The plot and the hut

It rained all day on Saturday so needless to say the plot is not only looking rather bleak but extremely soggy as well. I guess that for the next few weeks I’ll be doing little more than refilling the bird feeders

dscn0896

and checking the pond

dscn0868

That’s a Starling on the nut feeder, and in the second photo you can just about see the pond to the middle right. I presume the the flattened grass to the middle left was made by a fox curled up and resting.

The horticultural society held it’s Christmas party in the hut on Sunday morning. There were around 40 people there chatting, eating and drinking for a couple of hours. Towards the end a raffle took place with Santa handing out the prizes. I actually won one of them much to my surprise.  It’s a cast resin(?) decorative which can be hung on the wall  with hooks for keys or whatever.  It’s on a sheet of A4 paper to give some idea of size

dscn0898

The frogs aren’t part of it but were inside Christmas crackers that I, and someone else, had!

I also got given a large paper bag full of various bulbs, mostly daffodils and some hyacinths.

Yesterday morning I was back there to help with stock taking which didn’t take more than a couple of hours. I came home with a very generous  doggy bag which included a big slice of very tasty Christmas cake.

The hut will be closed for the next two Sundays so I had to buy lots of bird food to hopefully last until it re-opens.

Next year I’m on the rota of hut helpers which means being there one Sunday morning a month for the couple of hours that it’s open.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The plot and the hut

  1. Liv says:

    Mmmm, Xmas cake 🙂
    I hope my cousins make some – well, they make black cake with glace fruits that have been soaking in rum for a year, West Indian style, topped with marzipan and hard icing.

    What you need is some snow to mix up the rain routine a bit!
    xx

  2. Flighty says:

    Liv it was quite delicious!
    Fingers crossed it’s due to stay dry and get warmer for a few days at least!
    As for snow…no thanks! xx

  3. daffy says:

    Yay for becoming a hut helper! Fabulous!
    I love your prize and the froggies seem to like it too!
    Good shot of the stinky starling Flighty! I always get a giggle at them when they come ambling into my garden! Trouble with a definite capital ‘T’ :o)
    It’s soggy and miserable here but I’m just glad it’s not snowing! :o)

  4. Fabulous says:

    boo to rain. Mind you if it snowed then you wouldnt of got anything done either.
    Hurrah for doggy bags.
    I am not too keen on Christmas cake so i bought one for my boy (who loves it) and iced it myself. I only like the icing and marzipan so i will be picking that all off and eating that!! After i leave a nice big chunk out for santa with the girlie. x

  5. Sounds like you had a great time at the party and BTW what did the doggy think of the doggy bag. 😉 And how appropriate that you found a frog in your Christmas cracker.

    Don’t forget to plant the bulbs you’ve won, you can plant them up in pots too if you’re not keen on working in a very cold and soggy soil.

    cheerio, xx

  6. Flighty says:

    Daffy I got “volunteered” as I call in every Sunday anyway, and have tea and biscuits whilst there!
    I was surprised, and pleased, at winning a prize.
    I nearly always see starlings on the allotments, and they’re usually on the nut feeder as well.
    I’m sorry to hear that the weather still isn’t good there. xx

  7. Flighty says:

    Fabulous boo indeed! That’s true but I would have taken some photos!
    This cake didn’t have any icing or marzipan so you wouldn’t have been keen on it at all! xx

  8. Flighty says:

    Yolanda it was very pleasant. If I had a dog like Tara I’m sure she would have loved the contents!
    Yes the frog made me laugh when it fell out of the cracker!
    The forecast is for dry, and warmer, weather over the next few days so I’m hoping to plant the bulbs. I will put some in pots as well. xx

  9. nikkipolani says:

    It’s nice to be amongst the raffle winners, isn’t it? I like the prize you got and the bag of bulbs would be welcome, too. I have always thought your little shed was handsome – even when you’ve had nothing but a rainy day.

  10. Flighty says:

    Nikki yes especially as I so rarely do win anything! I might hang it on the inside of the shed door.
    If you look very closely you’ll see a silver heart tacked to the left hand side of the shed just under the roof edge. I’ll take a close up of it and include it in a future entry along with how I was ‘awarded’ it! xx

  11. birdnoggin says:

    Hey, a shed with a heart! Sorry it is so darn soggy, but you seem to be having a good time with the horticultural bunch. I bet you laughed when the frogs hopped out of your cracker! That Frog Newton doesn’t like to be left out of anything ~ he must be crackers! I can picture a fox settled near the pond, perhaps sharing a little Christmas cheer with him. Nice idea to hang “your win” in the shed…Hope you saw the link re bird adaptations I put in my answer to your comment on my blog ~ http://birdnoggin.wordpress.com/

  12. birdnoggin says:

    Yay, Frog and Fox 🙂

  13. Glo says:

    Who’s the birdbrain around here?~ somehow I’ve got birdnoggin posting for me….

  14. Flighty says:

    Birdnoggin hello and a warm welcome! That’s right! It’s drier now, and yes they’re a good crowd.
    I laughed out loud when mine fell out of the pulled cracker!
    I love the blog, which I’ve added to my Lawn loungers list, and that fox and frog picture. I’ll include the latter in the next Frog ponderings entry.
    .
    Glo me probably! That is all brilliant and had me laughing out loud when I saw it earlier today! xx

  15. nikkipolani says:

    Glo and Flighty, I loved Birdnoggin’s brilliant entry! Glo seems to have found the rare red-capped junco in her neighbourhood. What’ll we find next!!?

  16. Always enjoy a shot of your picturesque garden shed. I wish we had room for one! Well, with a soggy plot you’ll have a little time off of regular gardening. (The rain continues here too. Its “sympathy” rain.) Your Christmas get-together sounded friendly and yummy too.

  17. Flighty says:

    Beginninghere it’s “tinyesque” as well. That’s true, but I’d like to be able to do something soon!
    It was most enjoyable thanks. xx

Leave a Reply

