Plot plants ~ Aquilegia

One of the few flowers that I found on the plot whilst clearing itΒ  during the latter half of 2007 was an Aquilegia, or Columbine if you prefer.

My mother’s garden always had lots of them as she happily left them to self-seed all over the place, and I’ll do the same with mine!

Being a perennial they die back over the winter then grow again in the spring. I took this photo recently and like the way water droplets sparkle on the leaves.dscn10391

Last summer it looked wonderful in full flowerdscn0231

and I’m hoping that it’ll do the same this year.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Plot plants ~ Aquilegia

  1. daffy says:

    oooh like little pearls in an Oyster shell. :o) I bet those droplets provide a little drinking spot for some of your smaller visitors. hehe, they could double as bug baths! :o)
    The second photo is lovely, I love the purpley haze it has. xx

  2. Louise says:

    I have the very same pale pink aquilegia, columbine, granny’s bonnet, whatever you want to call it, growing all over my garden. Just lucky I do rather like it! x

  3. Chippy says:

    Nice colour, I’m gonna see how the roses and stuff do this year and if they’re past it I’ll be going for something similar, easy to maintain and no thorns!!
    Hoping to get my front ‘porch’ cleared out soon so I can grow tomato’s there….

    • Flighty says:

      Chippy it’s a good idea to see how your garden does this year. You may be pleasantly surprised what appears. Keep what you like and replace what you don’t for next year.
      I’m trying tomatoes this year. Cheers!

  4. Liv says:

    They look as though they could be as “quick” as drops of mercury that have escaped from a broken thermometer.

    I like your new blog arrangement. And the big type in the comment window. xx

  5. VP says:

    I inherited a few aquilegia with my plot too πŸ™‚ I think they’re self sown and they’re in the raspberry bed. Mine look like yours except there’s a lovely double white one too.

    I can now reveal more about my cryptic comment last week: I’m part of a blogger’s panel reviewing Gardeners’ World over on the Guardian’s gardening blog! Am I chuffed or what?

    I didn’t say more at the time because we weren’t sure if it’d be published.

    • Flighty says:

      VP I like the sound of a double white one. Any chance of some seed later in the year!
      Well done, I think that you’re entitled to well chuffed! I’ve just read yours and the Guardian blogs and commented on both. xx

  6. cafecortado says:

    As “weeds” go, they look quite acceptable! I’m considering getting an allotment myself (or maybe offering to keep someone’s garden in order in exchange for some land). The way prices are going up it may be the only way I get food!

  7. Mrs K says:

    Granny’s bonnet self seeders don’t come true – it depends on what other colours you have already.

    When you buy the hybrids from Garden Centre’s they always say – oh they come back every year – do they heck, some do and some don’t – but what you do get is smaller ones with wonderful odd colours. Currently I have nearly black, navy blue, white, pink and pale blue – can’t wait to see the additions this year.

  8. When I lived in a different city the front yard had some Columbines in it that I loved. They are so different in shape from other flowers. I hope yours bloom profusely this year πŸ™‚

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Flighty, columbines are such graceful flowers aren’t they? And the leaves are so pretty, too. Will you be planting other colours as well?

  10. They look so delicate but they are sturdy little troopers our lovely columbines. I have them in my garden too and wouldn’t want to do without them. They selfseed all over the place and it’s always a surprise what colour they will turn out to be.

    • Flighty says:

      Yolanda they’re obviously very popular, and rightly so!
      I think that it’s fun to see what colour the new self-seeded ones are. I seem to recollect that my mum was always wondering that! xx

  11. fraggle says:

    I got some aquilegia the other day,the children are really keen on gardening at the moment,carrie-ann has a part-time job on saturdays and in the holidays for a maintenance and gardening company,so when she gets dropped off home if my lawn needs trimming they get the mower out and do it to save me a job xx

    • Flighty says:

      Fraggle good for you! It’s great to see that your children are so keen on gardening.
      That’s handy! I used to mow the lawn for my mum and it was never my favourite job! xx

Leave a Reply

