Four to watch

This evening  on ITV1 at 9.00pm is the first in a new four part documentary series Billy Connolly:  Journey To The Edge Of The World. He travels across Canada by way of the Northwest Passage starting off in Nova Scotia.

At the same time over on BBC2 is Natural World – Cassowaries. These are very large  flightless birds which can be 6 feet tall, weigh 13 stone and have 5 inch long claws so it’s definitely not one I want to see on the plot!

There is another Natural World programme on BBC2 tomorrow at 8.00pm. It’s A Farm for the Future in which Rebecca Hosking looks at  techniques which show that nature may hold the answer to a low-energy future.

Since many bloggers are also keen photographers they  may enjoy watching The  Genius of Photography which starts on Saturday on BBC2 at 7.00pm with 1/6. Fixing the Shadows. This programme looks at early photographic pioneers such as Eadweard Muybridge.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Four to watch

  1. Flighty you’re such a fount of info, tv wise. What should we do without you? Thanks for the heads up about Billy C, and A Farm for the Future is on my to see list now too.

    Have a lovely weekend!

    xx

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Ooh, that photography one would have been fun to see.

  3. fraggle says:

    I agree with nikki the photography one will be good,I took a quick photo of a smurf earlier,well it was Isaac he thought he would help carrie-ann paint the fence,but he got more on himself.

    Have a great weekend *hugs* xx

  4. Flighty says:

    Yolanda I just read through the Radio Times and pick out the nature and wildlife programmes of interest!
    Thanks, you too! xx

  5. Flighty says:

    Nikki I’m sorry that you don’t get to see the programmes that I mention here! xx

  6. Flighty says:

    Fraggle I know someone like that but he’s considerably older than Isaac!
    Thanks, you too! xx

  7. daffy says:

    I bought my hubby Journey to the Edge of the world for V-Day. How romantic am I?
    There is a pic of Billy on the back cover looking all wistful and rugged, With his crazy wind swept hair, I think it tells a story of a man who has seen so much.
    You found plenty this week!

  8. Flighty says:

    Daffy so what did he buy you? Perhaps I shouldn’t be asking!
    Billy has certainly travelled the world, and I quite like his programmes.
    Thanks, it makes a change doesn’t it! xx

  9. Glo says:

    I saw an interview on TV of Billy Connelly when he visited northern BC to see the Grizzly Bears eating salmon ~ he was quite chuffed 🙂

  10. Flighty says:

    Glo so would I be! He always looks like he’s really enjoying himself in these programmes that he does! xx

  11. Liv says:

    Many of the programs you mention are eventually re-narrated and released here on Nat Geo/Animal Planet/TLC/Discovery/Bravo but most often on PBS (Public Broadcasting System) which is the government-funded nationwide arts, science, education, news channel which also usually has local affiliates. In fact, BBC America often inherits not only BBC programming, but syndicates the better ITV docus too.

    Last week I was watching one of Simon Schama’s series on BBC-A, it was great.

    Just thought you’d be interested to know.
    xx

  12. Liv says:

    P.S. On PBS or BBC-A, they aren’t re-narrated, btw.

  13. Liv says:

    Oops, can’t believe I forgot to mention the main thing I meant say, which was I’d love to see the program on Cassowaries. Flightless birds intrigue me to no end!

    xx

  14. Flighty says:

    Liv that’s indeed good to know!
    I shall watch the programme on Cassowaries on iPlayer over the weekend as it’s a bird that that I know nothing about!

  15. Liv says:

    Ah, I uninstalled my iPlayer only a few weeks ago, as well as the one from Ch. 4, whatever it was called, and now use the US network players.

  16. Flighty says:

    Liv never mind I’m sure that that’ll be plenty of interest for you to watch! xx

Leave a Reply

