Cuckoo and elephants

On BBC2 tomorrow at 8.00pm is the programme Natural World – Cuckoo narrated by David Attenborough. It looks to be a fascinating film about this bird which is  a cheat, thief and killer! It’s being repeated on BBC2 Sunday at 5.00pm.

That’s one bird that won’t be be seen over the weekend of the 24th/25th which is the date for this year’s RSPB 30th anniversary Big Garden Birdwatch. I’ll mention this again a couple of days beforehand.

On BBC1 next Wednesday at 9.00pm is the first of an interesting looking new three part series  The Secret Life of Elephants filmed at Kenya’s Sambura reserve and presented by Saba Douglas-HamiltonSave the Elephants is a site dedicated to securing a future for them and sustaining the beauty of the places where they live.

I’m sure that Daffy will  settle down to watch this as  elephants are her favourite wild animals. Mine is  Sammy’s big cousin the wonderful snow leopard. Do you have a favourite wild animal?

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Cuckoo and elephants

  1. Fabulous says:

    Oooh the line up looks great. My fav wild animal.. *thinks* I love penguins. LOVE THEM.
    I always thought it would be great to have a little penguin follow you down the road with its funny walk.

  2. Flighty says:

    Fabulous it’s not surprising that penguins are as popular as they are, and must be many peoples favourite.
    I’m sure that if you followed one then you’d end up trying to walk like that! xx

  3. daffy says:

    Flighty this is a smashing post. (Well worth the little wait this morning) I must admit that I’ve visited and read in sessions! ;o)
    The Elephant programme is a must see! I won’t forget.
    Is it the cuckoo who goes into other birds nests?
    oooh I hope my woodpecker makes an appearance on the garden birdwatch day! (and the Sparrow hawk!) xx

  4. daffy says:

    Flighty, you may have seen this already but just in case you haven’t…..
    http://www.snowleopard.org/

  5. Maureen says:

    Thanks for the info about the TV shows to look out for!

    I can’t pick just one favourite wild animal – I love elephants but I also admire wolves and dolphins.

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Wouldn’t it be fun to get all of us together on a sofa or two and watch these shows? You’re right about these big cats being related. Sometimes I can see that panther-like slink as Sammy walks down the hall or a leopard-like hunch as Minou prepares to leap or a lion-like yawn as Emmaline stretches 🙂

  7. Liv says:

    I think I’ve seen Saba talking about big cats in the past….a bit fuzzy…but was it called the Secret Life of Tigers or something?

    Nikki – oddly enough, rabbits do lion-like yawns too, with the whole stretch paws butt up too. First time I saw it I couldn’t believe my eyes!

    xx

  8. Flighty says:

    Daffy thanks, and sorry that you had to wait for it this morning! I’ll remind you next week.
    This tells you what they do
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Common_Cuckoo#Brood_parasite_behaviour
    It’d be good if I see something good for Birdwatch as well as I normally don’t see much at all!
    Thanks, I have seen it before. xx

  9. Flighty says:

    Maureen you’re welcome!
    Elephants and dolphins are always popular choices, but wolves are unusual! xx

  10. Flighty says:

    Nikki it would indeed! Cats, big or small, or such wonderful creatures! xx

  11. Flighty says:

    Liv it’s more likely to have been about one of the African cats – lions, cheetahs or leopards. xx

  12. fraggle says:

    I like deer which is handy living next to cannock chase and go and see them often ,well at the moment parts of its closed to public as a disease is spreading and spores carried on clothes,animals etc can be carried to our gardens.

    I also like primates especially chimpanzees x

  13. Flighty says:

    Fraggle it must be nice to see deer like that. I always think of the tea adverts when chimps are mentioned!
    I’m so glad that I don’t have to type 11 e’s any more! xx

  14. Chippy says:

    Already got the list noted on my digibox, I like anything to do with nature, animals etc, just a shame a lot of it is only a repeat [again] so nice to see new stuff from time to time…

  15. Louise says:

    I shall be watching the Cuckoo, although I shall not delight in watching its murderous traits. I am only just getting over the antics of the Barn Owl on Springwatch! I hope you are well Flighty, and a Happy New Year to you. x

  16. Flighty says:

    Chippy good for you! Much as I like watching occasional repeats there are generally far too many. Cheers!

  17. Flighty says:

    Louise hello! It’s not a nice bird that’s for sure.
    I am thanks, as I hope you are as well, and to you also! xx

  18. VP says:

    Did you see the bit about the cuckoo programme on Breakfast News this morning. Utterly fascinating and the nation’s cuckoo expert is a scientist who can communicate in an engaging way too – a rare species indeed.

    Have a great weekend!

  19. Flighty says:

    VP no I didn’t! This programme seems to be generating a lot of interest as I’ve just read this
    http://www.independent.co.uk/environment/nature/the-cuckoo-a-cheat-a-thief-and-a-killer-1242597.html
    Thanks, you too! xx

  20. Glo says:

    When I first read your title I thought it might be about a couple of your blog friends ~ the cuckoo and the elephant…don’t know which would be who of course 😉 Anyway, I should have realized it was Thursday’s posting! Looks like some good programs ~ I’ll check out the link!

  21. Flighty says:

    Glo I wouldn’t dare!
    The cuckoo programme was really interesting.
    Enjoy the links! xx

Leave a Reply

