Wandering and melting

Natural World  Elephants Without Borders on BBC2 tomorrow at 8.00pm  is about the wanderings of elephants in Botswana. There are lots of endearing scenes of elephant herds, and the scientific bit tells us all about their remarkable memory. It’s being repeated next Monday on BBC2 at 7.00pm.

Next Wednesday sees the start of  Nature’s Great Events a major new wildlife series on BBC1 at 9.00pm.  1/6. The Great Melt is all about the Arctic summer when the ice turns to ocean.  It features unfamiliar narwhals, guillemots, artic foxes and ever popular polar bears.

As much as I’ve been moaning about the cold weather, especially when it’s wet and windy, I find it preferable to when it’s too hot as it’s been in Australia,  which has had an unprecedented  heatwave recently. Daffy sent me an email yesterday with some really cute pictures which had been sent to her by a friend of a friend out there.  A little koala had walked into the back porch looking for a bit of relief from the heat. A bucket was filled up and this is what happened next!image005-5

Wherever you are stay cool or keep warm,  and have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Wandering and melting

  1. Louise says:

    Daffy sent me these pics, I love the one where the koala is testing the water! I hope all is well on the plot, I haven’t had as much blog time recently as I would like. I was so privileged to have seen cute koalas in the wild on our trip to Oz last year, I love how they usually spend their time snoozing not bathing! x

  2. Flighty says:

    Louise aren’t they cute pictures! Lucky you seeing them like that.
    I’m waiting, somewhat impatiently now, to get down to some serious plotting.
    When we’re busy blogging has to take a back seat, that’s no problem as far as I’m concerned. xx

  3. VP says:

    We’re having proper snow here at last Flighty 😀

    Have a great weekend!
    xx

  4. fraggle says:

    We have more snow and school is cancelled again,I think the novelty has worn off as the children want to stay snuggled up on the settee.
    daffy sent me those pics also are n’t they cute!

    have a good weekend xx

  5. daffy says:

    hehe I get about with my pics! Flighty I have sent one just this morning but I think you will like it! (especially)
    Lots to look at here Flighty so I might do it in a couple of visits!
    No snow here today… what a terrible shame.
    Stay warm! xx

  6. Jennyta says:

    What a lovely photo – so cute!

  7. Flighty says:

    VP I’m glad to hear that you’ve not missed out on it!
    Thanks, you too! xx

  8. Flighty says:

    Fraggle that’s the best place to be when it’s like this!
    Thanks, and you! xx

  9. Flighty says:

    Daffy you do indeed! I’ve not looked at today’s yet.
    In that case ‘see’ you later on!
    Nor here, just rain. I will, and you too! xx

  10. Flighty says:

    Jenny it certainly is! xx

  11. I did a double take on the photo after thinking it was a stuffed toy at first! How cute (and sensible of the koala).

  12. Flighty says:

    Northernwindowgardener I’m not surprised but it is real! It looks well pleased to have cooled down.

  13. nikkipolani says:

    I bet Daffy is going to love that Elephants programme. I remember seeing footage of elephants swimming across flooded rivers in one of the Planet Earth DVDs. And I loved that koala sequence — poor little guy!

  14. Liv says:

    Hahaha! I got that email too. He looks so hilarious with his fluffy head and little body, but it was also funny when he was testing the water with his little tongue!
    xx

  15. Divastar says:

    That was such a cute email from Daffy, I sent it off to other people as well and I know it made their day! I will try my best to check out the Polar Bears program tonight, I was so ill when the last bears program aired I only saw my pillow and the bathroom! I hope today will be better though 🙂 xx

  16. Liv says:

    Diva thought I should tell you about my latest post, beginning a series on my visit to the NASM. Finally. And I can’t keep it down to one post…! More good stuff for you to see, right?
    xx

  17. Flighty says:

    Nikki I’m sure that she will! Footage like that is always good to watch. It seems that we all did! xx

  18. Flighty says:

    Divastar wasn’t it just! I think that it made everybody’s day.
    It’s the elephants tonight and the polar bears next Wednesday! xx

  19. Flighty says:

    Liv they’re great pictures aren’t they!
    I had a quick look last night and will have a proper look and comment later today. As you say lots of good stuff to look forward to! xx

  20. cafecortado says:

    Hi, I’m tucked up nice and warm in a centrally heated flat. But to be honest, if we didn’t have this heating, I’d prefer the heatwave to the cold. You can always drench a towel in water and wrap yourself in it. Having said that, it is nice to see the landscape under snow.

  21. lady_drid says:

    I can’t agree more,hot weather is terrible! The summer rain is a good blessing, but the hot sun is always showing off, when it’s stops. I suffer a lot, I’m melting here hahaha. I’m not a normal Brasilian, I hate the heat of the sun, I hate beaches… Hugs,my friend.

  22. lady_drid says:

    Daff’s picture is beautiful! The Koala is so cute!!!!

  23. Flighty says:

    Cafecortado that’s the best place to be when it’s like this! That is that but I really don’t like it wwhne it’s hot and humid. Cheers!

  24. Flighty says:

    Lady drid I’m surprised that you don’t like it and sympathise with you! Summer rain must be a welcome relief for you I’m sure.
    It seems that we all think that the koala is cute!
    Take care and hugs! xx

  25. Glo says:

    Great post with some interesting shows coming up! That koala picture is precious and priceless! I can just about hear it sighing with relief ~

  26. Flighty says:

    Glo thanks, I’m looking forward to watching Nature’s Great Events.
    It certainly is , and in that heat I’d be sighing too! xx

  27. Amazing story about the little koala. They are such adorable looking creatures.

  28. Flighty says:

    Beginninghere it sure is. They look adorable but generally aren’t very cuddly at all! xx

Leave a Reply

