I did more plotting…

last week than I have over the past few months!

Wednesday was overcast, but relatively mild,  so after breakfast I went to build the new compost bin. I found that the original compost heap was ready to use so I spread it over the vegetable patch.

I worked steadily through the morning and, with surprisingly few problems, ended up with a bin that’s  big and permanent. On Thursday I went back to apply a coat of green wood preserver  so that it will blend in,  especially once some grass and plants have grown along the front edge.dscn0986

Next on the list was the new pond which I did on Fridaydscn10062I reckon that it’ll look okay once there’s some grass and flowers around the edge.  I like the way the water sparkles in the sunlight and the wind ripples the surface.

Yesterday was a gloriously sunny, warm day which got off to a brilliant start when I said  Hello again! to Fox Newton.  I spent the morning doing some much needed tidying up all over the plot so that it now looks rather better than it did. Mind you that was only the start as there’s lots  more to do to get it ready for planting and sowing.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I did more plotting…

  1. fraggle says:

    I have done some work in my front garden this weekend, tackling the back next week have got all the prep work done!x x

  2. Chippy says:

    Well done Mike, what a difference some sunshine and a few hours pottering makes!!

  3. nikkipolani says:

    Amazing! Wasn’t just a while ago that snow blanketed this spot and the ground looked cold and in deep sleep?

  4. daffy says:

    Looking very good. It’s very tidy for an allotment too isn’t it! No foxes today?

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy thanks! The bits in the photo are but as for other areas…
      Yes I watched as plot neighbour Lorna fed mom Missy, dad Newton and son Digger. No photos though as I’d gone out in a rush and forgotten the camera! xx

  5. Ellie says:

    Yes, it’s felt suddenly like gardening weather, this last couple of days.

    Your compost bin looks good – did you use pallets or did you work out the wood needed yourself?

  6. Glo says:

    Nice job on the compost bin construction, Flighty! The new pond looks ready for business ! It must feel good finally being able to get a start on the plot after so long. It is still only February ~ I think we’re all so ready for spring that it’s easy to forget it’s still winter!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks! Of course it’s the compost that comes out of it next year that’s important.
      I’ll be keeping an eye out for visitors to the new pond.
      It certainly has been good to be properly plotting again!
      You’re so right, and I’m sure that winter will give us another brief reminder that it’s still around before spring tales over! xx

  7. Liv says:

    It’s good to see some sunshine over there at last, a little wan, but struggling through nevertheless.

    I look forward to seeing the new growth around the pond in the spring.

    xx

Leave a Reply

