Roll on summer!

Yesterday I walked to hut via the ecology park and the plot. It was well frosty but a close look at one of these on a nearby tree branch cheered me up!

It was good to chat with the folks who were there whilst drinking a cup of tea and dunking a couple of these. Next week will be my first stint as a hut helper which I’m looking forward to!

This morning there was a covering of snow here! As you can see from these plot photos it was very bleak.

An icy pond

An icy pond

A snowy log pile

A snowy log pile

Where's the flowers?

Where's the flowers?

The vegetable patch

The vegetable patch

Roll on summer!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Roll on summer!

  1. Chippy says:

    Looks a bit bleak at the moment but come some decent weather you’ll soon have it back in shape, no snow here ‘yet’ but minus 9 overnight and not looking good at the moment, ice everywhere and low, dark clouds!

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Know what I see? Everyone taking a nice long nap. Summer will come again and life will return πŸ™‚

  3. daffy says:

    Where have all the flowers gone…
    Long time passing….
    *warbles*
    I see those birds a bit too, sometime fairly close up… Our sparrowhawk is causing garden unrest at the moment!
    A little snow here today but nothing too frightening!
    Summertime sooooooooon. xx

  4. VP says:

    We’ve had snow today too – brrrr!

    BUT there’s some snowdrops daring to show their heads above it all. In bud, but definitely there πŸ™‚

    xx

  5. Flighty says:

    Chippy I’m sure I will! It’s not been quite that cold over night there thankfully. Cheers!

  6. Flighty says:

    Nikki that’s a good way of looking at it! There are already signs of some plants stirring. xx

  7. Flighty says:

    Daffy very tuneful! It’s the first one I’ve seen there.
    I bet it is. The snow had gone by mid morning thankfully!
    It’ll be here before we know it, and no doubt moaning about a drought and the heat! xx

  8. Flighty says:

    VP it seems to have been quite widespread!
    It’s always nice to see snowdrops. xx

  9. divastar says:

    I love springtime myself, it’s such a magical time of things blossoming and the greenery waking up, little buds bursting through the hard, barren ground, trees getting flecks of green ready to unfurl in to leaves that the wind will make sound like the sea flowing on to a warm beach somewhere, and birds start to sing for all they are worth because the mornings get brighter and all of it builds excitement for the beginning of summer. Lovely πŸ™‚ xxx

  10. Liv says:

    Eeeh, that’s wet snow. I know just how it feels when it’s like that over there πŸ˜‰
    ‘Ere! Somebody get that sun back out!
    xx

  11. Liv says:

    Oh I say, Diva’s waxing lyrical πŸ™‚ I like that! xx

  12. Flighty says:

    Divastar it all sounds so lovely!
    I like both spring and autumn. xx

  13. Flighty says:

    Liv thankfully it had gone in a few hours. The sun really does make a difference at this time of year.
    She certainly is, and I like it too! xx

  14. Glo says:

    Nice to see that we aren’t the only country that got a covering, but at least you can see that there’s land under it and you don’t have to dig yourself out! ‘Nuff said about snow!!! I like the frozen pond ~ and can picture Frog Newton having a grand old time doing some fancy skating footwork ~ humming the Skater’s Waltz in his own throaty way πŸ™‚

  15. Flighty says:

    Glo just a light dusting here so far thankfully!
    The ecology park pond has ice thick enough to walk on, and it’s big enough for a skate round! xx

  16. Flighty, whenever you mention tea I want a cup too πŸ™‚ I can see why you look forward to summer. Those frosty pictures look chilly! Perhaps Glo is smiling from behind one of her snow driftsβ€”ha! I look forward to hearing about your experiences as a hut helper.

  17. Flighty says:

    Beginninghere did you mention tea? I’ll be happy with a good spring for a start.
    It certainly was rather nippy! Mmm she probably is!
    It’s only once a month, and I will mention it here. xx

  18. daffy says:

    Come on! It’s THURSDAY! I know you have nellies on the menu….
    *waits patiently for new post*
    It’s warming up here Flighty, it was an almost tropical 5 degrees yesterday! I spy a little frost today but it still seems to getting warmer. xx

  19. Flighty says:

    Daffy sorry I got off to a slow start today!
    It’s still cold here but it looks like being warmer from Sunday! xx

Leave a Reply

