One of the best…

I’ve read this morning over on Chippy’s blog that fellow blogger Beachhutman sadly died during Tuesday in a Beijing hospital.

This sudden news comes as a real shock as George had been a notable, and popular, blogger for many years.

He originally blogged on 20six and then moved  to Platform27. He stayed there when many of us moved yet again as he was able to continue blogging from China where he had worked, and partly lived,  for the past couple of years.

He was quite simply one of the best…

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to One of the best…

  1. daffy says:

    It is indeed very sad. I received a text telling me of the sad news yesterday and it came as a huge shock. George was a lovely gent, very funny and had a talent to take you on a journey with his ups and downs of life. He will be sadly missed.

  2. fraggle says:

    That is very sad, I remember him from 20six he was one of the good guys. I agree with Daffy he will be sadly missed.

  3. That is truly shocking news Flighty. I loved reading his blogs over on 20Six and on Platform27 too and was delighted when he finally decided to move out to China.
    I agree with daffy too, Beachhutman will be sadly, sadly missed.

  4. Chippy says:

    Thanks Mike, I too will miss him, having known him personally we are all now bereft of one seriously unique guy…. especially his comments about greasy fish and chips when I took him to Cleethorpes!

  5. Chippy says:

    Had to do it, this will maybe outlive me….

    http://theworldissaddened.wordpress.com/

  6. nikkipolani says:

    What a shock. I was just over at his site a week ago reading about his latest doings, thinking I didn’t realize he’d be in Beijing so long. I remember the loooong ordeal he had with his mother. Thanks, Chippy, for letting us know.

  7. divastar says:

    So sorry for the loss of your friend Flighty, I never knew him or read his blog but it’s always sad when someone passes away, especially someone you knew xx

  8. Liv says:

    That is sad. I read his blog a few times and enjoyed his expat accounts. It does seem quite a surprise, he seemed so into life and fairly young.
    xx

  9. Flighty says:

    Many thanks to you all for your comments.

  10. Jennyta says:

    I couldn’t believe what I was reading in your post, Flighty. I was a regular reader of George’s blog and often thought how interesting it would be to meet him in real life. I am really shocked at the news.

  11. disgruntled says:

    Terrible news. He was one of the first people (apart from you) to link to me and comment when I first started blogging. He was always funny, even if you didn’t always agree with his point of view.

  12. Flighty says:

    Jenny as we said over on your entry it was such a shame that he didn’t get to enjoy living, and painting, in Spain. xx

  13. Flighty says:

    Disgruntled that was nearly four years ago! He was indeed, regardless of his opinions. xx

  14. The Lemming says:

    What a tragedy. BHM provided an immensely valuable man-on-the-street perspective into everyday life in Beijing; how much a bottle of cheap spirit cost, what things were like in the stores. etc. I had come to depend on his reports to flesh out what we hear from the huge media.

    I shall miss him terribly.

    Enjoy that long, long drive across the Great Bridge in the little red car you so loved, George…may you always have a warm, sunny day for your trip.

    Condolences to all from the USA.

  15. Flighty says:

    The Lemming many thanks for your comment.
    .
    He’ll be greatly missed by many folks.

Leave a Reply

