hold water, something I haven’t ever seen. I saw a fox walking at the top of my garden the other evening and notice the pots of bulbs have been overturned. Today I have been watching sparrow fledglings being fed by the parents, and young starlings. I have goldfinches in the garden this year too, I love the ‘tink’ sound they make as they fly. x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise I love to see various grasses! I’ve never had a good at teasels like this either.
      It’s great once the young birds have fletched and we start seeing them out and about.
      Lucky you as I’ve not seen any foxes for some time, and I rarely ever see goldfinches! xx

  6. Georgie says:

    As nice as your Teasels are, Flighty, I’m glad I decided against growing some in my garden as I’m sure they could so a lot a damage to an active and curious two year old!

    Love the water rention though. Wild Poppies are similar and I saw a bumble bee bathing on mine the other day. 😀

    G x

    • Flighty says:

      Georgie they are impressive plants but looking at the scratches on my hand I reckon that was a wise decision!
      It’s wonderful to watch insects like that. xx

  7. ip says:

    I let my lawn go uncut for a couple of weeks recently and was astonished and delighted at the number of grasses, buttercups, and daisies which gave a wonderful sight.

    Maybe, sometimes we are too cruel with nature and shouldn’t always want to make it conform to our bowling-green lawns, and straight edges.

    • Flighty says:

      Ip my mum was always happy to have a lawn like that unlike dad who preferred it to be like a bowls green. Hence we had we two lawns!
      I agree with your last comment!

Leave a Reply

