Plot plants ~ Sunflowers

Sunflowers were such a delight to see on the plot that I intend growing lots more next year.

There’ll be the classic Giant Singles (above) and some multi-headed Autumn Beauties (below),  which didn’t fare too well this year due to the miserable weather soon after they bloomed.

dscn0747

The Great Sunflower Project may be of interest to anyone in America or Canada.  My thanks to Tina who did an entry about it recently on her blog  Happy Hobby Habit.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Plot plants ~ Sunflowers

  1. Jennyta says:

    Sunflowers are one of my favourite flowers- maybe because my star sign is Leo. 😉

  2. VP says:

    Hi Flighty – some cheerful sunshine, just what’s needed now it’s getting dark. I’ve just put in my seed order for next year and included a multi-flowered variety for next year 🙂
    xx

  3. nikkipolani says:

    What a wonderful bright sight to remind you what you’ll be wanting to see more of next year! Sounds like you have some nice weeks of planning ahead as you gather ideas and seeds.

  4. Flighty says:

    Jenny I can see why they’re one of your favourites! xx

  5. Flighty says:

    VP it was so bleak and soggy at the plot this morning that I needed cheering up!
    I’ll probably get at least one other variety besides these two. xx

  6. Flighty says:

    Nikki I’m planning on a real sunshine plot next year! I’m pondering on various ideas, and which seeds to get from an ever growing list! xx

  7. Chippy says:

    If you happen to come across any ‘spare’ sunflower seeds from the last crop that need a good home !!!! LOL

  8. Ellie says:

    What beautiful sunflowers! Mine were a disappointment this year – only one came up and the petals were chewed by something. I shall persevere though, as they are so cheerful. x

  9. Liv says:

    Ah, the lovely tournesols! 😉
    A pleasant thing to see in the bleak midwinter.
    xx

  10. Flighty says:

    Chippy I’ll probably have some to spare.
    I’ll email you early in the New Year. Cheers!

  11. Flighty says:

    Ellie thanks! I’m not surprised as it wasn’t a good year for them apparently, and not surpisingly.
    In view of that I was really pleased with the ones that did grow and flower on the plot! xx

  12. Flighty says:

    Liv they faced east all the time, waiting in vain for some sunshine I suppose!
    All that’s left of them are the now brown stems sadly. xx

  13. Flighty, your photos remind me of the huge fields of giant sunflowers on either side of the highway on the way to Paris from Brussels. They are such a cheery flower.

  14. Flighty says:

    Beginninghere now that is truly a magnificent sight! They are indeed! xx

  15. Glo says:

    Gosh, it doesn’t really seem that long ago that we were enjoying sunflowers growing in the garden, and now… snow flowers!

    Lovely to see their bright faces ~ are you going to leave the stem-sticks in the ground? They are as tough as nails! Maybe you could grow some sweet peas up them?

    Interesting link re bee count! I’ll think on it!

  16. Liv says:

    I think I should have said, “A pleasant picture to look at in the bleak midwinter”
    xx

  17. I love the russet red ones too, I always think I’ve left it to late to sow them, do you start them in pots or sow where they will flower?

  18. daffy says:

    Very pretty!
    Yellow is such a happy, vibrant colour that evokes smiles I think. :o)

  19. Flighty says:

    Glo I agree it doesn’t! It’ll be snowdrops that will be in flower soon.
    I’m leaving them all until the spring. A few have surprising thick stems. That’s a good idea!
    I thought that link was worth a mention. xx

  20. Flighty says:

    Liv I did assume that’s what you meant! xx

  21. Flighty says:

    Uphilldowndale sunflowers come in a surprising range of colours. I may well try a variety that’s not yellow.
    I wouldn’t worry about how late you sow them. I sowed all mine direct but may try some in pots as well next year. xx

  22. Flighty says:

    Daffy they are indeed! It is and it does, so we should be smiling quite a lot next year! xx

Leave a Reply

