A man of leisure…

is what I’ve nearly become!

As many of you know I’ve been working part-time, about 15 hours a week, in a traditional independent bookshop for the past two and half years. However the lease expired at the end of September and the shop owner was not prepared to pay the new rent which meant that the shop would be closing.

The date for that has kept being put back but it seems that it will be closing this coming weekend. ThatΒ  means that I worked my final day there on Monday.

I enjoyed working there, with good colleagues, although I certainly didn’t get on with the owner who thankfully only very rarely came into the shop.

I still work just a few hours a week at the old-fashioned hardware store doing local deliveries if there any to be done. I’ve been there over eight years and will continue as long as the owner wants me to. I enjoy doing it and deliver to mostly long standing customers who I now know well.

I have no need to work at present, and have no real incentive to either. I’m more than happy to slip even further into semi-retirement to spend more time lawn lounging and sofa flying sofaflyer

In good weather I shall certainly be plotting, otherwise I’ll be blogging and readingΒ happy-reading so I won’t get bored and end up watching day-time TV!

Talking of TV there’s no new wildlife programmes next week, or anything else worth mentioning so if I do an entry tomorrow it’ll probably be a plotting one.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to A man of leisure…

  1. Enjoy your increased leisure time Flighty, sad news on the book shop though.

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Well, at least you had a nice easing out of the bookshop. Still very sad to lose a *book shop*! I heard the snow in London was quite heavy – but I’m guessing it must be easing up if you’re planning on plotting soon πŸ™‚

  3. Flighty says:

    Uphilldowndale thanks, I certainly intend to.
    It is sad, and means that there’s now no decent bookshops in this area! xx

  4. Flighty says:

    Nikki that’s true! As you say it always sad when a good bookshop closes.
    Sunday’s snow didn’t settle here but turned to sleet then rain, and it’s been dry but cold since then.
    I shall go to the plot tomorrow to refill the bird feeders, which will be empty by now, and have a potter round. xx

  5. daffy says:

    Aw man! I’m so envious! I may be slipping into semi-retirement also sadly not through choice… ;o) (It’s not really _that_ bad yet…)
    Enjoy, enjoy Flighty! Time spent leisurely is time well spent. I hear daytime telly is nothing to write home about either!

    So Flighty now has time on his hands,
    He is now free of former demands.
    He could spend an hour down at the plot,
    Or he could ‘keep house’ and be a fusspot!
    He may decide to take to the air!
    Sofa Fly without any care!
    Perhaps he may lose himself in a book..
    or he could take classes and learn to cook. ;o)
    Whatever he chooses I will only say…
    I hope he enjoys every single day!
    xx

  6. Flighty says:

    Daffy what a lovely comment and poem!
    Don’t be too envious as there is the lack of income to consider!
    I will certainly do my best to spend my time well whatever I do.
    It certainly won’t be fusspotting or cooking, but there is a novel waiting to be written! xx

  7. VP says:

    Hi Flighty – hope you enjoy your increased leisure time. Next year’s NoBloPoMo should be a breeze for you πŸ˜‰

    However, if you’re like me, you’ll be wondering where did you ever find the time to go to work!

    xx

  8. Flighty says:

    VP hello, and thanks I’ll try! It should be but I rather like this idea better
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology/2008/nov/26/blogging-press-publishing
    .
    I’m sure that will be the case, as I’ve found on previous occasions! xx

  9. ip says:

    Dear Flighty…. one of my dreams as a child was to have a second-hand bookshop (new books seem so impersonal), but realised that I would like the stock so much that I would not want to sell any!

    I once visited such a bookshop in Helensburgh, and the owner was so engrossed in reading one of his own books he never lifted his head all the time I was there. I think if I had lifted some books and walked out, he probably would not have noticed!

    We will no doubt hear more of your allotment now, and as you obviously like books you can catch up on your reading.

    Happy semi/semi retirement.

  10. ip, you would have been very happy in Mr Moon’s book shop.
    http://uphilldowndale.wordpress.com/2008/11/24/exploring/

  11. Olivia says:

    It’s too bad about the book shop closing but if it were not for the lease, I imagine the depressed economy would have defeated it in the end. xx

  12. Glo says:

    Hmmmm ~ leisure does have a very pleasant sound to it ~ the word seems to envelope itself in loungewear…;) (Do you pronounce it leezure, or lezzure??)
    Here you’re talking leisure and I’m contemplating applying for a job with 5 more hours per week!

    It sounds like you’ll handle the increased leisure time without any trouble at all πŸ™‚

  13. Flighty says:

    IP I think that everyone who’s a bookbuff has that dream, and I know that I did. There’s certainly something about second-hand bookshop owners that really does set then apart.
    Plot posts will continue on a regular basis, and I’ve always got plenty of books to read!
    Many thanks!

  14. Flighty says:

    Uphilldowndale I know that I would! xx

  15. Flighty says:

    Liv you’re probably right sadly! xx

  16. Flighty says:

    Glo I’ll no doubt remember the word next spring when I’m aching and sweating having dug and weeded part of the plot over!
    The first I think, but I’m not that fussy about its pronunciation.
    I’d be happy doing just 5 hours a week!
    For sure I’ll have no problem at all! xx

  17. meeeeeeeeeee says:

    I hope you enjoy your leisure time.
    There is a lovely little bookshop in Litchfield I use,its mainly educational but they stock books especially made for dyslexics,which is good for robin as he can read them with slightly more confidence,they are friendly and get personal touch when in there.

    so sad when small shops close,you really miss the personal touch they bring xx

  18. VP says:

    Hmmm. Not sure if I agree with the article’s view that if you post frequently, you’re posting twaddle.

    But then I post frequently πŸ˜‰

  19. Flighty says:

    Meeeeeeeeeee thanks I’m sure that I will!
    A bookshop like that is a godsend but sadly there’s very few like that nowadays.
    You’re so right! xx

  20. Flighty says:

    VP I always look for quality in blogs regardless of frequency of posts.
    No-one should ever accuse you of posting twaddle! xx

  21. Hiya Flighty, like Nikki says it’s a shame to lose another independent bookshop as they appear to be a dying breed. I can only think of one near me that still flies the flag of independence.
    Sorry to hear you’ll be out of work, but thankfully you don’t ‘need’ it to survive.
    An ex-colleague of mine from my old job is having a heck of a time finding new employment and is getting pretty down about it. Poor chap. At 63’ish he’s not ready to retire and after a rececnt divorce can’t really afford to either.
    Well, happy sofa flying old chap… and here’s to some good reading to keep you TV free !!!!
    Cheers Flighty.

  22. Louise says:

    I now work about 30 hours a week and with the travelling and hanging around for the train I am out of the house practically full-time. I would love to be more of a lady of leisure, I hope rather sooner than later! I love old-fashioned hardware stores, locally to me there is one which has been going since as long back as I can remember (I used to go in there with my grandad), and it has a distinct smell about it. It would be nice for you Flighty to be bringing in a little pocket money, you may need extra for the upkeep of your plot. I see sofa flying on the horizon for you at the weekend! x

  23. Flighty says:

    Assorted Pixels hello! That’s one more than there is here! Thanks.
    I sympathise with people like that who must really find it difficult at the best of times let alone now.
    Thanks again, and cheers!

  24. Flighty says:

    Louise I’m really glad that I don’t have to spend time like that travelling to and from work. I used to and it really got to me some days!
    Such hardware shops are getting to be as rare as good bookshops sadly!
    What I mostly need for the plot is time, of which I’ve now got plenty, and some good weather!
    I think you’re right, and it sounds like a good idea. xx

  25. Liz says:

    You will have left your bookshop at about the same time the book company for which I was working closed its Kentucky location and consolidated in Illinois. We are losing more and more independent booksellers in the States. Amazon has taken over (eaten up) a lot of the business and there are the larger chains like Barnes and Noble, but unfortunately not many of the neighborhood bookstores remain. And, if you had told me in 2008, that eBooks would loom large, I would not have believed it. I still like to hold a hard copy or paperback in my hands.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz sadly it’s the same story here with ever fewer bookshops.
      I bought a Kobo Mini e-reader a year ago but don’t use it often as, like you, I much prefer proper books. xx

Leave a Reply

