Reporting for duty

This morning was my first stint as one of the  helpers in the horticultural society’s hut. It was just for a couple of hours and,  not surprisingly,  there were few people there apart from the regulars.  One of the perks of the job is that I get a second cup of tea and another ginger nut to dunk in it!  It was an enjoyable morning and I look forward to reporting for duty again on 15th February, although I’ll be there on the intervening Sundays as usual for bird food.

The seed potatoes that are on order should be delivered during the week and I’ll go and help with off-loading them.  They’re Early Arran Pilot, Foremost and Swift; Second Early Charlotte, Kestral and Marfona; and Main Crop Cara, Desiree, King Edward, Majestic and Picasso.  I shall get one variety each Early and Second Early and two  Main Crop. I’m undecided which ones so I’ll be looking at sites such as the Potato Council.

Last week remained cold  so my brief visits to the plot were just to refill the bird feeders and icy pond. However on Wednesday I stopped to chat with John as he had a good bonfire burning

dscn0919

I arrived there on Thursday morning to be told by Joe and John that during the night thieves had smashed the lock then forced open the metal door to the concrete storage building and taken three of the  rotovators. They had  also broken into a number of the larger sheds but we’re unsure what, if anything, was taken from those.

On a happier note it’s the horticultural society’s 70th anniversary this  year and the annual show will be held, at the nearby sports and social club, on the first Saturday in September. Not only will I be going this year but have been persuaded to enter some of the classes as an exhibitor.  For novices only there’s  six of one variety of runner beans, a collection of one each kind of four different vegetables and one rose bloom. I may enter a few of the other classes as well!

I think that allotmenteers will now be keen to get working on their plots again. One of my first jobs will be to sort out my new compost bin now that I’ve got some suitable wood pallets, which I dropped off there on Friday.

Here’s hoping that this year is a good one for all gardeners!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Reporting for duty

  1. fraggle says:

    Quite a few allotments are being broken into at the moment,there was a piece on our local news friday the gardeners,had a rota the veggie-lanties to take it in turns in twos or threes watching the plots.A second cup of tea and ginger biscuit is always good x

  2. VP says:

    That looks a cracking fire. Do enter the show – it’s a lot of fun. I entered my first one last year.

  3. Liv says:

    What kind of thieves bother to go out on a freezing winter’s night?

    I can smell the bonfire, feel the heat and how cold you are at the edges of it, and combined with imagining the taste of a good cuppa tea and a ginger nut, makes me feel cozy from thousands of miles away! xx

  4. nikkipolani says:

    How fun to have fellow allotmenteers to hang out with and show vegetables and commiserate when lousy thieves break in. I can sense the anticipation for spring already 🙂

  5. Flighty says:

    Fraggle sadly it seems inevitable that it will happen sooner or later nowadays.
    They are indeed! xx

  6. Flighty says:

    VP it was very toasty! I wish I’d known about it before I went as I would have taken some potatoes and sausages to cook in it!
    I will and I’ll obviously let you all know how I get on! xx

  7. Flighty says:

    Liv those rotovators would be worth at least several hundred pounds to them. It was also misty so their actions wouldn’t be visible from the flats overlooking the site.
    I’ve always loved bonfires, especially ones like that on a cold day! Stay cosy! xx

  8. Flighty says:

    Nikki the annual show is the highlight of the society’s year!
    Thanks, it’s not just the theft but the damage caused and so on that adds to the sense of outrage.
    Several people at the hut said the same thing! xx

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Yes, a shame at the loss of expensive equipment and damage done. I hate looters of any stripe.

  10. That’s the one downside to having an allotment, it’s open and vulnerable to attack by the low life that blight our lives. Sorry to hear about your break in.
    I hope you enjoyed your well earned 2nd cuppa and ginger biscuit too ??
    Good luck with the show too… get growing !!!

  11. Flighty says:

    Nikki sadly it’s an all too common occurrence nowadays! I’m sure that we all do! xx

  12. Flighty says:

    AssortedPixels you’re so right, and thanks.
    I did indeed.
    I’ll need it I reckon, and I will as soon as spring arrives! Cheers.

  13. That looks like a nice bonfire, I hope it provided you with some much needed warmth. Good luck with building a compost bin and with entering, for the first time, at the hort. show.

    cheerio, xx

  14. Flighty says:

    Yolanda it was and it did! The new compost bin will replace the present two temporary ones.
    As for entering the horticultural show I’m sure that I’ll be telling you all lots more that over the coming months. Take care! xx

  15. ip says:

    There’s something about a bonfire on a cold day to bring people together, and I hope if the police ever catch these low-life scum, they make them act as labourers for those who want to make the world a slightly-more-green place!

  16. Glo says:

    When I read the title of your blog entry, “Reporting for Duty”, I envisaged you leaving home, and then momentarily standing at attention “atten-HUT “, Mark Time – HUT, before marching off down the street Left flank – HUT, Right flank – HUT ~ until arriving at your destination and reporting for duty at the horticultural society HUT. 😉
    That’s how my mind works…

    Lovely bonfire. Do you toast marshmallows ~ or hot dogs ~ over an open flame in the UK? That’s what would come to mind here ~

    Sorry to hear about the thieving ~ disheartening!

    I’m not going to think about next fall yet when the horticultural society has its show, but I will think about spring when the planting for such an event will take place 🙂 In the meantime, I’m enjoying the fact that the snow is disappearing.

    A lot of seed potatoes to pick through and decide which ones!

  17. Flighty says:

    IP on a cold day a good bonfire is like a magnet! It’s unlikely they’ll be caught but if they were then I’d have them clearing the local streams which are full of junk! Cheers.

  18. Flighty says:

    Glo I laughed at your comment as I sauntered there in double slow time!
    We go for potatoes wrapped in silver foil and sausages, or at least I do!
    Thanks, sadly it’s something that we are resigned to have happen now and again.
    As you say spring first with the planting and sowing!
    I’m spoilt for choice but think I’m going for Swift, Kestrel, Cara and Desiree. xx

  19. There are many rewarding things about gardening and one of them is certainly the social exchange with other gardeners. The HS appreciates your volunteering I am sure. (So sorry to hear about the lousy thieves attack. I hope that the loss can be amended.) The grand event in September is something to look forward to. I hope your garden will make you proud. You are having cold weather whilst we are having summer weather. The sun was so hot on my back yesterday morning I had to come in!

  20. Flighty says:

    Beginninghere I agree with what you say about the social side. The society, like many, relies on a few members for such duties so new people are always welcome.
    Thanks. What was taken can be replaced but the theft and damage will leave an impact for a while.
    The show will certainly spur me on over the coming months.
    As for your weather…! xx

  21. divastar says:

    Oooh I know nags will be green with envy at the bonfire, I won’t let him have one in our garden because he’s so like Frank Spencer that I just know he’d end up buring someone’s fence or worse, house down! LOL So he’ll have to make do with looking at John’s tidy bonfire instead! 😉
    xxx

  22. Flighty says:

    Divastar I don’t blame him as it was a real beauty!
    I think that bonfires, like sheds, are very much a boys thing! xx

  23. daffy says:

    *Daffy pulls up chair..takes off shoes and socks and wiggles toes in front of the fire* :o)
    My hubby does our bonfires in a bin… still warm but not as authentic looking!

  24. Flighty says:

    Daffy that sounds toasty warm!
    I’ve got an old metal dustbin on the plot which I use as an incinerator, which as you say is not as good as a proper bonfire. xx

  25. Ellie says:

    Lots going on, then! Shame about the break-in. I suppose they target the winter months as fewer people are on the plots.

    How exciting that you will be entering a show. I’ve never dared! I look forward to seeing the photos.

  26. Flighty says:

    Ellie yes but not much actual plotting! Yes a real shame, and that’s quite possible.
    Mmm I actually got talked into it! I shall keep you all informed as to how I get on. xx

  27. Liz says:

    So, you became a horticulture society helper! So sorry to hear about the vandalism.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz I did, but sadly resigned a couple of years ago. Thankfully my shed has never been touched, I guess thanks to it’s small size and being in full view of the nearby flats. xx

Leave a Reply

