Books and the plot

During the week I bought myself a couple of reference books with some tokens that I’d been given for Christmas.

Grow Organic is a practical guide to gardening the natural way with expert advice from Garden Organic, the UK’s leading organic growing charity. This is a cleaner, greener Made With Care book published by Dorling Kindersley.

My only bird book is a Collins gem Garden Birds which is fine but I wanted another one to go with it. I settled on Birds in your Garden which is full of superb photos and plenty of useful information.  For Woodpigeon it says…Big, bluff and bloated it struts around your garden like Colonel Blimp, an official stripe on each wing and it’s chest pumped out as if it owned the place… With writing like that how could I resist!

With more rain earlier in the week the ground is still sticky on the plot although I did manage to fork over most of the vegetable patches.  That done I’m now all ready to plant some early potatoes and the onion sets, and sow some broad beans,  later in the month.

Mid-week I moved the original pond a few feet nearer to the log pile.dscn1047

This frees up some ground where I shall have a double row of runner beans with a few sweet peas.

Do you remember this photo which I took just less than two months ago?  Well yesterday morning they looked like this!dscn1050

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Books and the plot

  1. daffy says:

    Your daffs are stunning.
    The reference books sound great too! I have a really old bird book which came in handy the first time we saw the jay as the photo was the front cover!
    Happy plotting Flighty! Here is to some dry days so you can plant on!

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy thanks! There are lots all over the allotments which really do herald spring, especially on a warm, sunny day like today.
      I’m enjoying the books and I’m sure that they’ll become well thumbed over the coming years.
      I saw a jay this morning sitting on a chimney pot of the flats over the road!
      Thanks again, and I’ll second that! xx

  2. Glo says:

    What an excellent choice of books! The organic gardening book seems very informative and the link shows how it is beautifully set out with clear colourful pictures. Your bird book sounds like it was written with good humour ~ I think many of us enjoy lending anthropomorphic aspects to birds and other animals as is in example of the woodpigeon that you mention. The books that you chose are ones I’m sure you’ll enjoy reading for reference and pure pleasure!

    How lovely to see your daffodils blooming! They are still not out here, although they were out in Victoria when I visited a couple of weeks ago. We have had some lovely bright days, but it’s still nippy…and I notice that something has been nibbling at the spring growth in the front garden.

    Speaking of anthropomorphism ;), I was delighted to receive a postcard from Frog Newton letting me know of his move. He seems fairly animated by the whole idea, and I see he managed to take his luggage with him without too much trouble.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I reckon so! Having looked through them both a couple of times I’ll now start to read them properly. Both have terrific photos and lots of good information. I’m sure that they’ll looked at often both for pleasure and reference!
      They’ve bloomed in the past few days thanks to the good weather. It seems that spring growth is much appreciated by some nibblers!
      I’m glad to see that Frog is happy with his pond being moved, and I like his change of address card. I’ll do a Frog ponderings entry during the week and include it, along with froggy posts that some Lawn loungers have done. xx

  3. Chippy says:

    Looking good Mike, a bit of decent weather certainly helps get things moving!

  4. Liv says:

    Not only Frog Newton is happy about the move, I bet the smaller birds are having fun hiding in the log pile while they await their turn at the watering hole! xx

    • Flighty says:

      Liv I check the log pile every time I’m there and have only ever seen a few insects. As for what may be hiding in it I’d be very surprised if it was small birds! xx

  5. nikkipolani says:

    That’s the best part of the time spent away from gardens — time spent in books about gardens and birds! And look at your daffs! All cheery and ready to brighten any onlooker’s day 🙂

  6. Liv says:

    Insects? Boo! xx

  7. Maureen says:

    I like the title of this post! Very clever.

    Daffodils are so gorgeous and cheerful when they bloom aren’t they? I love this time of year.

    Happy reading and gardening!

Leave a Reply

