Resolutions, a reminder and roses

I don’t generally make resolutions at this time of year,  but I do resolve to continue to try and become an even greener Flighty.

This is a helpful article, that was in Friday’s on-line Guardian, for what to do with all that excessive Christmas waste that we generated.

On BBC2 next Wednesday at 8.00pm is the first in a new series of It’s Not Easy Being Green presented by Dick Strawbridge.

A reminder that if you decide to wrap up warm and venture out into the countryside then have a look at the  January Wildlife Highlights , on the excellent When to Watch Wildlife site, to find out what you’re likely to see.

As you can see it’s stopped snowing here on this blog and I’ve changed the header to show some of my Valentine Heart roses that were among the plot stars of last summer.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Resolutions, a reminder and roses

  1. nikkipolani says:

    Very pretty new header, Flighty! A nice change to the sticks I’ve been looking at for the last few days.

  2. Flighty says:

    Nikki thanks, I knew that you’d like it!
    It’s so bleak, and darn cold, on the plot at present that I wanted a reminder of warmer days! xx

  3. Anonymous says:

    Lovely header Flighty!
    Being greener is a good thing…I’m a pretty good recycler now!
    x

  4. daffy says:

    :o) That was me, I can’t be bothered to log in! (or write my name it would seem!) xx

  5. Flighty says:

    Daffy thanks! It certainly is, and so am I! xx

  6. meeeeeeeeeee says:

    lovely header,I’m quite good at recycling only things that go in household waste is usually nappies and crisp packets that cant be recyled x

  7. Glo says:

    The Three R’s according to Flighty  How lovely to see the roses ~ your Valentine roses were indeed stars, and not only that but you are already ready for Valentine’s day next month!

    Kermit sings, “It’s not easy being green…”, and perhaps Frog Newton agrees, but for the rest of us, it’s not too difficult to increase our awareness of being ‘greener’. My sons are very environmentally conscious ~ including wrapping Christmas presents in newspaper which is then put back in the recycle bin! Nice touch 😉 My compost is hidden under the snow at the moment! What specific “greener” things are you hoping to do?

    I love the idea of January Wildlife Highlights, and once the roads and walkways are more passable, I’ll be out there with my camera checking out my favorite haunts. An interesting link!

    As far as resolutions go, I am hoping to get to bed earlier because I’m a bit of a night owl, and with a new job starting, it seems like a good plan. I’d also like to walk there and back once the roads clear up, so I guess it’s all about being healthier ~ and not looking green. 😉

  8. Flighty says:

    Meeeeeeeeeee thanks! Good for you.
    I’m sure that some people would take issue about the disposable nappies but not me! xx

  9. Flighty says:

    Glo I’ll probably leave this header up until after Valentine’s Day.
    I shall read through my copy of
    http://greenbooks.co.uk/store/product_info.php?products_id=253&osCsid=ngel9on6epc2c5qkutfd0c7na5
    to see what I’m not doing and can do.
    Yes the When to Watch Wildlife is a really good site.
    They’re two sensible, healthy resolutions! xx

  10. VP says:

    Happy New Year!

    And I see you’re putting together some good resources to go with your NYR!

    xx

  11. Liv says:

    Good for you making a resolution. I never do that. I did make one last week, but have already forgotten what it was.

    I found out that we can recycle paper, contrary to my roomie’s insistence that we can’t. Why else would the landladies downstairs stuff one whole bin with paper alone? And the sticker on the outside specifies you can put in paper and cardboard! Pah. xx

  12. Liv says:

    P.S. Everything else recycles too, but for some reason roomie said that paper was the only thing that didn’t….

  13. Flighty says:

    VP thanks, and to you too! xx

  14. Flighty says:

    Liv I generally don’t but this has been mine for the past few years.
    She’s obviously got it wrong, paper is generally top of the list! xx

  15. Enjoying your new header Flighty. Have to say I am not good at making and keeping resolutions but do think of projects I would like to tackle. As for recycling, looks like our town will begin using specially colored bins for the purpose this year.

  16. Flighty says:

    Beginninghere thanks! I think that’s the same for most of us!
    I guess that recycling will get ever more commonplace everywhere over the next few years. xx

Leave a Reply

