PC, Plot and TV

I got another, second-hand, PC and monitor yesterday morning along with a new,  for free,  mouse. After lunch when it was all tidied up and reconnected I sat down and spent the rest of the day setting it up and down loading various programmes.  Anyway it’s all working fine and it’s good not to have it keep freezing up on me.

I was on hut duty this morning when Mary, a plot neighbour, came in for some eight foot bamboo canes.  She mentioned that she had something for me so I carried the canes across to her plot to see what it was.  She said that she hoped I would like it, which I do,  and  would find it a good home on my plot, which I have.  So meet  Fox Juniordscn1153who has taken up residency by the log pile.

I’ve been plotting every day last week, mostly sowing flower seeds, so today I just pottered. Whilst doing so Margo, another  neighbour,  gave me a couple of clumps of  forget-me-notsdscn1155and some day lilies, all of which I planted and watered in.

That’s all I did except to mulch around the strawberries which now have lots of flowers on themdscn1160

There are two interesting looking programmmes on TV next week.  On BBC2 Tuesday  at 9.00pm is Cruickshank on Kew: the Garden that changed the World and on BBC2 Wednesday at 9.00pm is Rain, a documentary which explores the science and significance of rain.

I hope to do my meme entry on  Six Plants I Can’t Live Without on Tuesday, that is if I’ve decided which ones they are by then!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to PC, Plot and TV

  1. Maureen says:

    That’s excellent news about getting a second-hand PC and monitor and getting reconnected already. You must be so relieved that it’s all sorted so quickly.

    I’m looking forward to reading about your six plants you can’t live without!

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Well, that was fast! And nice not to have computer troubles at least for a while. Welcome to Fox Junior! Think Fox Newton will mind having a friend? As for your strawberry plants, they are looking well, indeed. I saw some wild strawberry blooms on my walk yesterday. Will post the pics soon I as get the 400 or so sorted and selected. Have a sunny week, Flighty 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it was a long day getting it all sorted out! I certainly hope that’s it for a long time!
      Fox Junior is rather heavy so I reckon that he’ll be okay.
      It looks like being a good year for strawberries, and other fruit, judging by the amount of blossom.
      Thanks, you too, although it looks like it’s going to be a bit showery most days. xx

  3. fraggle says:

    I’m glad you got your pc sorted and really quickly.six plants you can’t live without I’d have a hard job choosing! I was watering my plants today and spoke to Isaac when a young boy walking past said are you talking to your plants,I said no to my son and he told me he thought I was talking to them to help them grow and he said that some flowers are called Isaac, which was a new one to me?he was either pulling my leg or very good with plants x x

  4. Chippy says:

    Nice to see you’ve been busy and getting the plot in order Mike……
    When you get a spare minute pop over to my blog, I need some suggestions…..
    LOL

  5. Glo says:

    It’s a strange feeling when your computer goes kaput, isn’t it? It’s become such an important means of communication, among other things, that a person can feel quite lost without it. It didn’t take you long to get things up and running, although I’m sure Saturday was a bit eye-boggling as you did what needed to be done! As you say, hopefully it will last for a long time. Your mouse link didn’t work for me ~

    Now, how about that! Fox Junior ~ cool 🙂 I’m sure he’s found the perfect plot to take up residence. How nice of your plot friend to think of you. Also the forget-me-nots were a pleasant surprise I’m sure, and they tend to spread and come up all over the place. I think they’re very sweet flowers, with their dainty blue petals. Your strawberries are doing very well, and although they’re not your favorite berry, I’m sure a sun-warmed strawberry would go down very well!

    It was another beautiful day today, and I finished weeding the rose garden for now, planted the other two roses I bought at the nursery, cleaned out a window box and put in some pansies, etc. and just enjoyed the fresh air and exercise that accompanies gardening!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo you’re quite right in what you say and it’s only when that happens that it hits home how much we use them! Yes the day ended with me having very tired eyes. Sorry about the link, which works fine for me.
      Mary was delighted that I like Fox Junior. I’ll be happy for the forget-me-nots to self seed over the plot. I’m looking forward to picking and eating the first strawberry!
      It’s good to know that you had a worthwhile day in the garden.
      Have a good week! xx

  6. Mrs K says:

    God named all the plants when a tiny unnamed one cried out, “Forget-me-not, O Lord!” God replied, “That shall be your name.

    I like this version of how the flower got his name. There are a couple of others. I just love them and the way they spread and take-over given time.

    • Flighty says:

      Mrs K hello! That’s a lovely story as to how this delightful plant got its name.
      I don’t mind flowers like this that self-seed everywhere! xx

  7. Good to read you’re back up and running so quickly. Never good when something like that throws a spanner in the works. There’s enough to be getting on with without electronic problems.
    Thanks for sharing the lovely pics as well.

    • Flighty says:

      Northernwindowgardener I was relieved that I got it all sorted as I did! Too right, and thankfully it wasn’t really plotting weather on Saturday either.
      You’re welcome, I’m glad you like them. Cheers!

  8. A second monitor is always nice. And a trouble free computer is sweet indeed. Your new little fox looks at home already. The forget-me-nots are such a nice shade of blue. I can’t remember…do they spread? A nice colorful addition. Now strawberries…mmmm. Are you going to share? The upcoming shows sound interesting, and the documentary on rain especially. You can tell us everything you learn 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Beginninghere it actually replaced the other monitor which went snap, crackle, pop when I turned it back on Saturday lunch-time!
      I made sure Junior got nicely settled in.
      Yes forget-me-nots seed everywhere, which I don’t mind at all. I’ll be happy to share the strawberries but will be rather more reluctant to do so with the raspberries!
      I’m looking forward to watching those programmes, next week’s is all about snow! xx

  9. fraggle says:

    I’ve done a bit of research I think the boy was on about scabiosa Isaac house blend also known as pin cushion flowers, learn something new everyday x x

Leave a Reply

