Thanks to More Veg

Having enjoyed growing some vegetables this year and got a lot of satisfaction eating them I’ve been thinking about what to grow next year.

Seed Potatoes and onion sets I shall buy from the Horticultural Society in the new year, and I’ve got a couple of packets of tomato seeds – all of which I’ll write about another time.

I made a list of what I’d like to grow, and following a couple of recommendations I decided to order eight packets of vegetable seeds for just over £5 inc. p&p  from More Veg. As the  excellent website says they supply vegetable, and herb, seeds in realistic quantities at affordable prices.

I ordered online on a Thursday evening, got a confirmation email the following afternoon that they’d been posted and received them the following Monday. Not only was the service prompt but the packing and contents were first class.

This is what I got, and note that the figure in brackets is the number of seeds.

Beans, Runner White emergo (24)…has white flowers, a vigourous nature, withstands adverse weather and has a delicious flavour.

Beetroot Burpees Golden (50)…a sweet tasting orange-yellow root that does not bleed.

Carrot Little Fingers (150)…just 10 cm long, sweet and tender which can be harvested in 8/9 weeks.

Courgette All Green Bush (6)…a popular and reliable variety with dark green fruits best cut when about 10 cm long.

Cucumber Bush Crop (4)…a compact bushy plant with 15 cm fruits.

Lettuce Buttercrunch (50)…has small dense upright heads with a crisp and crunchy texture.

Spring Onion Summer Isle (100)…has a sweet mild flavour and is early maturing.

Sweet Corn Golden Bantam (20)…is a classic old variety with slender 18 cm cobs which is wind resistant.

I reckon that for anyone who cannot afford  to spend much on seeds or just has a small area, perhaps even a few containers, to grow vegetables in then buying them like this really does seem a sensible option.

I thought that I did quite well this year despite doing little more than just planting the seeds. Next year I shall be devoting more time and attention to them. With that, and hopefully some better weather, I should be eating more veg thanks to _wsb_keyvisual

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Thanks to More Veg

  1. Maureen says:

    MoreVeg sounds excellent. I’m impressed with everything you got for just £5 and the speed of their service. Thanks for sharing the info and the link.

  2. Flighty says:

    Maureen a friend grows small quantities of vegetables and herbs in containers. She has got her seeds from MoreVeg the past couple of years and highly recommends them. xx

  3. VP says:

    I’ve just been watching the ‘snow’ on your blog. How does that work then?

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend 🙂

  4. Flighty says:

    VP it’s courtesy of WordPress from now until early in the New Year. It’s an extra that can be turned off if it’s not wanted.
    Thanks, you too! xx

  5. Chippy says:

    Thinking about growing herbs here, obviously in pots or troughs, might even dig up a strip of the lawn if I can decide on something to grow that I’ll use on a regular basis…

  6. divastar says:

    I really wanted to do a vegetable patch in my garden when I moved here but after one thing and another I never got the time, but I have recently signed up for a scheme that gets local people to do organic gardening in your own garden and you take 40% of the vegetables grown (they take the other 60%). I hope it does work out because it would mean that we’ll get some delicious, fresh seasonal fruit and veg – YUM! 🙂 xx

  7. Flighty says:

    Chippy that sounds a good idea. Do let us know what you decide to grow and how you get on. Cheers!

  8. Flighty says:

    Divastar it’s not surprising that you didn’t do anything this year!
    That scheme sounds like a good idea. Do let us know more, perhaps via a blog entry, and how you get on next year. xx

  9. Fabulous says:

    Well i think your gonna be set for veggies next year and maybe if its still really cold then you could make lots of yummy veg soup. I wish we had space in our garden for a little patch but we only have a border. It didnt stop my boy growing some potatoes. Cant say they tasted very nice but at least he gave it a go.
    Bet your looking forward to your lovely fresh veggies. well done you. x

  10. Flighty, my mouth is watering! I am so jealous of your golden beetroot! Your planting ideas sound delicious. With the extra care you plan to give them you ‘ll have a good crop I am sure. Perhaps we will try tomatoes again this next year… Isn’t it a pleasure to find a good supplier?

  11. nikkipolani says:

    That is quite a terrific list! I’ve been wanting to try beans. You may find that the golden beets don’t germinate well, so plant plenty!

  12. Flighty says:

    Fabulous I reckon so! I hope to be eating salads in warm weather not soup in cold!
    How about using a few containers?
    I am indeed, and thanks! xx

  13. Flighty says:

    Beginninghere so’s mine! Be jealous when I’ve grown and eaten some!
    I do hope so. I think that the tomatoes will be the hardest to grow. Yes indeed! xx

  14. Flighty says:

    Nikki I spent a long time deciding what vegetables, then what varieties, to get! I’m hoping that the runner beans will do as well as this year.
    I’ll bear that in mind with the beets! xx

  15. Liv says:

    My uncle brings home some wonderful produce from his allotment. Looks like next year you’ll be opening your own market stall!

    “Golden bantam” and “buttercrunch” sound great don’t they?

    xx

  16. Flighty says:

    Liv so do some of my plot neighbours.
    I’m not growing that much, besides selling vegetables that I’ve grown is not allowed!
    Yes they conjure up wonderful images! xx

  17. Mildew says:

    That’s a most excellent site, Flighty! I think I shall be using that for next year, I’ve had so much seed go to waste because it never gets planted.

  18. Glo says:

    Glad to see you’re vegging out 😉 Sounds like you have put a lot of thought into your selections ~ nice to think of new greens as the seasons change.

  19. Flighty says:

    Mildew hello, yes it certainly is!
    I think that it’ll be well worthwhile you using them. xx

  20. Flighty says:

    Glo I hope that I will be next summer! I considered what I like to eat and what I want to grow. Roll on spring! xx

Leave a Reply

