Here it is!

This is yesterday’s planned post which I unexpectedly put aside for the one that I did do.

I didn’t get to watch part one of The Secret Life of Elephants on Wednesday evening but I’ll catch up with on Sunday when it’s being shown again on BBC1 at 6.00pm, or on the BBC iPlayer.  Daffy tells me that it was brilliant but to have a tissue at the ready for a few tears of joy and sadness!

Tonight on BBC2 at 8.00pm is Natural World Mountains of the Monsoon which shows various animals, familiar and unusual, to be found in India’s Western Ghat  mountain ranges.

It’s always good when fellow bloggers mention, and link to, unfamiliar blogs.

Uphilldowndale linked to a superb one in her Blowing in the Wind entry. As you’ll see Natural Moments is a terrific site on bird and wildlife photography with some superb images.

Tina on her Happy Hobby Habit blog did an entry titled I Want That! I don’t blame her as it’s a wonderful Alaskan style  English Cottage Garden!

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Here it is!

  1. You do need a big box of tissues watching The Secret Life of Elephants but it’s worth it.

    My favourite programme at the mo is Victorian Farm as it appeals very much to the historian in me.

    Have a lovely weekend, xx

  2. Collapsing on the sofa with a glass of red wine, a log fire sounds like the way to go, it’s been a long week.

  3. fraggle says:

    Have a lovely weekend xx

  4. Flighty says:

    Yolanda I’ll bear that in mind!
    I’ve been watching that and have found it most interesting.
    Thanks, you too!

  5. Flighty says:

    Uphilldowndale that sounds good to me but make mine a cup of tea please! Enjoy the weekend. xx

  6. Flighty says:

    Fraggle thanks, you too! xx

  7. VP says:

    Have a great weekend Flighty. If you go plotting I think tomorrow’s the day!

    xx

  8. Flighty says:

    VP thanks, you too! If I do I don’t think that I’ll be doing very much! xx

  9. nikkipolani says:

    You know, I’d heard about that Alaskan Cottage Garden via another route but hadn’t visited the site until now. The pictures are amazing — too bad they are such low resolution. I remember an article some years ago about how huge things grow in Alaska (Homer, I believe) because the looooong days. The gardeners planted in raised beds so the soil can warm up quickly.

  10. Liv says:

    Hehe, I thought Nikki would like that. I had no idea you could grow such assorted and fairly tender English plants up in Alaska.
    xx

  11. Glo says:

    Great links! I checked out Natural Wonders from Uphilldowndale’s site, and as you can imagine I love it ~ especially since the location is not far from here ~ similar bird and wildlife. What amazing photos and the quotes chosen to accompany them.

    I have been to Alaska twice in the summertime and the flowers and plants were blooming beautifully there. Alaska is often thought of as just snow and ice, and that is far from true ~ although during the winter it will seem so!

  12. Flighty says:

    Nikki I see that they lift their roses every year! Much as it looks nice is it a touch artificial so to speak. xx

  13. Flighty says:

    Liv no nor did I! xx

  14. Flighty says:

    Glo I agree with what you say about the Natural Wonders site!
    I suppose that most of us think of Alaska as being cold and snowy! xx

  15. Enjoyed looking through the NW site. Love sea otters. As for the special on elephants, if Daffy cried at the sad parts I probably would have too. That Alaskan garden is something else. But to plant so many flowers you need land! Today Nikki said, “We’ve got to find a place for this rose here.” Does that tell you anything?

  16. Flighty says:

    Beginninghere I enjoyed it too, especially that eagle! I’ll be watching the elephant programme this evening so I’ll let you know if I do!
    It certainly is. My mum was always having to find a spot for just one more plant in her fairly small garden! It’s what gardeners do! xx

  17. daffy says:

    You just have to watch the Nellies! You really must! They are so darn cute and you will laugh a little and cry a little and cry some more…
    any friends in the UK only can as Flighty says use the BBC i-player.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/
    at the top, in the search bar just put in the programme name. :o)
    .
    I’ve edited this as the iPlayer can only be viewed in the UK…Flighty

  18. Flighty says:

    Daffy I sat down and watched it on BBC1 earlier this evening. I was enthralled, and yes my eyelashes got slightly damp!
    Unfortunately the iPlayer can only be viewed in the UK, so folks elsewhere will have to wait and see if a DVD will be released sometime. xx

  19. daffy says:

    You know better than I do but I sent the i-player link for a radio programme to a friend in the states and he got it no problem. Do you think the radio player is different perhaps?
    .
    How sad were those two orphaned elephants? :o(

  20. Flighty says:

    Daffy I’ve just checked the BBC iPlayer site and it says UK only. It looks like that’s just for TV programmes in view of what you say.
    Very, and the injured mother and calf as well. I bet you love little Breeze! xx

  21. I had to laugh at your comment about your mum. We all know what that is like I guess. Tell me, how did you like the program on elephants?

  22. Flighty says:

    Beginninghere over the years the lawn virtually disappeared as the flowers beds got bigger!
    I loved it, see my comment to Daffy above! xx

Leave a Reply

