Flowering, fluttering and firkling

The love-in-a-mist had started flowering by yesterdayDSCN1246 which Beginninghere will be pleased to see.

The Pretty Lady roses are on the wayDSCN1241 whilst one Valentine Heart is already bloomingDSCN1236

On Thursday morning I was doing some weeding and kept noticing brown butterflies fluttering past me, although none settled on the plot.  I got the camera and went walkabout finding this one  sunning itself on a nearby pathDSCN1217 Once home I identified it as a Painted Lady which according to this have been seen in very large numbers over much of the country during the past week.  Whilst taking photos of the roses I turned round to see this one on the nearby perennial cornflowerDSCN1243 It’s amazing as I’ve seen more butterflies in the past couple of days than I have in the past few years!

My Swift early potatoes have now been in the ground ten weeks so this morning, after hut duty,  I went firkling and found these under one plant,DSCN1255 of which the smallest one is about the size of a golf ball. I brought them home and for lunch had a few boiled along with a cod and parsley fish cake and some (frozen) vegetable mix. Very tasty! That was followed by some of plot neighbour Brian’s rhubarb with a couple of scoops of vanilla icecream.

I’m grateful to A Midwife’s Muse for giving me a One Lovely Blog Award. I shall do a seperate post about that during the next week or so.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Flowering, fluttering and firkling

  1. Maureen says:

    Your allotment is coming along very nicely, Flighty. I’m impressed! Great photos too. It’s encouraging news about seeing more butterflies .

    And I learned a new word – firkling – thanks to you! What a fun word!

    Lovely post -thanks for sharing. I can see why you’ve earned a One Lovely Blog Award. You deserve it!

    • Flighty says:

      Maureen thanks, so am I!
      It looks like a good year for butterflies.
      I came across firkle on the Allotments4All forum, where they use it for having a feel around in the earth with your hand to find any potatoes. As you say a fun word. I’ve also seen the word furtle used.
      You’re welcome, and thanks again! xx

  2. Glo says:

    Fantastic, fragrant and flavourful! Your roses are beautiful ~ mine are still in buds, so it’s encouraging to see your blooms 🙂 Those firkled potatoes look perfectly delicious ~ sounds like they were a tasty part of a yummy meal. One day you’ll be adding beans to the plate ~ did you plant peas, I forget?

    Pretty Lady and Painted Lady both in one post! I have been reading about the inundation of Painted Lady butterflies ~ interesting.

    Enjoyed looking at the pretty plot pictures 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks, talk about lots of f’s and p’s! The roses clearly like the sunny, warm weather.
      The potatoes were all you say! There’ll be broad and runner beans, with different varieties of potatoes, later on. No I didn’t sow peas this year but they are on the list to possibly grow next year.
      The sight of so many butterflies fluttering by was really wonderful.
      I’m glad that you did, and thanks again! xx

  3. Pingback: Posts about Butterflies as of May 31, 2009 | Sixways - Butterfly

  4. nikkipolani says:

    Flighty! I’m thrilled that you are getting more butterfly visitors 😀 And the flowers look lovely — may they bloom long this season. Glad you took that photo of the newly dug up potatoes as they look completely flawless. Like you, I missed pea-growing-season and will try next year.

  5. Louise says:

    Great photos Flighty. My garden is full of painted ladies, and love in the mist. Quite romantic really! I love freshly dug potatoes, boiled with lots of butter. x

  6. Chippy says:

    Nice photo’s Mike, glad to see everything coming on so well….
    And there’s nowt wrong with a good firkle !! 😆

  7. nikkipolani says:

    BTW, I meant to and forgot to remark on how gorgeous the foliage is on Valentine Heart — shiny and healthy. You know I have a thing for pretty leaves 😉

  8. Gerry says:

    So many pretty views, but the thing that caught me was, of course, the potatoes. They look so good . . .

    • Flighty says:

      Gerry thanks! They tasted pretty good as well, and are the first of four varieties I planted that should keep me going until October! Cheers.

  9. Olivia says:

    Ooh Flighty, I need to catch up! I like the pointy cornflower, and I trust your potatoes are delicious, however you prepare them.

    Firkling made me laugh because it reminded me of the naughty Victorian pastime of “furtling”. I dare anyone who read that to look it up! xx

  10. Liz says:

    It just gets better by the week!

Leave a Reply

