Hello again!

This morning as I walked towards the allotment gates  Fox Missy appeared from under the willow tree. I stopped and whilst getting the camera out of my pocket she came ever closerdscn0996

before crossing right in front of medscn0998

then stopping to look at me again before wandering off.dscn1000

If that wasn’t a brilliant enough start to the day once I went  through the gates I saw several pied wagtails just ahead of me on the roadway which I’ve not seen there before.

Later on whilst working on the plot I looked up to see Missy sitting about ten feet away yawning and scratching, but of course the camera was over in the shed!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Hello again!

  1. nikkipolani says:

    Wow! He is such a handsome fellow. How lovely that he’s hanging out with you and, apparently, not very camera shy!

  2. Amazing Flighty. Looks like ol’ Foxy trusts you.
    You two could soon be sharing a Digestive or two over a brew !!!

  3. nikkipolani says:

    Oh, and a lovely new header! So full of springy-ness 🙂

  4. Chippy says:

    Nice photo’s Mike, time to keep some nibbles handy methinks!

  5. Louise says:

    Wow, these shots are great. How lucky this fox was willing for you to take photos. Every one I have ever seen has scarpered! A couple of days ago, whilst waiting for my train, a fox jumped down from the embankment and trotted off along the railway line. I did have my camera on me, but it was turning dusk, so decided not to bother. x

    • Flighty says:

      Louise thanks, I was lucky indeed! The others that I see are far more wary.
      It’s surprising just how many are now seen, and often during the day as well. xx

  6. fraggle says:

    Wow Fox Newton is getting brave, lovely pictures xx

  7. Divastar says:

    Fox Newton is GORGEOUS! Oh my goodness Flighty how utterly fantastic that you got such close photos!!!! SO cool! 😀 xxx

  8. Glo says:

    What a happy unexpected welcome to Plot 124 for you, Flighty, on such a sunny day! Eye to eye contact with Fox Newton ~ brilliant! Congratulations on keeping a steady hand on the camera ~ the pictures turned out so well. Now you’ll need one pocket for the camera and one for nibbly bits. 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I was looking for the birds up in the willow and never expected that to happen! I really was wondering just how close Fox would get.
      Thanks, I was relieved to see that I taken some good pictures. I’ll certainly be doing that from now on! xx

  9. daffy says:

    Foxy looks as though he has a poorly eye, perhaps you should have some optrex handy next time, along with the nibbles… heheWell Done! Excellent shots!

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy I learnt today from Lorna, a plot neighbour, who feeds the foxes that he is a she named Missy!
      Her eye looked okay so I hope that it’s just the photos.
      Thanks, I’m well pleased with them! xx

  10. Ellie says:

    Wow – what fabulous photos. He looks in good condition, unlike the scrawny one I saw (from a distance!) last week.

    I saw a pied wagtail this week too, I love watching them.

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie many thanks! I found out today that he’s a she! She is in excellent condition unlike Mr Fox and her son who are both scrawny and mangy.
      They are such delightful birds, I wish that I saw them more often! xx

  11. Liv says:

    Eye to eye just as Glo says, because Fox has one lovely tawny eye but the other looks somewhat mangy in all three shots.

    I can see from whence comes the phrase “as sly as a fox”. In the second photo Fox looks like a very suspicious character indeed.

    xx

  12. ip says:

    Doesn’t he look a real mean guy!….but beautiful! You were lucky to get such great photos.
    I unfortunately yesterday saw one of these wonderful creatures which had been killed by a car on the off-ramp from the motorway to our countryside area.

  13. Louise says:

    Flighty, could I use one of your ‘fox fotos’ on my sidebar? I would like to give the fox I see along the railway line a mention, and I have no photos to use. Of course I shall give Flighty’s Plot a mention. x

Leave a Reply

