All very grand

This week I’ve watched the first two parts of  The Secret Life of Elephants and have been enthralled. These were grand wildlife programmes which never over dramatised or got to sentimental. Scenes of the elephants, including their joy and sadness, were filmed factually and that, along with the stunning vistas, has made for great viewing. Part 2 is being shown again on BBC1 Sunday at 6.00pm and the last part is on BBC1 next Wednesday at 9.00pm.

Polar Bears and Grizzlies – Bears on top of the World is tomorrow’s Natural World on BBC2 at 8.00pm.  This looks like being another hour of grand television being full of intriguing details and glorious photography.  It is also a real story about climate change.

Next Wednesday on C4 at 9.00pm is the first of eight shows in a new series of Grand Designs. I’ve always enjoyed watching this programme, which thankfully continues to be presented by the affable Kevin McCloud.

The grandest occasion this week was on Tuesday with the inauguration of Barack Obama as the 44th president of America.  I  hope that my American friends, and others, will start to see some positive changes in their lives in the not too distant future.

Have a grand weekend,  and if you’re here in the UK then please don’t forget the Big Garden Birdwatch!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to All very grand

  1. daffy says:

    Loved the elephants last night, and I was glad we had no tears. I fear they are saving up the sad stories for next week. I loved watching little Breeze dart around the place, boundless energy!
    .
    I don’t think I can do the birdwatch as I doubt I’ll see the birds for all the mole holes! hehe ( just a little humour filled-sarcasm…)

  2. Jennyta says:

    I love the elephant series too, Flighty. I’ll try to catch the polar bears tomorrow.

  3. Flighty says:

    Daffy so did I! I hope that there’ll be more smiles than tears. She was delightful wasn’t she!
    Just remember me out in the cold and wet doing it whilst you’re comfortable in your dry and warm conservatory! xx

  4. Flighty says:

    Jenny it’s been brilliant hasn’t it! Enjoy it if you do. xx

  5. Flighty, I too am eagerly awaiting the new Grand Designs series too. I love it.
    I watched the Obama inauguration on Tuesday and sincerely think he has what it takes to make America truly United once again. He seems to have a very positive air about him, a quiet confidence that he can do the job.
    And I’m poised for a spot of twitching too… typical that today I had an Osprey on the apple tree this morning !!!! [I wish…]

  6. Flighty says:

    Assortedpixels I enjoy watching it although there’s been very few homes that I’ve really liked!
    I really do hope that he makes the impact, both in America and the world at large, that is expected of him.
    Here’s hoping that you see it again over the weekend! Cheers.

  7. fraggle says:

    I will be doing the bird watching with the children,Isaac calls all birds quack quacks.
    have a good weekend xx

  8. Flighty says:

    Fraggle I hope that you see a good variety of quack quacks!
    Thanks, you too! xx

  9. daffy says:

    Fraggle, my Andrea used to call all meat chicken, even if it was shaped like a sausage it was chicken… sorry, reading your comment just reminded me. x (hey Flighty hope you are ok)

  10. Flighty says:

    Daffy hello, and yes I’m okay thanks! xx

  11. fraggle says:

    Flighty:we will but I try to avoid the pigeons in the town as It is a £25 fine for feeding them and Isaac threw some of his sausage roll at them and I had a warning if he did it again I could face a fine.hes too young to understand he can feed ducks in the park or put food out in my garden but not in the town x

    Daffy: kids are funny aren’t they x

  12. Flighty says:

    Fraggle pigeons aren’t welcome on allotments, and some people call them flying rats!
    It must be confusing when you’re that young. xx

  13. divastar says:

    Awww the bears story looks lovely, I shall do my best to grab Lincs, Nags and little Henk and we’ll all squeeze on the sofa to watch it! 🙂 xx

  14. goldenferi says:

    I will have to look for some of these programs to see if they are on again. I also watched the inauguration and loved it. Your header rose looks alot like Garden Party my all time favourite.

  15. Glo says:

    Glad to read you are enjoying some interesting shows ~ they all sound super! Hopefully some of them will appear here too.

    Fascinating story and pictures about the Yorkshire Castle project, and what a project it was! I might have to go and check it out 😉

    If there’s a birdwatch around here, people will be bumping into each other stumbling through the fog ~ it conjures up a funny picture!

  16. Flighty says:

    Divastar it does indeed! Enjoy it if you do watch it! xx

  17. Flighty says:

    Goldenferi hello! I hope that you do get to see them as they’re well worth watching.
    I’m not surprised and I’m sure many of your fellow countrymen and women felt the same.
    The header rose is Valentine Heart. xx

  18. Flighty says:

    Glo it makes a welcome change to have several good ones on at the moment! Here’s hoping!
    I thought that would be of interest.
    A foggy birdwatch sounds rather problematical! xx

  19. Liv says:

    I used to enjoy watching Grand Designs with Mr McCloud also, he’s a very competent host who expresses himself well.

    I find following the lives of elephants very touching. In fact, I was watching polar bears and walruses the other day on Nat Geo and that was touching too.

    There was a pair of courting walruses, and they had their heads out of the water. The male held the female’s face between his flippers and they kissed! How cute is that!?

    xx

  20. Flighty says:

    Liv I’m sure that being presented by him makes for a better programme.
    The elephant documentaries have been brilliant, as was Fridays one about polar bears and grizzlies.
    It’s surprising how affectionate and gentle some animals are! xx

Leave a Reply

