Just vegetables

Although I’ve been digging, weeding and tidying up all over the plot it’s the vegetable areas that I’ve been concentrating on.

I’ve now planted all four varieties of potatoes, of which the first earlies Swift * are  all showingdscn1123

The onions are  showing signs of growth, as are most of the broad beans Masterpiece Green Longpod dscn1115 which grow to 120-150cm and mature July onwards.

Another broad bean Witkiem Manita* I planted later, and which are just starting to appear, only grows to 60cm and matures June onwards.

Yesterday I sowed a row each of beetroot Cylindra and Burpee’s Golden, carrots Little Fingers and Tendersnax F1 Hybrid, and spring onions Summer Isle. I’ll sow another row of each in a few weeks time.  I’ve also got lettuce Buttercrunch and  Lollo Rossa to sow.

The runner beans White Emergo won’t get sown until around this time next month. As last year I’ll use a wigwam of  eight canes and a double row of  eight canes. The sweetcorn Golden Bantam will be sown then as well.

Still to come are courgette All Green Bush, cucumber Bush Crop and tomato Gardener’s Delight.

I’ve also got some other vegetable seeds, including pumpkin Hooligan F1 Hybrid and butternut squash Hunter F1, which I may try growing.

* Georgie, in her Little London Garden,  is growing in containers a few of the same potatoes and broad beans,  which I sent her. It’ll be interesting to see how they compare given such different growing conditions.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Just vegetables

  1. Maureen says:

    My, you have been very busy! I’m impressed.

  2. daffy says:

    Goodness! So much stuff about stuff I know nothing about! ;o)

  3. nikkipolani says:

    So sweet, the little new growth that appears! You are going to have quite a bounty come harvest time. Do you have much problem with pests munching on baby leaves or digging up plants?

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I was there this morning in the rain just having a quick round and noticed the second variety of broad beans just appearing.
      I do hope so!
      I could have as there’s plenty of them and I do virtually nothing, except keeping my fingers crossed, to prevent them helping themselves! xx

  4. VP says:

    Looking good Flighty 🙂 Hunter’s worth a try – it doesn’t mind cool weather so much, so it’s bound to make it a hot summer if you plant some 😉

  5. Glo says:

    It’s always encouraging to see spring greens popping up ~ Once they’re up you finally have something to look at and it’s fun to check on their growth. We get a couple of lovely days, and then back to 6 degrees with a chilly wind. I don’t dare plant anything edible because it would just get chomped. I may be able to smuggle some seeds into the rose garden area, although I’m sure a rabbit could find it’s way in there. As an aside, I decided to drive to work today ~ damp looking morning, and then I found that there was a bear alert on the trail that I usually walk along! A photo op missed? And that was just the start of the day…don’t ask!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo it is indeed but the weeds like doing that too!
      It’s been wet here yesterday and today but the forecast is for sunny, warm weather over the next few days.
      I’m sure that I’ll find mine have been nibbled, rather than chomped!
      That’s one photo-op I’m guess that you don’t really mind missing!
      I hope that today was better, and that you have a good weekend. xx

  6. re says:

    Looks like you will be having a wonderful harvest later this year.

  7. Georgie says:

    Hi Flighty

    Thanks for the name check (again)! The Swift Potatoes you sent me are going great guns and were earthed up in the week. I’ve only just planted the Broad Beans so I don’t expect germination for a few days yet but I’ll keep you posted. My Beetroot Cylindra have germinated btw! It looks like we have a bit of a competition going eh?

    G x

    • Flighty says:

      Georgie hello! You’re welcome.
      All sounds like it’s going well, and your broad beans should appear in a week or so.
      It does rather look like it, just as long as it’s a nice and friendly one! xx

  8. You are going to have some wonderful harvests to be sure. So satisfying. Nice pic of the potatoes coming up. I have never had the Swift variety but would like to 🙂

Leave a Reply

