A look round

Both the Pretty Lady and Valentine Heart roses have lots of buds on them, this will be the first of the latter to bloom DSCN1193

Bees drink from the pond and take nectar from the creeping buttercups that surround itDSCN1195Incidently the pond looked like this a month ago when I saw a pigeon drinking from it!

The first Love-in-a -mist will be starting to flower soonDSCN1196

My Swift early potatoes have been in the ground nine weeks so I’m leaving it another week before I have a gentle firkle!DSCN1199

A few days of warm sunshine and I’ll soon be eating some strawberriesDSCN1200

Both the green ButtercrunchDSCN1202and red Lollo Rossa lettuces are looking goodDSCN1201

The broad beans have flowers on them, these are the variety Masterpiece Green Longpod DSCN1203

The Jerusalem artichokes that plot neighbour Mary gave me are growing wellDSCN1204

On Friday afternoon in the warm sunshine the bees were buzzing all around, especially on the comfryDSCN1205I shall leave it to finish flowering before cutting it right back.  It’ll soon grow, and flower, again.  The spent foliage will be added to the compost heap.

I hope that you all enjoyed a look round the plot!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A look round

  1. daffy says:

    I did indeed, the colours are lovely and it’s lovely for you to ‘plot’ your progress here.
    I liked the yellow ones, and the reddy stuff looks lovely.
    Not sure about the green strawbs tho!
    Thank you for my Sunday morning stroll around the plot!

  2. My potential love-in -a-mist has only just got out of the packet!

    • Flighty says:

      Uphilldowndale this is a self-seeded one from last year. I was surprised to read that Love-in-a-mist seed takes just over a month to germinate! xx

  3. Glo says:

    Oh, a rose bud! Isn’t that exciting? I don’t know if mine are that big, but I’ll take photos after work tomorrow and check! A green thumb award to you ~ with your lettuce plants looking so crispy ~ have you had a nibble? My strawberries are still in flower, but I’ll check them again tomorrow as well. You must be well chuffed to see such wonderful growth on the plot! Looking forward to seeing the first potato plucked from the warm earth!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo there’s about a dozen on each one, not all that big though!
      Thanks for the award, and yes I tried a leaf off each and found them very tasty.
      I find it amazing how everything is growing, and I’m well chuffed with it all.
      Me too, but we’ll have to wait until next weekend for that! xx

  4. Gerry says:

    I can almost feel the sunshine and taste the tender lettuce. It was fun to have a look round. Thank you.

    • Flighty says:

      Gerry hello, and thanks for stopping by. It’s been sunny and warm all weekend. The lettuce are still small and need a few more weeks growth yet.
      I’m glad that you enjoyed looking round. Cheers.

  5. nikkipolani says:

    That was very satisfying, Flighty. Lovely to see progress and change. I love the delicate but bright accents that the buttercups make. Your lettuces are looking amazingly good — do you have 24 hr guard on them to keep the snails away?! And hurrah for roses — hope you get a good round of blooms this year.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I’m glad that you enjoyed it! It is indeed. Seen from a distance they really stand out.
      Thanks, fingers crossed I seem quite lucky as far as slugs and snails are concerned.
      If the roses are as good as last year I’ll be well pleased. xx

  6. Georgie says:

    Flighty I just love the natural look you have achieved with your pond with the simple but very effective circle of Buttercups: it’s good to hear that the wildlife are enjoying it too. And all your plants are looking really healthy. Well done!

    G x

    • Flighty says:

      Georgie I left a few round the pond and I’m glad I did as it looks good now it’s grown and flowered!
      Most are pretty good thankfully. Thanks! xx

  7. The growth in your garden is looking good. So many things coming up! I am especially looking forward to the Love-in-a-mist blooms.

    • Flighty says:

      Beginninghere thanks! They are indeed, including the weeds.
      I’ll make sure that I take, and post, some pictures when they do bloom. xx

  8. Hosta says:

    Its all looking good Flighty !

    You will be pleased to know that the beans you sent me are through and still alive….. so far so good !

    Thanks again.

  9. mylozmom says:

    thanks for the look around. horrible that I haven’t been around pretty much at ALL but i’m getting back into it! I’ll send you a message to explain some day soon!
    glad to see you are still up to your good ol’garden! can’t wait for mine to look like that!

  10. Liz says:

    How lovely to see your garden thriving. I love broad beans but don’t grow them in the States. Trader Joe’s (grocery chain based in California) opened a store here a couple of years ago and it’s been the only place I’ve found broad beans — frozen–but good, with memories of “home”. Trader J’s also carried Brussels sprouts on the stem in late fall– a wonderful sight and purchase!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz thanks, have to agree with you. Me too, I and generally don’t do too bad with them. I don’t think that I’ve ever seen frozen ones sold over here. I don’t grow Brussels sprouts, although I like them xx

Leave a Reply

