A good cause

I realise that supporting charities is a very personal act and this post shows a little of  what I, and others,  do to support a few of them.

The charity that I currently support on a regular basis is Thrive which is a horticultural charity which uses gardening to change lives. I have a link to it here under A Good Cause.

I tend not to keep many books so every now and again I have a sort out and take some to my local Barnardo’s bookshop. Needless to say that whilst there I always have a look round and never come home empty-handed!

I always buy some of my cards at one of the Cancer Research UK shops, and occasionally other items such as a snazzy waistcoat!

Last Sunday I sadly found a dead fox, not Fox Newton or Missy, on the allotments. It was in a really pitiful state and had clearly died from mange, which if untreated causes a  lingering death. The National Fox Welfare Society shows how they help treat this terrible condition.

Fellow bloggers are often great charity donors as shown by Veg Plotting with her Open Garden ‘Day’ which has so far raised over £1000 for WaterAid.

Charities have been hard-hit in recent months and suffered a dramatic decline in direct donations.   As you can see there a number of other ways in which we can all help with some of them, such as doing a blog like  Charity Shop Tourism,  costing little more than our goodwill and time.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in A good cause. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A good cause

  1. fraggle says:

    I get books from local charity shops and take all the childrens outgrown clothes and toys there, the main charities I support are mencap and also bibic and last year I with help from local school raised over £1000 for them, as bibic is one of the only places that help support children with microcephaly, Carrie-ann is doing the race for life for cancer research, have a good weekend x

  2. VP says:

    That’s a good bunch of causes to support. I’m currently involved in an e-book collaboration project (kitchen gardening) and it’s likely that Thrive will be one of the cause(s) supported via this venture 🙂

    Thanks for the link too and have a great weekend!

    • Flighty says:

      VP thanks! I have been most impressed with Thrive and I’ll be pleased if it is one of the causes that will be supported.
      You’re welcome, thanks and you too! xx

  3. ohsimone says:

    Costs me an arm and a leg in books I can’t bear to leave me behind! Ah well – I think I end up spending more on charity than anything else, which can’t really hurt!

    • Flighty says:

      Ohsimone hello, and thanks for stopping by!
      You’re a book buff I see, in which case charity shops must welcome you with open arms!
      I think that’s an admirable way to spend. Cheers!

  4. Liv says:

    I hope one day I can afford to support charities again!

    When I was younger, I used to send money to March of Dimes (fighting the causes of prematurity and birth defects because I was a preemie), and Sand Dollar (which supports research into cerebral palsy because one of my best friends has CP).

    The most recent thing I did was give a homeless man a quarter so he could take the bus downtown.
    xx

    • Flighty says:

      Liv as I’ve pointed out we can all support charities even without donating directly!
      Two very causes by the sound of them.
      Good for you as too many people would just walk on by! xx

  5. nikkipolani says:

    An excellent post, Flighty, and good reminder that charities suffer during these recessionary times.

  6. Louise says:

    I do go in charity shops on a more regular basis as there are quite a few just along the street from where I now work. I buy something on most visits! I shall click on your links to read more of the charities you have mentioned. Today I discovered you can buy Adam and Eve (!)gingerbread biscuits to support Marie Curie Cancer Care, check out my home blog. x

Leave a Reply

