Gardeners, flyers and wildlife

Tomorrow evening I shall settle down to watch two very contrasting programmes on BBC2.

At 8.00pm there is Gardener of the Decade in which five previous winners of Gardener of the Year compete for this award. It comes from the Eden Project in Cornwall which has long been on my must visit list!

That’s followed at 9.00pm by an hour and a half documentary RAF at 90. I shall be particularly interested in the early years as I’ve recently read a couple of books for this period including On a Wing and a Prayer by Joshua Levine.

There’s nothing new on next week worth mentioning here but there are two repeats on BBC2 Sunday evening .

At 7.10pm there is Natural World Cork – Forest in a Bottle which explores the Alentejo region of Portugal which has some of Europe’s rarest wildflowers and nesting places for booted eagles.

That’s followed at 8.00pm by Coast Cornwall and The Isles of Scilly.

Lastly I have a confession to make! I’ve been watching some day-time television. Last week and this I’ve been watching Gardeners’ World Top Tips and Nature’s Top 40.

I’ve  enjoyed the latter and was surprised to see what is at number 24!

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Gardeners, flyers and wildlife

  1. nikkipolani says:

    “Day-time television” sounds pretty toxic, but it’s nice to find that there are some programs worth seeing like Gardeners’ World 🙂 I like the tale of the parakeets’ arrival to England.

  2. nikkipolani says:

    And a very nice Christmasy header you’ve got there!

  3. Flighty says:

    Nikki lets just say that day-time TV can be pretty dire with a few exceptions like these. Yes it’s a good tale isn’t it!
    Thanks, it’ll be there until the new year then it’ll be a new one taken on the plot during this year. xx

  4. Glo says:

    A lovely variety of programmes to view! I got a kick out of your daytime TV comment! I’m sure you would only watch something that is informative or interesting. Any of that other stuff makes me shudder at the thought ~ or perhaps it was a shiver since the snow may be coming…;)

  5. Liv says:

    I still find the Eden Project intriguing and wonder how much it will evolve in years to come.

    Do a lot of scilly people live on the Isles of Scilly? 😉

    xx

  6. Sometimes there are things worthwhile watching on daytime tv. Amazing but true. 😉 Those number 24s fly around the Dutch coutryside too. I even had one in my garden a few years ago.

    Have a great weekend! xx

  7. meeeeeeeeeee says:

    I don’t get to watch daytime tv,if do its cee-beebies.
    hope you have a good weekend !xx

  8. Flighty says:

    Glo there is indeed! They’re easily overlooked because there’s so much dross!
    It been cold here but it’s rain that’s due tomorrow! xx

  9. Flighty says:

    Liv it’s a fascinating project and I know that there are lots of plans for the future.
    I used to work with someone from there and you couldn’t meet a nicer person! xx

  10. Flighty says:

    Yolanda I know but not very many!
    I think that it’s a bird that is going to become very commonplace here, and there, in the future.
    Thanks, you too! xx

  11. Flighty says:

    Meeeeeeeeeee you’re not missing much, but watching cee-beebies with children must be fun!
    Thanks, you too! xx

  12. The pictures of Eden look inviting. Would like to take a trip there myself. Enjoyed the link about the parakeets too. We have some of a different breed that flock to our neighborhood from time to time. They are bright green and make the loudest screeching sound.

  13. Flighty says:

    Beginninghere it certainly looks to be a fascinating place to visit.
    I suppose that we’ll get used to what seems to be such an exotic bird, and they sure are noisy! xx

Leave a Reply

