Watching the birdies!

I decided to do my Big Garden Birdwatch over the park and playing fields last Saturday afternoon when it was sunny and not too cold.

On my way I walked through the ecology park then both allotment sites, which were decidedly watery in places,

dscn0931

and was surprised at how few birds were to be seen…no parakeets, blue tits, or starlings and just a few magpies and pigeons.

Much of the park and playing fields were like wetlands with a sheen of water glistening in the sunshine. I spotted a robin in the shrubs by the entrance then some 50 seagulls scattered over a wide area of grass.

I squelched my way towards the trees lining the small stream. This is crow country and as I turned the corner there were about 30 on the ground. However looking up I saw at least another 50 in the trees

dscn09281

It was slightly unsettling and I was reminded of Alfred Hitchcock’s well known film The Birds!

I see that others,  including  DaffyNiC and Chippy ,  saw plenty of interest in their gardens.

Cha0tic commented on my Fox Newton post saying that I might like this site ,  which I do indeed. It’s stunning as I’m sure you’ll agree!

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Watching the birdies!

  1. daffy says:

    The photos look really good! Love the crows up high, they look a little sinister when you see them like that don’t they.
    We had a great day and a little bit of excitement!

  2. Flighty says:

    Daffy thanks! Yes especially when I got about half way along the line of trees and then felt almost surrounded by them!
    Good for you, and lucky too seeing that sparrow hawk. xx

  3. Divastar says:

    Ooooooh those crows look really ominous. Where I used to live they had big huge ravens that would bully all the other birds away, at least I’m fairly sure they were ravens, they were black and the size of small cats *shudder* frightening creatures.
    I hope your shoes have dried out after that nice, but wet walk! 🙂 xx

  4. ip says:

    I certainly remember ‘The Birds’!

    We are very close to what is known as the Gadloch, which is a landing site for geese, some evenings there is a terrible noise noise as great skeins of them circle the loch. marvellous, but a bit strange hearing this noise in the dark!

  5. Jennyta says:

    Lots of crows around here too at the moment, and songthrushes, blue tits and great tits.

  6. Flighty says:

    Diva they were! Ravens are mostly seen in upland areas in Wales and Scotland so yours were possibly crows.

    http://www.rspb.org.uk/wildlife/birdguide/name/r/raven/index.asp

    http://www.rspb.org.uk/wildlife/birdguide/name/c/carrioncrow/index.asp

    I wore wellies, and thick socks, so had no problem with wet, cold feet! xx

  7. Flighty says:

    IP it was starting to get a bit gloomy by then just to add a bit of tension!
    That must be a wonderful sight, and an odd sound at night if you don’t know what it is. Cheers!

  8. Flighty says:

    Jenny I see small numbers of the allotments but never gathered like that!
    It must be nice to see all the other birds. xx

  9. Pandy says:

    I’ve never known how to tell the difference between crows, ravens, rooks and jack daws. That website helped though. We’ve gotten a lot of jays around Hillingdon this year, as well as the odd heron. There’s a field nearby that they frequent – I’ve seen about 15 of them there at one point – it’s an unexpected (and a tad scary) sight!
    xx

  10. fraggle says:

    we saw crows, magpies and a Robin I think they all went into hiding as we usually see quite a few birds! xx

  11. Flighty says:

    Pandy hello, and happy new year!
    I wasn’t sure until I looked at all of them on the RSPB site.
    Lucky you as I rarely ever see jays, and then usually just a fleeting glimpse. I saw one heron last year here trying to land on the ecology park pond and being mobbed by magpies!
    Is that 15 herons ?!
    Take care and hugs! xx

  12. Flighty says:

    Fraggle that’s always the way! The first birds I saw at the allotments on Monday morning were two parakeets. Typical! xx

  13. nikkipolani says:

    On my way to work the other day, I saw five Mexican parrots sitting perfectly spaced on a utility cable, their lime green feathers catching the early morning sun. I thought of you all choosing your positions for the birdwatch event. Terrific photos, Flighty. I can almost hear you squelching in that soggy landscape!

  14. Divastar says:

    Ah yes Flighty, you are right, looking at those links they were crows at my mother’s place, but the Tower of London has lots of scary ravens! I remember seeing them and being just as frightened of them as the crows at my mum’s LOL
    I’m a bit of a wimp really, I’m happiest with robins and similar little ones, they don’t look like they can peck you to death Hitchcock stylee 😉 xx

  15. Flighty says:

    Nikki I ‘d like to have seen them!
    If it had been a bit milder I’d stayed put on the plot for an hour to do it.
    Thanks! Believe me it was well squelchy! xx

  16. Flighty says:

    Divastar the Tower is the only place that I’ve ever seen ravens, and I can understand why you found them scary.
    I don’t blame you as a flock of bigger birds close by can be most unsettling. xx

  17. Louise says:

    I am surprised you didn’t see a heron in the park, seeing the depth of the water! I often comment when we get flocks of starlings, it reminds me of The Birds, parts of that film are so disturbing. Thanks Flighty for keeping an eye on my blog, I haven’t found much time for it lately. x

  18. cafecortado says:

    Good to see you’re still keeping active around the allotment in the “close season”. Plenty of water about, yet we’ve had plenty of sunny days haven’t we? Well, more than we got last summer. All the best, Cafe

  19. Flighty says:

    Louise with one exception I’ve yet to see any herons here. I certainly felt slightly uneasy surrounded by that many large birds!
    You’re welcome, and I do realise that working means less blogging! Take care. xx

  20. Flighty says:

    Cafecortado I usually go there every couple of days just to refill the bird feeders and check the pond. It would be nice to actually do some plotting as well but it’s generally been much too cold or wet. We have, but plenty of wet ones as well. Here’s hoping we get a decent spring and a good summer! Cheers.

  21. Flighty says:

    Daffy I saw it earlier today. I know some people found him rather annoying but generally I didn’t find him too irritating.
    I wonder who’ll replace him. I don’t mind anyone, except Alan Titchmarsh!
    Thanks, you too! xx

  22. daffy says:

    My dad thinks Ben Fogle but we don’t how well he is. I wondered if the other chap, Simon (?) who usually does the outside presenting might stay warmer for a change.

  23. Birds was certainly a scary movie, the original story was written by Daphne du Maurier as you probably know.

    That was quite a lot of crows you found..

    Pity about Bill Oddie, he could be just a tad annoying at times (who isn’t?) but mostly I found him very amusing and very knowledgeable.

    Enjoy your weekend! xxx

  24. Liv says:

    Why do crows sit so conspicuously on branches? Always on the ends, and never in the middle??

    I hope Ben Fogle doesn’t get it. I would enjoy hearing Alan Titchmarsh though, you need someone with a light touch when it comes to our feathered friends. Ben’s fine with the lions and giraffes at Longleat.

    Not that I’d hear either of them, all the way over here 😉
    xx

  25. Flighty says:

    Daffy yes I think that Ben Fogle would be a good choice! Simon King is that other chap! xx

  26. Flighty says:

    Yolanda yes it was, and I have read the original Daphne du Maurier story.
    A few too many thanks!
    I think that many people have mixed opinions about him.
    Thanks, and you too! xx

  27. Flighty says:

    Liv I don’t know, but it sure makes them very conspicious when they do that!
    Perhaps it’d be good to get a relative unknown to replace him. xx

  28. Glo says:

    That is very soggy ground, indeed! Rice paddy wet. 😉 I guess the crows have good viewpoints sitting near the ends of branches. Effective photo ~ Nice silhouettes against the background.

  29. Maureen says:

    If I saw all those crows, I would be just a bit worried. It does indeed seem like the movie, The Birds. Scary.

    I love that cloudboxer site – fantastic photos!

    Ben Fogle would be a very good choice. I’m going to miss Bill Oddie though. I liked him on the show.

  30. Flighty says:

    Glo it mostly certainly was, but thankfully it’s looking better this week.
    I also guess that they can fly off the tree easier. Thanks! xx

  31. Flighty says:

    Maureen I was surprised at how many I saw!
    It’s a great site with wonderful photos!
    Ben seems a popular choice. Lot’s of people will miss Bill. xx

Leave a Reply

