Far and near

Countrywise is a new series on ITV1 starting today at 7.30pm. Paul Heiney explores rural Britain and meets the people who make it special.

Gardeners’ World makes a welcome return tomorrow on BBC2 at 8.00pm with the first of three hour-long specials. This one is The Plant Addicts in which Carol Klein reveals how plants have played an integral part in her life.

Sunday on BBC2 at 8.00pm sees Yellowstone 1/3. Winter. This new series looks at America’s original national park which was established in 1872, and is mostly located in Wyoming. The programme is being shown again on Monday BBC2 at 7.00pm.

NiC over on London Daily Nature Photo featured this sparrow on Monday where I commented that I rarely see any nowadays. However on Tuesday around 5.30.pm I heard birds twittering away in the trees outside. I looked and was amazed to see around fifty of them in the tree tops. Sadly once one of our most common birds it is now a rarity, with London alone having lost two-thirds of them since the mid-1990s. Who Killed the Cockney Sparrer? on BBC Radio 4 next Wednesday at 9.00pm investigates just why these little beauties are now in real danger of extinction.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Far and near

  1. Jennyta says:

    We still have quite a few of them here, Flighty.

  2. daffy says:

    You found good stuff today!
    I watched that Nature programme last night but saw one too many animals killed and eaten so I figured I could do without watching that part of nature! :o) The ostrich effect! Bury your head in the sand and pretend it doesn’t happen.
    The sparrow is certainly thinning. It’ll be interesting to see what the RSPB count is after the Big Birdwatch!
    xx

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy thanks! I shall watch the repeat at the weekend, but make sure that I’m not eating my tea when I do.
      I suspect that the count will show that the downward trend is continuing sadly. xx

  3. Maureen says:

    Thanks for the details about those TV shows, flighty. I will try to remember to watch them. And I’ll listen to the programme on BBC Radio too.

    It’s very sad about the sparrows. I know I don’t see as many of them as I used to.

  4. Liv says:

    I’ve always enjoyed the programming about America’s national parks in different seasons.

    But I am curious to know what conclusions, if any, are reached in the Cockney Sparrer mystery. I remember visiting in the mid-90s and being awoken on a summer morning by the twittering, yet when I lived there last saw so few sparrows that the ones I did spot would have me gaping at them like I’d never seen a bird before.
    xx

    • Flighty says:

      Liv as you say they’re always good programmes.
      I’ll be listening to it and will let you know what, if any, conclusions are made.
      Apart from Tuesday evening’s event I rarely see any now. xx

  5. Louise says:

    I was too tired to watch, or even set the video, for Countrywise last night. Now you have mentioned it, I wish I had watched it! I have missed Gardeners World on a Friday evening and look forward to the new gardening season ahead. Maybe I shall get used to Toby Buckland being the presenter too! x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise it was an enjoyable, and interesting, half hour.
      Apparently there are going to be major changes to Gardeners’ World, mainly with a new location! xx

  6. Glo says:

    Looks like a great variety of programs. We have a home and gardens channel here which have some interesting programs on as well. There’s always plenty to learn!

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Isn’t it something to see so many birds gathered together like you saw those sparrows?! When the Mexican parrots congregate (and they seem to like to congregate quite often), they all land on the same tree and squawk together.

  8. cafecortado says:

    In various parts of the UK you can see starlings (at least I think it’s this bird) swarming at dusk. The way they fly in formation and know how to twist and turn without bumping into each other is truly amazing. As for the sparrow, I’m starting to see a few more again (ok not as many as years ago). I also saw quite a few on my recent visit to northern Spain. I suspect it’s down to a lot of people replacing hedges and lawns with concrete parkways ie a large percentage of their natural habitat has disappeared.

    • Flighty says:

      Cafecortado yes it is generally starlings, and as you say it’s an amazing sight when they do it.
      Sparrows are a lot rarer in towns than the countryside, where they’re still a fairly common sight. That’s certainly one reason given for the decrease.

Leave a Reply

