Islands, gardening and snow!

Martin Clunes: Islands of Britain is a new  three part series starting on ITV1 Sunday at 9.oopm with 1/3. The North in which the actor heads to the most remote islands in Scotland.

How Britain Got the Gardening Bug is on BBC2 Tuesday at 8.30pm in which Caroline Quinton narrates this programme looking at the country’s interest in all things horticultural since the Second World War.

I missed Cruickshank on Kew: The Garden That Changed the World on Tuesday evening but I’m pleased to see that it’s being shown again next Wednesday on BBC2 at 7.00pm.

Also on BBC2 Wednesday at 9.00pm is Snow an engaging  documentary which looks at the science, history and mythology of the white stuff.

That reminds me that I want to read the  novel Death Wore White by Jim Kelly.   I’ve enjoyed his previous five books which all feature a journalist unlike this one which switches to two police officers.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Islands, gardening and snow!

  1. VP says:

    I caught How Britain Got The Gardening Bug the first time it was repeated. It’s well worth a look.

    I’m glad they’re repeating Snow – the companion programmes on Rain and Wind were the kind of thing the BBC does best.

    Have a great weekend!
    x

    • Flighty says:

      VP I shall make sure that I watch it as you say it’s worth doing so.
      I enjoyed Rain last night, which I found interesting and informative, and I’m looking forward watching the other two.
      Thanks, you too! xx

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Sounds like some good television coming up 🙂 I’ve been listening to some Patricia Cornwell mysteries to/from work. Makes me look forward to my commute!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it certainly looks like it!
      I read a lot of her early books but then went off the later ones so stopped reading them!
      Anything that helps makes a commute less stressful has got to be a good thing. xx

  3. Chippy says:

    Thanks for the info Mike, I’m presently pondering new things to do, I received some gifts today….. check my blog……. 🙄

  4. fraggle says:

    I’ve got a half finished back garden and finished front which is nearly as big as the back one, and lots of broken nails and achey back, but it is looking nicer. Have a good weekend x x

  5. I would so like to watch the shows on the Islands of Britain, Kew, and the Gardening Bug. And the documentary on snow too. Such interesting programs. To me those kinds of shows are almost interesting but sometimes give me the bug to travel!

    • Flighty says:

      Beginninghere I watch very little on TV apart from programmes like these.
      I have little incentive to travel nowadays but can understand how they can give you itchy feet! xx

  6. Olivia says:

    I’ve missed so much!

    Thanks for the mention further down the page.
    I’m glad you’ve got a new-ish computer and mouse.
    And I do like Dan Cruikshank. He has such passion for the things upon which he expounds.
    xx

    • Flighty says:

      Olivia thanks okay! You’ve been busy with the job and otherwise occupied so it’s understanderable.
      So am I glad that I’ve got a newish one as I no longer sit here and grind my teeth in exasperation!
      Yes I like him as well.
      Enjoy your weekend! xx

  7. Glo says:

    They all sound like great shows. It would be fascinating to see the outer islands of Scotland, so I must see if the series might appear on our Knowledge Network.

    Of course, I had to look up the book Death Wore White, and found an excerpt…then the first six chapters on line…so what did I do…I read them, didn’t I? A different style of writing, I thought ~ quite descriptive, if not overly so…but very effective. Did you get it from your library?

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I hope that they come up to expectations!
      I read them as well on Thursday as I’ve not yet read the book, which I’ll probably borrow from the library. His five earlier books, all set in Ely and the fens, are good and are best read in sequence starting with The Water Clock. xx

Leave a Reply

