Plenty of plotting

I’ve been making the most of the continuing good weather by doing plenty of plotting every day last week.

Part of the vegetable area now looks like this with the potatoes, onions and broad beans  all growing welldscn1168I shall be sowing more beetroot, carrots, lettuce and spring onions soon, then the runner beans and sweetcorn around mid-month and  the courgettes and cucumbers towards the end of the month,  but not transplanting my two  Gardener’s Delight tomatoes until early June.  By then my first early potatoes may be ready to start harvesting!  The yellow flowers at the top left are my plot neighbour Lesley’s wallflowers.

Much of last week was spent preparing the flower area then sowing lots of packets of seeds.  It looks pretty bare at presentdscn1172but the  aquilegias have started flowering including one with white flowers, unlike its parent which you can see is purple.  The yellow flowers around the pond, and towards the top right hand corner, are  creeping buttercups which are weeds! Incidently honeybees use the pond to drink from so there’s always some buzzing round it.

Here’s another view of the flower areadscn1169The grape vine, just visible beside the log seat, seems much happier in the ground and I shall run it across the side of the compost bin at mid-height and along the top.

Brian, who has the adjacent plot,  gave me some rhubarb which I’ve not eaten for ages. Much as I like crumble I made do with simmering it,  making sure that it didn’t go mushy, then eating it with just a sprinkling of demerara sugar. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it.  Next year I should be growing and eating my own as Joe has several clumps of it one of which he doesn’t want and will give it to me when he digs it up later in the year.

My wildlife highlight of the week happened yesterday. I could hear a lot of quacking and looked up to see four mallard ducks, a female being pursued by three males, landing on a nearby plot. They then waddled off along one of the grass paths before taking to the air again heading straight for me at little more than head height continuing overhead and on towards the ecology park pond.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Plenty of plotting

  1. Maureen says:

    Wow – it all looks excellent especially the vegetable area. Well done, Flighty!

  2. Love the overview pics of your plot, I now have a much better idea of how everything looks. It’s really greening up! Columbines are in flower here too in pink, purple, white and yellow.

    Glad you will get some rhubarb plants for next year as it is so delicious to eat.

    cheerio, xx

    • Flighty says:

      Yolanda thanks! It seems that every day when I go there everything has visibly grown! Last year there was just one columbine, this year a handful and next year…
      My plot neighbours have always said to help myself to some of their rhubarb but it’ll be nice to grow, and eat, my own.
      Take care, and happy gardening! xx

  3. Chippy says:

    Looking good Mike, nice to see stuff growing and a bit of sunshine!!

  4. Ellie Gant says:

    Hi Mr F

    You are still way ahead of me – well done, it’s looking great. My new plot is still at the weed tackling stage and needs more work, so my broad beans and potatoes aren’t a patch on yours. x

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie hello and thanks! I’ve spent a lot of time there plotting recently which makes all the difference.
      There’s still plenty of weeds on mine as well!
      Happy plotting! xx

  5. Georgie says:

    Hi flighty

    My, you have been busy! It all looks very healthy and well-organised. What are the blue flowers in the last picture please?

    G x

  6. daffy says:

    *Nods in total agreement*
    Rhubarb is lovely but not it a pie. Wrapped in newspaper with lashings of suger!
    Well I’ve done a spot of gardening myself. I found a spot… I sat… in the garden. hehe
    I saw a wren today! my first! I saw it twice. I also got my stinky starling friends back!

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy thanks! That’s uncooked is it, and why the newspaper?
      That’s the best sort of gardening!
      Lucky you as they do tend to be difficult to spot. I see plenty of starlings as well. xx

  7. crazykites says:

    very big plot! how long have you had it now? my mum started planting a few things but i think she has some fear about how they’ll turn out. my grandad was green fingered but my mum doesn’t think she’s inherited it. i’m still to see how i am! what are your main successes/failures? any general tips for newbees?

    • Flighty says:

      Crazykites it may look big but it’s only a half plot about 30 by 60 feet!
      Tell your mum not to worry as we have successes and failures.
      Last year my runner beans did really well but the few carrots that did grow weren’t even the size of my little finger!
      Keep it simple, try anything, follow the instructions and keep your fingers crossed! xx

  8. Olivia says:

    It seems ages since I saw a photo of yours that had sunshine in it! xx

    • Flighty says:

      Olivia there’s been plenty of sunshine! It appears that I’ve too busy plotting or that there’s been nothing to take pictures of! xx

  9. Glo says:

    The plot is looking terrific, showing what plenty of plotting can do! Nice to have wallflowers nearby 🙂 Your vegetables look like they’re coming along as they should. How fortunate that the weather has been cooperating during these early stages of planting. You’ve got off to a great start ~ I’ve planted sweet peas, so this year I have them in early (hope not too early). I even went the next day to see if there was any sign of growth…(good grief!) So that’s the big pond ~ the Bee Pond ~ is the first Frog one visible on these photos?

  10. Flighty says:

    Glo many thanks! Yes the wallflowers look good there.
    Everything is growing well, but has been nibbled here and there! The weather really has been just about perfect for plotting recently.
    I’ve sowed some sweet peas but no sign of them yet. We all look the next day don’t we even knowing that there won’t be any signs of growth!
    The frog pond is just out of the first photo towards the top right hand side. I’ll include one of that area sometime soon. xx

  11. daffy says:

    Newspaper? Well usually because we got it fresh from the ground of the gardeners and newspaper was about the only thing the gardeners had to wrap it in… sugar you ask? Well every gardener has a kettle, sugar and teabags! haha

  12. nikkipolani says:

    How organized and lovely your garden is looking, Flighty. I love all that spring green popping up all around. I sowed actually quite a lot of sweetpeas earlier (Jan) but it looks like a lost cause now because it’s much too late in the season (too hot). Looking forward to seeing yours and Glo’s instead!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki many thanks! I watered it all early this morning then it rained later on, which will certainly make everything grow!
      I’m sorry to hear about your sweet peas so let’s hope Glo and I have better luck! xx

  13. Lovely to see the plot filling up with greenery now that the sun is showing its face.

    • Flighty says:

      Northernwindowgardener thanks! After a week or of sunshine today was dull, and there even some rain! That will make it even greener.

  14. How nice to see your plot greening up with fresh growth. I am sure you will have lots to photograph. Since I cannot have my own vegetable garden I am especially enjoying yours—ha! All that lovely sun and green looks so pleasant. Do plot owners ever have a market or swop veggies at harvest time?

    • Flighty says:

      Beginninghere thanks, and I’m sure that I will!
      It’s not been so sunny this week unfortunately. Plot owners should only grow for their own consumption, but sometimes giving away of any surplus does happen. xx

  15. Louise says:

    You really must grow rhubarb Flighty. If I had a plot I would have a very large clump. Only the other morning as I stepped outside on my way to work I saw four mallards fly over our place. x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise I will now that I’ve found that I quite like it! Plot clumps appear to be all rather large!
      It seems that we’ve all been seeing ducks lately. xx

  16. deyank says:

    The Mallards that stopped by my house were really large ones. I got to within 15 feet of them before they got nervous and waddled away from me. I’m going to use these pictures to paint up a couple of my decoys for this fall.

  17. deyank says:

    Yep. They appear to be the heavy bombers in the duck world.

    Bill

  18. isadora says:

    The plot is looking great Mr Flighty :yes:

  19. Liz says:

    Your plot looks magnificent, well-tended, and ready for a spurt of growth. It is January as I write and the thought of rhubarb, particularly rhubarb strawberry pie, is particularly appealing right now!

Leave a Reply

