Chatting and chitting

When I arrived at the hut last Sunday I was surprised at just how many people were there. It was like the crush at the January sales! I’d forgotten that the seed potatoes and onion sets had been delivered a day or two earlier.

One immediate concern was that access to the kettle was blocked  but thankfully the crowd thinned out before action was needed!

It was good to see plot neighbours  Graham and Trevor who I’ve not seen since before Christmas. There was plenty of chatting with other folks who were now looking forward to doing some proper allotmenteering.

I knew which potatoes the society was getting  and had decided on which varieties to try this year. I got 12 or so tubers each Swift (early),  Kestrel (second early), Desiree (maincrop) and Cara (late maincrop). In theory that means I should be harvesting potatoes from June through to September. At the moment they’re chitting away on egg boxes  in the spare room.

I also bought a handful each of  Sturon and Turbo onion sets. These will be planted out from around mid March.

There’s been a lot of rain here recently, with more to come, and the ground is waterlogged, and frozen some days, so it’s still rather bleak but a closer look on the plot yesterday found that some daffodils have just started to appear.

dscn09261

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Chatting and chitting

  1. nikkipolani says:

    Little green fingers of spring! With all that cold and wet weather, I bet all your allotmenteers are ready for a little change 🙂 Soon, you’ll all be plotting away. I’m hoping to get some sweetpeas in the ground today. Rather late for California, but better than nothing. Because our weather warms up so quickly, the season for sweetpeas is quite short, even with vigilant deadheading. Looking forward to seeing your potatoes poking little green fingers through the earth!

  2. Flighty says:

    Nikki the ground around them was frozen when I took that! They are indeed but another wet day today hasn’t helped. We all hope so that’s for sure.
    I’m looking forward to growing sweet peas again this year after my success with them last year.
    It’ll be at least a couple of months before we see that! xx

  3. fraggle says:

    It’s nice when you see the first signs of spring appearing.xx

  4. Flighty says:

    Fraggle it is, and all we need now is the weather to go with it! xx

  5. daffy says:

    Access to the kettle is very important.
    You know I have no real input to give when it comes to gardening but keeping a man from his brew…. I know your pain!
    btw, I have a tale to tell regarding the bird watch!

  6. Flighty says:

    Daffy too true! Thanks! Today was just the opposite with no-one there except a few helpers!
    It’s not about dodos, ostriches or peacocks is it! xx

  7. daffy says:

    *falls on floor laughing*
    no but I’ll give you a clue….
    Sparrowhawk!!!!
    (That’s a huge clue)
    I did see a dodo… I did.
    I sent my dad a text telling him I may have seen a vulture and he said… “You should have gone to spec savers!” haha

  8. Liv says:

    Not being able to reach the kettle to make a nice cuppa tea would be worse for me than having soggy bulbs, I tell you! xx

  9. Flighty says:

    Daffy I don’t think that I’ve ever seen a sparrowhawk! Did it scare all the other birds away?
    Mmm if you say so! I think that your dad was right! xx

  10. Flighty says:

    Liv for you and me both! xx

  11. I got a good chuckle out of your comment about the kettle. Also, it is heartwarming to hear about your many potatoes. As you may know Nikki prefers rice, so all your talk of potatoes feels somewhat nostalgic to a potato lover like myself. As for chatting with other gardeners. That sounds very pleasant. Haven’t seen anyone else in their front yards of late but we have had a couple of lovely days of rain…

  12. divastar says:

    Desiree is such a lovely potato, all it needs when baked is a little butter to help bring out the nuttiness in it’s lovely rich flavour and nothing else, it’s just so tasty 🙂 And those Daffodil shoots are wonderful!! What a fabulous sign of spring, it really raises my spirits! :oD xx

  13. divastar says:

    Oh dear ,that last emoticon was supposed to be a big grin not a shocked face! LOL 😀 xx

  14. Sinta says:

    I grew Kestrel last year and I had such a bumper crop that Mr H wants me to grow it again this year 🙂 I can’t wait, planting season is almost upon us! ^_^

  15. Flighty says:

    Beginninghere it’s was no laughing matter at the time!
    I eat lots of potatoes so it’ll be good to see how I get on with them.
    It’s always good to have a chat with fellow allotmenteers, especially when I’ve not seen them for a while.
    We’ve had more than enough rain, but no doubt come the summer it’ll be a different story! xx

  16. Flighty says:

    Diva Desiree is a very popular potato, and rightly so.
    It’s so good to see shots and new growth starting to appear as it really does mean that spring isn’t far away! I know what you mean about it raising our spirits. xx

  17. Flighty says:

    Sinta it’s good to know that, and let’s hope that we both have the same success this year.
    I think that all gardeners are now raring to get going again! xx

  18. The first signs of spring eh Flighty… wonderful.

  19. Flighty says:

    Assortedpixels yes wonderful indeed!

  20. Glo says:

    Sorry I’m so late replying ~ but now that I’m here I’d like to share this info I found on ‘chitting’ and kestrel potatoes ~ etc.

    ‘Kestrel potatoes have violet eyes. They have creamy flesh and are said to be good all rounder, for boiling, chipping etc and they’re good in salads. They’re slug resistant.’

    http://www.wildyorkshire.co.uk/naturediary/docs/2005/3/4.html

    So you’ll be able to chit, chat and chip 🙂

    I’m wondering if those seed potato buyers had any idea of the risk they were taking by blocking your way to the teapot! Were there any biscuits left or had they all ended up being “crushed”?

  21. Flighty says:

    Glo that’s perfectly okay!
    I’ve had a some good reports for Kestrel so fingers crossed…and thanks for the link!
    It’s lucky that they didn’t have to find out the hard way! The ginger nuts are kept in a tin out of the way thankfully. This week I had a slice of home made cake! xx

Leave a Reply

